We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time ...”
Review of Sandhill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandhill House
Ranked #1 of 11 Troon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Step back in time ...”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

... to another era and envelope yourself in the comfort of a quieter, gentler day gone by. Elaine Warr is a classy lady and has a class act. Massive room with stunning view; the bathroom was bigger than some of the entire rooms we had on our trip. Breakfast was a gourmand delight with perhaps the best bacon in the UK. Proper decor, table setting, service, music; Elaine gets it all done right. If not for the necessary drive to Wales, we would have lingered til noon. Regrets? Dang, we could have spent one less night in London and had an extra day to enjoy Troon and the Sandhill House.

HINT: Scott's can be a busy place to dine; especially Saturday. Have Elaine call ahead for reservation if that's where you're headed.

Room Tip: We had the Butterwick Suite; superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wineau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
62
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

stayed hereone night, absolutely beautiful big house, rooms were huge, excellent decor & furnishings, bed was massive & comfy, never slept in a bed this size, had to get a bus across to the other side, lol, joke !! everything spotless. host was very friendly, chatty & helpful. breakfast - everything you cd imagine that anyone wd want to choose for
breakfast, well cooked & presented. good view from the bedroom window.was unusuallty cheap for what u get. very handy for the troon ferry.would definitely go back if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Well what can I say that other guests haven't? We staqyed here for 1 night before our crossing to Ireland. My sister stayed here also 3 nights later before sailing. Both of us said "wow". We both had the same suite - the room was massive. Out in the country with no noise.....bliss. Elaine was very welcoming and really cares about here guests. This is the best value for money guest house we have stayed in and we have stayed in quite a few over the last 40 years. Breakfast was one of the best as well. I would certainly recommend this guest house and would stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had 3 nights at Sandhill House in one of their suites and it was great! Plenty of room for our baby and toodler - perfect for a family visiting the area. Lovely house in a beautiful location and friendly owners.

Room Tip: Our suite (Donavon) was best for our family (with a single room attached), but they also had another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLO_Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is my favourite hotel to stay at, I stay hear with my father when he comes up! The staff are so warm and welcolming Elaine is so nice! ! It's got a beautiful seanery! The rooms and the cottage are stunning. The breakfast is always to the best of qualitys! A great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Such extraordinary value for money that it is impossible to conceive of somewhere better to stay in Troon. Elaine is the most delightful host who went out of her way to make our stay memorable. The accommodation is absolutelyy superb in a beautifully presented period estate home. It is exceptionally generously appointed with numerous thoughtful touches such as power boards with continental adaptor,complementary fragrances and toiletries and bottled water. Our suite included luxuriant leather lounges and a table and chairs. Breakfast was in a beautiful and elegant room with a real fire blazing and every conceivable breakfast requirement was stunningly presented and the choice of hot dishes was extensive and mouth watering - we opted for the scrambled egg with smoked salmon and fresh vine tomatoes which was impeccably presented and delicious.
For anyone having possible concerns about aircraft noise from the nearby airport, rest assured this is not an issue.
Intending visitors need to carefully study the map provided on the website to find this gem because the local council rules prevent the owners from putting any direction signs at the beginning of the private access lane.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosebankianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at Sandhill House in Troon and just loved our stay there. Breakfast was lovely and so was our suite. Couldn't recommend this place enough - this is not a bed and breakfast but more like a hotel. Elaine, the owner is lovely and very welcoming. We were staying there as we were attending a wedding at Loch Green hotel which is just along the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trixie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
1.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,068 reviews
1.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 5 in Prestwick
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
495 reviews
3.9 mi away
Western House Hotel
4.6 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhill House

Property: Sandhill House
Address: Southwood Road, Troon KA10 7EL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANDHILL HOUSE ... Bed and Breakfast with style ...A huge Victorian red sandstone house with a warm heart, set in 9 acres of glorious gardens and woodland with spectacular seaviews. Sandhill House is an ideal location for visitors who want to explore this beautiful part of Scotland. Golfers find this a first class location, as it is a few minutes from Royal Troon Golf Course. Several other fine golf courses, including Prestwick & Turnberry being a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sandhill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhill House Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing