We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another satisfied customer!”
Review of South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another satisfied customer!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I recently stayed the night in the South Beach Hotel to attend a business meeting the next day. I had never been to Troon before and made the booking online. I called to check that WiFi was available and the receptionist made sure I had a room with a good signal - and thanks for that! - it worked very well indeed! When I arrived, I asked about local shops which were a five minute walk away so I made my way into the town centre and got what I needed.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and my room was clean and very comfortable. I had an evening meal which was absolutely delicious and the bar and waiting staff were lovely. After a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed, breakfast was equally good and all staff I came across in the morning were as pleasant and helpful as the others.

I love dogs and this Hotel is dog-friendly too which was good to see.

If I ever find myself in Troon again, I would stay here again in a heartbeat, no hesitation!

Well done South Beach Hotel!

Room Tip: Maybe ask about WiFi connection if you need to use that. The receptionist explained before I arrived...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halfanhourlater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    92
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
45
73
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Recently spent a dinner dance b n b at this hotel. Staff all super, attentive and helpful during the evening and at breakfast; but I honestly thought I had misheard the receptionist on checking out n paying the bill when she asked the OH if he required his change!!!!!!!!!!! Of course he was so embarassed he said no!What a cheek! I've never heard the like! The hotel itself is rather dated and requires a bit of attention. Our room had water marks in the wardrobe/ cupboard, paper peeling from the sloping ceiling, handle missing from bathroom cabinet and the top of the bedside table was blistered. Our table at dinner was wobbly[spare tables were being stored in the Ladies toilet!]and the decor was very dated-think frilly pelmets. The food was extremely good and piping hot.The dance floor was quite a good size- but the music?!!!!!Danceable if you could adapt to the change of tempo halfway through!Sorry, wont be recommending this venue to our 'dancer' friends.But the waiting staff were excellent and the food WAS good!

Room Tip: Room 310 is up 2 floors [no lift] and faces out over the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindahazlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great hotel. I was in Troon for just one night on business. Hotel is walking distance from town centre and railway station, also has car park (which I didn't use). Everything clean and well maintained, Excellent full Scottish Breakfast in morning. Short walk to beach. My visit was out of the golf season so hotel was very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archie118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Fantastic hotel!! All the staff were very friendly and made a real effort to make my parents 40th wedding annivesary very special! Our party of 17 were all delighted with their rooms. The food was exceptional and a special mention to the chef who catered for a restricted diet without compromising on any of the dishes! Overall one of the best small hotels we have visited and thank you again for making the weekend very memorable

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is the third time we have used the South Beach Hotel for our club Christmas Party. Hotel is a lovely traditional hotel with oak panelling and a lovely atmosphere. Mr Watt and his staff could not have been more helpful and the service and food was excellent. From the club members who stayed overnight, they told me their breakfasts were super. Long may it reign.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucky43_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Recently visited here for dinner, was worth every penny, 2 courses for £11.95.
The choice was great and the food was delicious, really worth paying a visit.
Atmosphere was good, you have the choice to eat in the bar or the restaurant.
Drink was not the cheapest but the cost for dinner makes up for that.
Overall well worth a try for dinner............

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda2870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Thanks to Stewart and very friendly staff for all their input to make the family party such a success. Great function room. The South Beach Hotel was the ideal venue for a weekend for a group that included two wheelchair users and four generations aged from 3 month old babies to nearly 90 year olds!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familygathering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,067 reviews
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
624 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
5.2 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Hotel

Property: South Beach Hotel
Address: Troon KA10 6EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Troon
#3 Business Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing