We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B just out of Troon”
Review of No. 2 Troon Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
No. 2 Troon Road
Ranked #2 of 11 Troon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great B&B just out of Troon”
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Friendly and pleasant hosts, good breakfast and an excellent clean room. We thought it was a touch expensive for the location, but there isn't a heap of choice either around Troon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirdglance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
87
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Briton Ferry, South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed for only one night on our way for the Troon to Larne ferry, but wish we had stayed longer. It is very clean, has parking and the host is a genuine nice guy, for which nothing is too much trouble! The food is excellent and bedrooms & bathrooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable. I would recommend this place to anyone, especially motorbiker friendly!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night before attending a wedding. It was fab!! Picturesque location, and walking distance from Troon. Douglas and Lee are a wonderful couple, so friendly and welcoming. The B & B is better than most hotels we've stayed in, with up to date decor and the comfiest bed we have EVER slept in. Douglas' breakfast was to die for!!!! YUM YUM. Will recommend to all our family and friends. Next time we are in Scotland, we'll be sure to pay a visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGGIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We stayed here for one night, prior to attending a wedding. Douglas and his family made us very welcome. The place was very clean, parking was safe and only minutes from Troon. Breakfast was very good, infact it was better than the posh Hotel we stayed in the next night!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2009

Stayed here for one night in April, fantastic place and excellent host, Doug... he made us very welcome and was helpful in giving directions and telling us good places to eat out. Would love to go back someday soon :)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myself80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2008

This is a lovely place in a lovely spot! The room wsa clean, smart and very comfortable. The veggie breakfast was lovley !!! Doug was extremely helpful with local info and recommending spots for taking photo's of the (snow capped) isle of Aaron!!!
I would definitely recommend it and am sure Iwill return when in less of a rush!! Lovely!

  • Liked — It's location, cleanliness and comfort
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gailyshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south staffs
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights 10th to the 13th October 2008.

Lee and Douglas made us very welcome.

The breakfast was fabulous,the choice was great,Cereals Fresh Fruit Salad,Yogurt, Bacon, Sausage.Eggs,Mushrooms,Tomatoes,Potato cake Toast, Jam And Marmalade,Tea or Coffee.
We were set up for the day after that!

Zoey the owners 2 year old daughter was adorable she entertained us while Douglas prepared our breakfast.We really missed her on our last morning as she left early to go to her Grans house.

The rooms were great,we had a double room and a twin room,which were stocked daily with tea coffee milk and biscuits.

We will definately stay there again when we re visit our friends and family.

The Hayward Family from Wolverhampton

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank montanaSouthStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
1.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
495 reviews
1.4 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
624 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
3.2 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 2 Troon Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 2 Troon Road

Property: No. 2 Troon Road
Address: No 2 Troon Road | Loans, Troon KA10 7EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.2 Troon Road is Troon's first and only boutique bed & breakfast. Our home is located in Loans, a picturesque village situated at the north end of the town. We are fortunate to enjoy stunning rural views and have immediate access to the excellent amenities of the old town of Troon, (the gateway to Ayrshire.) The house lies within minutes of many of Scotland's best golf courses, from the renowned Open venues of Royal Troon and Turnberry, to some of the widely acknowledged best public courses in the British Isles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your No. 2 Troon Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 2 Troon Road Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing