We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL - GREAT LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Piersland House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC HOTEL - GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel for two nights 13/15th November, in one of their cottages as I took my dog. Although I have stayed at this establishment many times in the past...this is my first review. This is a great Hotel set in it own grounds with lovely gardens. You are only a short walk to the beach and if you play golf..the Royal Troon golf course is almost opposite. I have always stayed in the cottages due to my dog, and they are very comfortable with a sitting room, bedroom and nice bathroom. The staff are very helpfull and friendly, and the breakfast and evening meals are superb. My rate included breakfast and if you eat from the early bird menu...a two course superb meal will cost under £10. This is excellent value for money. If you are staying in the Ayrshire region of Scotland, this Hotel is fantastic.

Room Tip: I have always stayed in the cottages due to my dog. I believe four of the cottages facilitate the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angusbtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    195
    39
    19
    10
See reviews for
182
392
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel was an excellent venue for our wedding on Sat 3rd November. We cannot praise Martin enough for all his hard work in making our special day perfect and flawless. I stayed for 2 nights with the wedding party and there was a number of guests staying on the saturday. Both the rooms I stayed in were spacious and the bathrooms were amazing.
We have also sampled the dinner a couple of times before the wedding day and on both occasions the meal was fab and the staff friendly and courteous.
Thanks again Martin! Louise & Colin

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Staff very friendly and helpful. Old house a delight to stay in. Plenty of character. Due to meetings only able to eat breakfast there but excellent quality. Look forward to staying there again when down that way

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed as part of a family group in November. This was a very cosy hotel, the main house is very nice - There were real open fires burning which gave it a very cosy atmosphere. There is a restaurant which is good value and a bar area. Breakfast was also good. The room we had was not in the main house but was perfectly funcitonal. I think you would need to specify if you wanted to be in the main house as there didn't seem to be many rooms. There are a lot of weddings at this hotel - it didn't bother us but if you want peace and quiet perhaps check first.
You can't see the sea from most of the rooms but it is only a short walk away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here on route to Arran, and thought it was so good, we stayed again on the way back.
The first night was midweek, and it was just fab, room 6 is just perfect in every way, dinner also in the bar area was also very good and we had a very lovely evening, the owner very attentive around the tables to make sure everything was just spot on.
Our second night, we were in a room in a new block closer to the road, the lodges? and although a new room was also very nice, the receptionist being helpful, thinking ahead to put us there as there was a wedding on in the main hotel and the only other room available was above the wedding.
Breakfast on each day was very good.

Room Tip: Room 6, very lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our wedding was on the 30th September 2012, and what an amazing day it was. Martin (from Newcastle) from the piersland was amazing,we were his 8th wedding and he done a fabulous job,we were very impressed with him and he couldn't do enough for us. The food was absolutely phenomenal which everyone raved about. Our reception went amazingly well and everyone had a ball. It was one of the quickest most amazing days of our lives. Our room was beautiful and very clean as were our guests rooms. It was everything and more that we expected for our wedding. It is a very traditional hotel with a modern twist with a lot of character and VERY GOOD food which was what sold it for us for our wedding. We go for dinner once a month and the staff are always very attentive. Some of our guests were impressed with our choice of venue and will be staying over and having dinner at a later date. Thank you very much the staff of the Piersland for a truly rememberable amazing wedding day. Lots of David and Natalie Blakely xxx

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n_blakely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

yet again we had an excellent stay at piersland house,,,stayed in 1 of the lodges which was great,,dined in the red bowl on 1 night ,,food was fantastic and reasonably priced .. breakfast also excellent.... look forward to making it a hat-trick of visits

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livy1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,058 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
866 reviews
4.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
4.1 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piersland House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piersland House Hotel

Property: Piersland House Hotel
Address: 15 Craigend Road, Troon KA10 6HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Troon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#2 Business Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Piersland House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Piersland House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piersland Hotel Ayr
Piersland House Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing