We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, badly needs updating”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Desperately needs up dating all bedrooms with en suite need totally renovating completely.
Towels where desperately thin,beds smelled of sour baby milk also blood on the bed sheets.
Two many things to mention I would advise if you want to enjoy your stay book some where else.
Breakfast well !! Need I go on.

Room Tip: Marine hotel, or try a local BB
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 395 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Reception horrible when tried to talk ! Room 15 pathetic window you could not see out of ! Shower tray broken ! Tv hanging off the wall fell off once room not cleaned ! Plug sockets behind none existent headboard no breakfast on 1st day they forgot our order couldn't care when questioned overall treated as a second rate citizen for using a groupon voucher

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daggster46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

On arriving at hotel we were sent up to Room 11 on the top floor which at first glance looked ok but on closer inspection we found it badly in need of decoration. I went into the toilet and found someone had left us a present in the pot and it took three flushes of the toilet to gat rid of it., the e toilet decoration inthe toilet looked if it had been finished off by a blind person in all nota very attractive looking room. The first morning after we went out my wife pulled the bed covers up roughly to make the room tidier and we came back at night we found the bed had been left that was and the wet bathroom towels lying on a chair with fresh one left on the bed. The toilet pan certainly never been cleaned for ages as it was very discoloured below the water level and no attempts to clean the had been made.
The management of this hotel want to improve the cleaning of the rooms and spend some money on badly needed redecoration.
It was not all bad service and the standard of food served in the resturant and bar service was very good it a great pity the rest of it did not come up to this standard

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ali1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here on a Groupon-never again-Room wasnt clean-food n wrappers in cupboard-shower tray was cracked n broken-carpet not hoovered-kettle was full of filthy brown tea n teabags!!!!!! They forgot to serve our breakfast-treated second rate because we were Groupon-very disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tracyhippychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here with a pal on a weekend break that took in both Glasgow and Troon. I've stayed here many times, and it's a good standard budget hotel, convenient for both the Larne ferry and the train east. Rooms are clean and comfortable, staff helpful and you get a filling breakfast.
Troon itself is a great wee town to stay in for the night with friendly pubs, restaurants and locals. Ideal if you have to pass some time on your way to somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braidman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

my wife and I stayed here for one night with a groupon deal - good value but the bedrooms need a good clean and some maintenance.
check in was straight forward and we had a meal in the bar which was nice
the staff in the bar were pleasant and helpful
the bedroom we had was a good size with good views across the water but there were some issues - the room was not very clean with dust on a lot of surfaces, one curtain was hanging off so I put it back on the loops, there are 3 lights in the ceiling and only one bulb working and there are lots of cracks in the ceiling.
the bedroom has artex on all walls and ceiling
the area between the bedroom and the bathroom had a large hole in the wall next to the wardrobe and the light was not working.
the bathroom was not clean and the shower looked so dirty we did not get a shower as the tile grout was stained and there was mould on the sealant around the bath and toilet, the sink was also so close to the toilet that you can only use it from the side
the breakfast was o.k but you can see the dust on the wood next to where the food is placed
good point - the bed was comfortable and we slept well but there are some cleaning and maintenance issues that need to be addressed

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmcquade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

There was nobody at reception when we arrived had to ring a bell and wait for someone to come from the bar. Disgusting room, filthy, sheets didn't fit the bed far too small. There were two beds in the room 1 double and 1 single which left little room to move about there was also no headboards on these beds. Window!!!! if you wanted to look out you needed to stand on the bed, Yes people do say it's only for sleeping in but come on some cleanliness and comfort goes a long way. I also had to ask for glasses for the bathroom. Shower tray was broken and I dread to think what was going on underneath it. My husband and I slept on top of the bed because we couldn't bring ourselves to sleep between those sheets and goodness knows what the mattress was like I couldn't even look at them. Breakfast!! this room was also filthy, I thought someone had dropped a gold chain but no it was an old Christmas decoration (goodness knows what Christmas it was from) toaster took for ever and when the breakfast arrived the eggs on both our plates were almost raw, most places ask how you like your eggs cooked. The only good thing about this hotel was the food in the bar I would certainly recommend that but sorry to say nothing else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen227135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
1.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,128 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
258 reviews
5.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
515 reviews
1.1 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Hotel

Address: 149 Templehill, Troon KA10 6BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Price Range: $67 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel Troon
The Anchorage Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing