We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Sandhill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandhill House
Ranked #1 of 11 Troon B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at Sandhill House in Troon and just loved our stay there. Breakfast was lovely and so was our suite. Couldn't recommend this place enough - this is not a bed and breakfast but more like a hotel. Elaine, the owner is lovely and very welcoming. We were staying there as we were attending a wedding at Loch Green hotel which is just along the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trixie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
56
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birch Run, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

WOW. I absolutely loved the place and will be coming back. A warm welcome to start off by the kind and helpful owner (Elaine) before shown to our room. The room was breathtaking. Brilliant sea views, bright, airy and modern. The beds are fantastic!! After a quick nap we went for a walk around the grounds of the beautiful Victorian mansion and were even further impressed!!!! From the horses to the really hairy sheep pigs we saw it all. The grounds are fabulous and the centre of Troon is a lovely scenic (45 min) walk or minutes in a car/bus! The next morning we really didn't want to get up at all!!!! The beds are so comfy. The breakfast is top notch with a full Scottish and brilliant buffet selection table. We were treated like family in the lovely family home!!! The prices are very very good!!! The second night was just as brilliant. Better than a five star hotel by far. We really couldn't have asked for more whatsoever. Our 2 night stay was perfect. Great value for money, very clean, the rooms are modern but still maintain a Victorian touch with the wood panelling and fireplaces in bedrooms. Will be back in the very near future. Big thanks to Elaine and family for making us so welcome and our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for the Butterwick suite. Fabulous room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackkyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
176 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

From the comfortable lounge, equipped with lots of sightseeing information, to our huge room with fireplace and view over hills and water to both the Royal Troon and (in distance)Prestwick golf courses, to the bountiful breakfast and visits to the animals (the pony comes to the kitchen window for toast in the mornings!), we loved staying here. Built for a duke's mother, this is a beautiful old home that has been rescued and is still being refurbished. True, Victorian plumbing has its weaknesses, but the charm factor outweighed that. One of our suitcases had not arrived yet from the US, and Elaine kindly lent me a warm jacket. Her restaurant ideas were perfect, as well. Staying here was a highlight of our trip, and we would love to go back with our children and grandchildren.

Room Tip: We saw two rooms, equally lovely. We were warned that the room we chose, facing the sea, might be dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottish_Traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I would like to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Troon. The owners are lovely and very helpful. The house is beautiful and set in a lovely area overlooking Royal Troon golf club and the sea. The bedroom we had was amazing and very reasonable. We were visiting for a wedding at the Loch green hotel just up the road, it was a perfect place for us to stay and we will be going back to visit in a heart beat ;-) Thanks Sandhills I think a few more people should know about your hotel as it is a FAB place to stay for any occasion Amy & David

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aims84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

A beautiful home, idyllically located on the West coast of Scotland overlooking the Firth of Clyde & the Ailsa Craig. The accommodation is very spacious and comfortable. The views from the excellent large bedrooms and guest sitting room are captivating.

A warm, smiling & very genuine welcome from Elaine & her family & staff.

The house is respectfully updated from its Victorian origins.

Over the last 5 years we have returned again and again as a couple or with our two children as this is the best B&B by a country mile!

Oh and yes! The breakfast if perfect!

A great nights sleep and breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Knellswith2and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

As always, we had another perfect stay at Sandhill House recently. This is a beautiful old Manse, lovingly, yet sympathetically updated and converted into one amazingly stylish b & b. It sits overlooking Troon Golf Course with spectacular views across the sea to Arran; this is one of those places you never want to leave. First, a warm and friendly welcome from the owner, Elaine; then we are shown up to the most beautiful spacious rooms, with those WOW! views over the sea or on to the well kept gardens and many fields. Not surprisingly, it’s a hugely popular place to visit, so you should book well in advance to guarantee the massive Donovan or Butterwick suites; but actually all the rooms at Sandhill House are a treat to stay in, and the beds are so delightfully comfortable, if it wasn’t for the delicious breakfast waiting for you downstairs, you would want to sleep in and enjoy the peaceful ambience of these beautiful rooms a little longer. It’s rare that you get the opportunity to start a day so gently, seated in a dining room as magnificent as this one at Sandhill House, whilst enjoying freshly cooked scrambled eggs with smoked salmon; just one of the many mouth-watering dishes available The breakfast menu is extensive; there’s a vast choice and it is so appetisingly well presented, you surely will want to stay more than a few days to sample all the dishes! It’s clear to see how much Elaine loves looking after her quests and takes much pleasure in them enjoying every minute of their visit to Sand hill House. I can’t wait to go back and have already booked my next visit. When are you going…?

Room Tip: no tip they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joan502003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Great B&B. Really friendly and helpful. Super breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texasgolfer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
1.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
1.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.6 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr/Prestwick Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhill House

Property: Sandhill House
Address: Southwood Road, Troon KA10 7EL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANDHILL HOUSE ... Bed and Breakfast with style ...A huge Victorian red sandstone house with a warm heart, set in 9 acres of glorious gardens and woodland with spectacular seaviews. Sandhill House is an ideal location for visitors who want to explore this beautiful part of Scotland. Golfers find this a first class location, as it is a few minutes from Royal Troon Golf Course. Several other fine golf courses, including Prestwick & Turnberry being a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sandhill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhill House Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing