We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what we wanted”
Review of South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2010

we came up from london to play golf fantastic the hotel was perfect for what we needed loveley guiness whiskeys aplenty . we ate their one night and the food was exellent all the staff where more than helpfull. when we return we shall stay for longer and look no further than the south beach.thank you stuart and your staff for making us feel so welome.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alec1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for South Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 254 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2010

I would thouroughly recommend the South Beach Hotel for a golf group. The standard of care from the moment you walk into the hotel to the moment you leave is excellent. THe professionalism of the staff reflects well on the management.

If you are expecting Turnberry or a kit built business hotel then you will be dissapointed. This is a small idiosyncratic hotel, partly refurbished that goes out of its way to please its guests. I witnessed several instances of staff going out of their way to help even the most awkward of guests.

A big thumbs up for this small hotel - it deserves to do well and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mansoldave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Upon arrival I thought that the hotel was somewhat dated and indeed this is the case in the decoration of some of the older rooms in the hotel. However things just got better from there and what the hotel lacks in interior design it certainly makes up for ten fold in the friendliness of the staff.
We ate in the restaurant on one night and the food was absolutely excellent- fresh produce cooked absolutely perfectly. Breakfasts were also perfectly acceptable.
We had to extend our stay due to sudden illness of one of our party and the hotel managed to accommodate us with no problems at all. Overall we were extremely impressed with the staff and their attitude. A very good choice, only a stone´s throw from the beach and within easy walking distance of the town centre.
Hope to be back again sometime in Troon and would definitely stay here again. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuca075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Decided to stay in Troon after a long journey, to wait for the boat to Larne the following day. £85 for twin room B & B at the last minute, excellent value. We arrived a little to late to dine in the hotel but were recommended a nearby restraunt and were told it was very good. We were not disappointed.
Reception staff are extremey friendly and helpful. All staff well turned out.
Older style hotel with an obvious catering towards the golfers- the area is well known for the quality golfing spots- but everything is clean and well kept in its traditional and rustic style.
Rooms are fantastic, no faults.
Breakfast is standard, no compliants. I dont eat eggs so I had asked not to have any and got an extra sausage without asking, subtle, but a nice touch I feel.
All in all, couldnt fault this place. Would really recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babyg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights and found the food to be of a very good standard. The rooms to the front have an amazing view out into the Firth of Clyde, Arran and Ailsa Craig, and the staff are first rate. When I think what I have paid over the years in some of the major business centres globally with the Marriott/Sheraton/etc type hotels, the chain hotels could learn a lot from the South Beach Hotel as a whole and the wonderful staff there. Free internet as well which for some reason seems to be unheard of now in all the major chains. Cost wise the prices are very low when you compare it to elsewhere. I would highly recommend it, and the beer is cold as well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkgcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This was our third stay at the South Beach. It is a somewhat older hotel, but clean. The rooms are spacious and the view of the Irish Sea is great. The staff are quite nice and the manager, Stewart, is a very helpful, friendly host. The Royal Troon is a five minute walk, as is downtown Troon. An excellent location for a group of visiting golfers or a family touring through Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jce1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Coming from a large town nearby I wanted to hold my wedding somewhere friendly, comfortable and not clinical. I was NOT disappointed. The staff were very friendly, the food was excellent (plenty of it) and I did not have to worry about anything as all requirements were met with ease. We stayed overnight in a great room with sea view and breakfast the next morning was of the same high standard and quantity.

Thank you to all at the South Beach Hotel for making our day a truly special one.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotty099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,092 reviews
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Western House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Hotel

Address: Troon KA10 6EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Troon
#3 Family Hotel in Troon
Price Range: $93 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing