We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super comfortable and cozy”
Review of No. 2 Troon Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
No. 2 Troon Road
Ranked #1 of 11 Troon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at Douglas's place on our last day in Scotland. The room was very cozy and comfortable. A great place to catch our breath before heading home. Excellent food and company!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSCalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 180 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

I used no 2 Troon Road as a base for a four day cycling hoilday in South Ayrshire in mid May 2012. I can fully endorse previous trip advisor reviews in that Douglas and Lee run an excellent B&B that would give the best four star hotel a run for their money! My room was very clean and airy, tastefuly decorated and had one of the most comfortable beds that I have slept in whilst away from home. Breakfast was cooked fresh to order by the patron Douglas who took time to make you feel at ease with his witty banter and craic. He helpfully pointed me to some excellent cycling routes which meandered past golf links and the coastline and kindly let me store my bicycle overnight in his aptly named " Douglas Place"! All in all a home from home whether for an overnight stop or longer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avensis2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Thank you Douglas, Lee and gorgeous cute Zoe for showing us Scots hospitality. Bed was super comfy and breakfast delicious - loved the fruit salad :) Stayed here on our way through Scotland - the perfect stopover to and from Larne/Troon ferry

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailRJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Four of us stayed Apr. 23-25, 2012. Douglas gave us a very warm welcome to his home. Accommodation was first class and breakfasts were great. The fresh fruit salad was a lovely treat.
Thanks to Douglas, we enjoyed golfing at one of the municipal courses. The young men of the group were ecstatic to be able to say that they golfed at Troon, Scotland.
Thank you for a great stay.
Would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guelphtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Very comfortable B&B, great breakfast (little touches like fresh fruit salad make all the difference) and Douglas is a very friendly and helpful host.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoodbridgeWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed here fo 1 night and this is a proper B&B the owners Lee & Douglas were really nice and helpfull.The room was 1st class with everything you need, it is a 15 minte walk in to Troon and about 5 minutes in a Taxi.They also do a nice cooked Scottis breakfast in the morning and would have no hesitation in recommending this place and will go back for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

What a great introduction to Scotland. Douglas greeted us and made us very welcome. Lovely comfortable clean room for one night. Douglas was very chatty and cooked a beautiful breakfast. The B & Bs we remember are the ones where we have an "experience", ie interaction with the host/s and other guests if possible. Well done Douglas.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbahduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troon hotels
1.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,120 reviews
1.4 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
257 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Sandhill House
Sandhill House
#2 of 11 in Troon
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 2 Troon Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 2 Troon Road

Address: No 2 Troon Road | Loans, Troon KA10 7EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Troon
Price Range: $103 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.2 Troon Road is Troon's first and only boutique bed & breakfast. Our home is located in Loans, a picturesque village situated at the north end of the town. We are fortunate to enjoy stunning rural views and have immediate access to the excellent amenities of the old town of Troon, (the gateway to Ayrshire.) The house lies within minutes of many of Scotland's best golf courses, from the renowned Open venues of Royal Troon and Turnberry, to some of the widely acknowledged best public courses in the British Isles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your No. 2 Troon Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 2 Troon Road Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing