We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Troon!”
Review of No. 2 Troon Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
No. 2 Troon Road
Ranked #2 of 11 Troon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Troon!”
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed at No.2 Troon Road for two nights prior to my brothers wedding in another local Hotel. We had family staying at other B&Bs and the premier inn but all agreed that ours was the best location and facility.

Our welcome was really friendly, we felt immediately at home. The bedrooms, bathroom and dining area are all immaculate and nicely decorated. The breakfasts were gorgeous and meant we didnt need any lunch, they kept us going all day!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Troon!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHurley16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
85
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed at No 2 Troon Road as trip advisor had given it great accolades and we were not disappointed. The owner, Dougie, could not do enough to make you feel very welcome and was very well informed of local interests and places to eat and visit. He also produced the best scottish breakfast i've eaten in a long time and his home-made marmalade was spot on. Would recommend to anyone looking for a more personal experince than the big hotels in Troon. We also ate at McCallums and Scotts by the harbour which were fantastic, and recommended by Dougie. Congratulations on providing a memorable Troon experience based on honest scottish hospitality.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BlairWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

The rooms are modern, all with en-suite, very well decorated with a modern theme. Breakfast if you can eat all that is offered is something else and the location to Troon and local amenities and all that is offered could not be better. The owners, Douglas & Lee are the most congenial couple you could wish to meet.

Would I recommend it to others - I already have

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2009

The owners Douglas & Lee are very welcoming people and fantastic Scottish characters with a great sense of humour. Douglas does a mean fry up in the morning. Bedrooms have recently been decorated with to die for beds and good mood invoking hot showers for when you wake. A strong recommendation should you be staying in the area. I stayed here to travel to Turnberry during the Open that Watson somehow happened to lose!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Friendly and pleasant hosts, good breakfast and an excellent clean room. We thought it was a touch expensive for the location, but there isn't a heap of choice either around Troon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirdglance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briton Ferry, South Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed for only one night on our way for the Troon to Larne ferry, but wish we had stayed longer. It is very clean, has parking and the host is a genuine nice guy, for which nothing is too much trouble! The food is excellent and bedrooms & bathrooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable. I would recommend this place to anyone, especially motorbiker friendly!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night before attending a wedding. It was fab!! Picturesque location, and walking distance from Troon. Douglas and Lee are a wonderful couple, so friendly and welcoming. The B & B is better than most hotels we've stayed in, with up to date decor and the comfiest bed we have EVER slept in. Douglas' breakfast was to die for!!!! YUM YUM. Will recommend to all our family and friends. Next time we are in Scotland, we'll be sure to pay a visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGGIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
1.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,043 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
486 reviews
1.4 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
238 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 2 Troon Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 2 Troon Road

Property: No. 2 Troon Road
Address: No 2 Troon Road | Loans, Troon KA10 7EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.2 Troon Road is Troon's first and only boutique bed & breakfast. Our home is located in Loans, a picturesque village situated at the north end of the town. We are fortunate to enjoy stunning rural views and have immediate access to the excellent amenities of the old town of Troon, (the gateway to Ayrshire.) The house lies within minutes of many of Scotland's best golf courses, from the renowned Open venues of Royal Troon and Turnberry, to some of the widely acknowledged best public courses in the British Isles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your No. 2 Troon Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 2 Troon Road Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing