We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Piersland House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dissapointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Myself and my partner booked a night away for relaxation at the Piersland Hotel. We made our reservation 1 month in advance of our stay. When we arrived on a cold miserabable night in December we were issued with keys to an outside cottage, when we asked if it would be possible to have a room within the hotel we were told they had had last minute bookings and therefore all rooms within the main hotel were taken. "annoyed as we had booked well in advance and last minute guests had been given prefrence" We entered the cottage to find there was no lighting, no Sky avalaible and with it being outside it was freezing and very basic unlike the rooms within the main hotel which are luxurious. We called reception who then tried to resolve the lighting issue which was obviously a problem as by the time we left this still had not been resolved. After sitting around for a while and been told we definetley could not reloacted to main hotel and would have to be placed in another cottage we deceided we just wanted a refund and we would leave. We were told our booking was made through late rooms and we could not receive a refund, our booking was in actual fact booked through Piersland Hotel reservations direct. We asked to speak to Managment who lets just put it who were not helpful at all and not very accomodating re the problems we had had. Thank goodness i had a copy of hotel confirmation to confrim booking was made through the hotel direct therefore they had no option but to over refund. turned out not to be a night of relaxation but a night spent driving, wasted journey/petrol. Spent the night in my own bed after all that! ha ha What a dissapointment.

Room Tip: Please make sure your request a room within the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuhler, Operations Director at Piersland House Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Nicole D,

Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor. First of all my sincere apologies for not having met your expectations.

We are in the middle of our festive season and as you weren't with the party night due in that evening, we had given you a complimentary upgrade from a standard double room to one of our suites, which are away from all the music and traffic. Unfortunately when you entered your room and switched on the lights, 1 of the bulbs blew, tripping 1 of the breakers. This took longer then a few minutes to resolve during which time the manager offered you a complimentary drink in the bar.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me direct.

Yours sincerely,


Karel Kuhler
Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    186
    38
    18
    10
See reviews for
172
372
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I used to come here occasionally for lunch which was always fantastic. In-fact we were so impressed by the food, the grounds and the general upkeep of the hotel that we decided to have our wedding day here, we spoke to reception about having a look around which was no problem - one of the managers showed us around and invited us to a wedding fayre. On the day of the fayre we booked our wedding,

We got married June 2013, we had a wonderful day (even the weather was brilliant). Our wedding cake was set up outside on the decking area where we cut the cake and had many lovely photographs taken - doesn't happen often in Scotland.

Our guests raved about our menu we had picked (we were a little picky but nothing the piersland couldn't handle). We wanted haggis for a starter but something light - we had haggis bon bons, they were fantastic and the sauce was well tasty. Everyone commented on how well cooked and presented our chicken and lamb dishes were - again very tasty and no complaints - im surprised everyone had room for the yummy desserts. Breakfast the next morning was also FAB so much choice to choose from.

This hotel is a little gen, exceptional value for money and i would certainly recommend it for any occasion.

We were also pleasantly surprised on return from our honeymoon we had a letter from the hotel offering us a free overnight stay within the next twelve months, which we think is a very nice touch, we look forward to staying for our first anniversary.

We would just like to say thank you to all the staff, they were extremely helpful, friendly and efficient. Special mentions to Alistair (our master of ceremonies), Robert, Angeline, Samantha, bar staff and chefs (sorry we cant name everyone) thank you for making it an extremely special day for us.

Mr and Mrs Vickerman.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsVee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was a short 2 day, Dinner, B & B break in a hotel where our family have enjoyed a previous stay and was recommended by them a 'your sort of hotel'.

The bedroom we were given was excellent; clean, warm, comfortable with a very modern en-suite. The food was also everything that we had hoped for and more and the table service was first class.

The only shortcoming was the absence of a lift to the bedrooms which I am aware of because of a bad knee. However, reception staff, without having to be asked, took our cases to the room.

We would recommend this hotel and would hope to return some time.

Room Tip: Be aware that some of the rooms at the rear of the hotel back on to the ventilation system extractor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ermogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We recently had our wedding at the Piersland-a very small affair just the two of us and two members of staff (Robert and Samantha) very kindly acted as our witnesses. We stayed at one of the cottages which was excellent and really comfortable. Everything was fantastic and the staff worked hard to ensure we had a wonderful day. Food was first class and we are looking forward to returning.

Fiona and Colin, Glasgow

Room Tip: The cottages are spacious with a separate lounge .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Excelled my expectations beautiful interior, rooms excellent,sparklingly clean warm and very comfortable. Service was fantastic, orders taken and delivered timeously - compliments to everyone who works at the Piersland!!!,

courteous and friendly staff. Food was brill! Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanKathyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Arriving at the front of the hotel there was no access for my wheelchair but after a friend went and enquired we were given directions to a side door which was in total darkness making it almost impossible to get the wheelchair from the boot of the car and assemble it, however after 20 minutes my friends managed it. Got to the area where the wedding reception was taking place, then we were treated to the deafening noise of a smoke alarm which went on for 10 minutes, probably set off by a girls hair going up in flames after she went too close to a tea light candle on her table. There was a constant smell of chicken burning in an oven which we later found out to be the popcorn machine. Time for me to attempt to go to the totally inadequate disabled toilet which was down 3 steps and needed a ramp to access it. The safety rails at the toilet were badly maintained and when lifted to the up position quickly fell back down striking my wife on the back of her head. That done decided to go out for a smoke to the unlit area outside which had black 3ft high poles dotted around making it almost impossible to maneuver my wheelchair. Minutes later a man came out for a smoke and tripped and fell over a small unlit wall. Very nice hotel but not good for weddings as everyone had to sit in separate rooms, usually weddings take place in an area big enough for all the guests to be in the same area. Apart from that we had a reasonably good night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We were staying here for a friends wedding.
The staff were really helpful and couldn't do enough, apart from one bar maid.
Slightly disappointed at the room. It was a bit tired decor wise. Stain on the wall, table chipped, large crack across bathroom floor which had since chipped leaving rough, dangerous edge. (I did report this when I checked out and the receptionist said that she would pass it on to the handy man.) I have to say, it did look like old damage.
The bathroom was also tiny. I was gutted when I realised we didn't have a bath.
On a positive note the food was outstanding and the communal areas really pleasant and homely with log fires.
The outside space looked lovely. A great place for a summer wedding.
I would definitely go back but hopefully get a better bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
4.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.4 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piersland House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piersland House Hotel

Property: Piersland House Hotel
Address: 15 Craigend Road, Troon KA10 6HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Troon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#2 Business Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Piersland House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Piersland House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piersland Hotel Ayr
Piersland House Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing