We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scotish delight”
Review of South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed for one night wished it was two.stayed in 4 star marine the night before this was far better for value.excellent staff nothing was a problem.had ground floor room 229 so big and spacious.lovely wee cosy lounge.and locals made you feel so welcome.lovely food and a big hearty breakfeast,definetlly be back

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bingojanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 257 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

The personal touch says it all. Nothing was a problem for the family run and locally staffed hotel. The food was superb. At first I thought the portions were miserly then realised there was a chef who knew what they were doing. Thanks.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank rjp7771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were greeted by friendly helpful staff, there was no problem with checking in early, our room was excellent, the bed very comfortable, the en-suite and both a bath and a shower. There was a desk with a plug for the computer and the Wi-Fi worked very well in our room. All the staff were helpful, friendly and obviously well trained. There are plenty of 'cosy' corners for sitting and chatting, and one bar, with large screen TV's.
We had dinner and the food arrived very quickly (considering we were a party of 6) and it was excellent. The Breakfast was also very good, with plenty of choice and a substantial amount. We are happy to recommend this Hotel to anyone and hope to have the opportunity of visiting again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have family in Troon and have stayed in this hotel on several occasions. The rooms and bathrooms are extremely clean. The bathroom did lack a grab bar in the bath/shower. The breakfast has a wide choice and the portions are both generous and excellently prepared. All the staff are very pleasant and attentive. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town, beach and railway station. The only drawback is the lack of an elevator and if your room is on the second or third floor there are a lot of stairs to climb. In terms of value for money it is an excellent choice. I will always stay at the South Beach whenever I am in Scotland on family visits.
Alex M
Duncanville TX

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if climbing stairs is a problem request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We only stayed in this hotel one night but were not disappointed with the room we were allocated as it was on the ground floor and had a patio window which opened out onto the lawn. The staff were very attentive and did everything they could to make our stay pleasurable. The only downside was we ate in the restaurant and both ordered Rib-eye steak which was of not good quality. We did alert the staff to tis and consequently, the chef apologised saying he was going to talk to his supplier. The rest of the meal was excellent and the breakfast was probably the best I have ever had which is high praise from myself and my husband as we are frequent travellers. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pitpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Straight off the ferry from Larne to this lovely little hotel. Room was spacious and comfortable though the decor was a little tired and mis-matched. The bathroom was spotless. We decided just to eat in the hotel and went downstairs for a drink before dinner. Lounge bar was busy as there was some sort of pipe and drum recital in the function room but we were served quickly and when we asked about meals were told we were welcome to eat in the bar if we would rather that than go into the formal dining room. Ideal. Our meal was fine but the desserts were disappointing, shop bought and reheated at my guess. Nevermind, one small hiccup in an otherwise enjoyable stay. One comment though - what is it with Scottish hotels and tartan carpet!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamieLips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed for an overnight in September and had a great stay. We stayed on a DBB basis and enjoyed every minute. The hotel is only a short walk from the beach and the rooms are large but cosy and welcoming. The decor in my opinion is slightly dated, however, the place was very clean with lots of space.

The service by all members of staff we encountered was great especially the reception staff who made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived.

The food in the restaurant was beautiful and the full Scottish breakfast was out of this world. There was a good menu with lots to choose from and staff were happy to meet all our needs making changes to our order as requested.

I plan to return to this hotel and hope they keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Hotel

Address: Troon KA10 6EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Troon
#3 Business Hotel in Troon
Price Range: $103 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing