We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did I stay at the same hotel..?”
Review of South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Reading the reviews below I did wonder if I actually stayed at the same hotel. Unlike the many reviewers who give glowing accounts of their stay at this property, my own experience was quite different.

Instead of the warm welcome expected, we were greeted with indifference and disinterest by the blonde woman behind reception. Navigating our way through the maze of corridors and staircases, we found our room on the first floor. The room was grim - I'm not sure what decade the décor came from, but it was a mass of contrasting floral prints with both cornice and ceiling rose painted in a hideous dark pink. The incongruous energy saving bulbs in the ceiling light summed up the lack of care.

The ugly lamp, kettle and elderly hair-drier proudly displayed their PAT test labels - pity they dated back as far as 2007. The bed was poorly made up with very old bedding and lacked a mattress protector. However, it did boast a strategically placed pubic hair on the pillow.

The bathroom door wouldn't stay shut and, as no lock was provided, you'd have to feel happy to share your ablutions with your room-mate. The bedroom door didn't lock properly despite having an array of locks on the rear - including a broken bathroom lock which had perhaps migrated from the en-suite. Neither of the doors fitted properly in the frames and had significant gaps top and bottom. The bathroom featured a dirty pipe which ran across the top of the room with a layer of dust thick enough to write on.

The whole hotel felt really grotty with dirty doors, walls and panelling and sticky banisters adding to the general air of grubbiness. Whilst the food was a generous ‘OK’, I did feel nervous eating it due to the general lack of cleanliness. A fork and a spoon provided for my table setting at dinner were dirty and coated with old food debris which was really off-putting.

At breakfast we discovered that the glass guard over the buffet service area was missing, thus creating a risk of contamination to the food on display.

Some of the rooms were too hot and some too cold - including our miserable bedroom. We overheard other people at breakfast complaining about stiflingly hot bedrooms so there is obviously a problem.

The Residents’ Lounge was really cold and uninviting. It looked like a care home lounge filled with faded pink and blue dralon furniture. Ironically the room itself was stunning with beautiful architectural features so it's a real shame that the décor lets it down so badly. The decoration throughout the hotel was poorly done and cheaply executed - a real mishmash of styles with no real coherence.

The only redeeming feature of this hotel was the group of (very) young waiting staff who were delightful. Their friendly and obliging manner was in stark contrast to every other aspect of service we experienced during our stay at the South Beach.

I’m writing this review as I want to add balance to some of the glowing accounts already submitted. I am concerned that visitors might be misled into thinking that this is a top notch independently run hotel which it really isn’t! Not only that, but it’s vastly overpriced for what is on offer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Beach Hot... T, Owner at South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

It was with great sadness that I read your comments. I can only apologies and wish you had come to the desk to voice your complaint. The room in question is the last room in phase 2 of our refurbishment program, it is our intention to have all rooms to a 4 star quality by the end of 2014 with further investment by 2016 to all ground level public areas and outside.

Unfortunately as an independent these things take time, however, this room will be refurbished as soon as physically possible.

We certainly let our standards down on this occasion and this has given everyone a wake up call. Our aim is to have happy customers. We have strived to take an extremely old hotel into the 21st century but to retain the old world traditional charm.

It is always best to voice problems at the time as it would have given us the chance to put things right and show that we care for our guests, their happiness and comfort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 258 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

this is a well run hotel, the staff without exception were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and airy, with views towards the beach. Breakfast was individually made and served, very good. We only dined in one night, but can recommend the fish and chips, delicious. The bar was very lively. The hotel has free on site parking, and is one minute from the beach. We will be booking again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have just had the most wonderful Golden Wedding Anniversary party at the South Beach Hotel in Troon, Scotland. We invited family and friends to join us at the hotel on Saturday 29th March 2014 and apart from advising the hotel staff who required special facilities, the rest of the work was taken on by the staff. We had the most sumptious meal presented perfectly by the staff and quite the perfect dance to follow which went on till midnight. It was a tremendous night and we could not have asked for better attention. Breakfast the next morning was again perfectly presented and our thanks go to Jonathan who personally looked after our guests. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as a perfect place to have a party.

Room Tip: Swimming pool error, they do not have a swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schubbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

i stayed for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast and was extremely pleased with every aspect of this hotel.the welcome and attentiveness of the staff through my stay was second to none.Room was spotless and very comfortable .Food was excellent with a very good choice of menu.the atmosphere throughout the hotel was very congenial and definitely helped my "study break" .will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grace l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here overnight to relax and have a meal away from home.
First time here and was delighted with our room,food,and staff. Choice and quality of food was excellent and breakfast made to order which ensured it was hot. Will be back.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Siona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here last weekend for 3 nights. The weather was quite windy and the wind was whistling through one of the windows. We advised the staff who immediately moved us to another room. Both rooms were equally nice. They were clean, nicely decorated with lovely furnishings. Breakfast set us up for the day and was so substantial we cut down on the next daysThe staff were very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay here again

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank ajc290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just back from a few days at South Beach Hotel for our anniversary. What a lovely relaxed few days . The hotel is lovely and the rooms are spotlessly clean and very cosy. The staff are so friendly and made you feel very welcome. Breakfast was excellent as was our evening meal. Would recommend this hotel, and we will be back.

Room Tip: think you will find all rooms very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen282013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Western House Hotel
3 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Hotel

Address: Troon KA10 6EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Troon
#3 Business Hotel in Troon
Price Range: $103 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing