We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't listen to bad reviews!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Troon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't listen to bad reviews!”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

At first we were anxious on approach to the anchorage hotel after reading some of the mixed reviews. We got a deal for two nights on todaysgreatdeal.co.uk for 69.00 with two course dinner and drink on our first evening and breakfast both mornings. First of all brilliant value.
No where near as bad as what people make out!
The bar area is definitely where the money has been getting spent we thought. Lovely homely pub. The bar is a ship which is cool. Lots of nautical decorations. FOOD IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!!!!! Some of the best food I've ever tasted. Service was brilliant especially considering it was easter weekend and the place was packed! And the service continued throughout the weekend. The room was fine mainly. Clean etc, a little old fashioned but ok. However there were a couple of issues. It was just two of us but we were in what looked like a family room with two beds. The single bed was ok but the double was absolutely awful. Mega soft, springs sticking out etc. NOT comfortable at all. Im sure if we had said anything we would have Been moved but even when I booked I had gotten the 2nd last room. So I doubt there would have Been another room but to be fair we didn't ask. Also the towel rail in bathroom was hanging off the wall :-s
All in all tho we enjoyed our stay. Real pitty about the beds. I'd still say it's a good place tho.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcroft1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    127
    77
    46
    53
See reviews for
39
246
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We are just back from a long weekend spent at the Anchorage Hotel in Troon. Room was nice and bed was comfy, staff could not be faulted and were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was cooked for you upon arrival, and meals at night were beautiful. Full marks to this hotel. We will definately be back.

Kate and John Dumbarton

Room Tip: We were in room 4, bed was comfy although heard a couple of complaints from other rooms regarding lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatiecooScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turnberry
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Went for a two night break with my wife-Staff very friendly and
lovely big room. But hotel is very tired and needs a lot of maintenance redecoration, food average bar stuff - ate out second
night. No choice for breakfast ,greasy fry up. Would not go at full price.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Having spent a long time in the middle east . It was a welcome change to eat somewhere that did simple tasty pub food . The staff were constantly on hand to make sure myself and my son were well taken care of . Forget the rubbish reviews from pretentious idiots , yes it's a bit dated but to be honest for me that's part of the appeal the decor gives the place character . Well worth a visit a welcoming family friendly pub .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thedeenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We bought a "Real Deal" voucher for this hotel and went for our two night break yesterday.The room we were given was clean but the beds,one in particular, had a totally colapsed matress, you could feel the base when you lay on it. The receptionist was very helpfull and gave us an alternative room, but this was like being in a public toilet, the windows were half frosted and it was very gloomy!!!
The bar, where the meals were served had massive televisions showing sport and thus was very noisy. not the relaxing break we had invisaged.
We went for a drive to the sea front and decided to go home, it was not nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deno_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Troon hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I visited in Mid March 2012. The interior was in keeping with a 200 year old establishment: Homely ,but dull with old fashioned decor. Our room was on the top floor, where we passed holes on the ceiling on route. Alarmingly, there was evidence of a forced entry on all 3 room doors. Was this due to guests having difficulty unlocking their room doors from the inside? It was certainly a challenge. The room itself offered a teriffic view of the beach, but one of the chairs nearly collapsed under me when I sat on it. Oh and the television picture cut out intermittently, possibly due to a loose cable. A new chair , new doors and some plasterwork for the staircase are urgently required. The staff though were faultless, kind , helpful and cheery. The food was as good as you will get anywhere on this earth. I would certainly return to eat, although it was the the price of the alcohol that had me staggered. An overnight stay?..erm..no thanks.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor. Eat as much as you can. Delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kuiama49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I never actually stayed at this hotel.
As a matter of fact, my wife and I were only on the premises for less thatn 20 minutes when we handed back the keys and left.

There are holes in the wals, the light fittings were hanging off of the ceiling and there was a thick layer of dust over everything.

Not good!!!!

Room Tip: Don't book it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrevEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
1.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,044 reviews
1.8 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Hotel

Property: The Anchorage Hotel
Address: 149 Templehill, Troon KA10 6BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel Troon
The Anchorage Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing