We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Joyous”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highgrove House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Troon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Joyous”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I recently spent a couple of nights here with hubby and friends and what a treat it was. The food was superb, and I can highly recommend the Halibut. Between us we sampled the seafood mixed grill, the fish stew, the halibut, lamb chops, chowder, and mussels to name but a few, and everything was cooked to perfection. The staff were warm and very welcoming, excepting a wine waiter who was dour faced....we all have our off days and the restaurant was very busy so given he wasn't actually verbally rude I can overlook that on this one occasion. I knocked one star off though as no one wants served by someone who won't or can't crack a smile, he was an exception however as the remainder off the staff were outstanding, the rooms were beautifully decorated and well appointed, if you want a bath ask for room 1 as that apparently is the only room to have one. It does also boast a shower (water pressure is an issue), and a double sink unit,
A fabulous stay and we will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a bath and shower,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank numptieheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    46
    20
    11
    6
See reviews for
52
53
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Prebooked Afternoon Tea and checked twice that they would have gluten free option.

Unfortunately this became an 'alternative' as they didn't have any bread. ..disappointing. The alternative fish was lovely and they did provide meringues and dipped some fudge and puff candy in chocolate (not set as it was so fresh) for me but it was not as I would have expected for an afternoon tea especially from an establishment of this quality.

I would much rather be told the traditional afternoon tea is not available for my diet than be disappointed on arrival.

So if you are booking please be very specific on your expectations.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnAE181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Recently had a 2 night stay at this hotel with my wife and 2 friends and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Food excellent,staff very friendly and deliver a high standard of service.
Hotel immaculate my only small gripe is the water pressure in the shower could be slightly more powerful but that will not stop us returning.

Room Tip: Room 1 has sea views and a very spacious bathroom with both a large bath and an indiidvual shower co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed overnight on holiday. Room had an excellent view of the water, bath was enormous and overall room was very well appointed. Had dinner onsite - can only say that it was excellent. I don't know when I have enjoyed an evening so much.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa27516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed there four nights. Room was nice with good view. Romantic stay preceding a golf vacation. Great restaurant on premises. Would love to stay there again on another trip. Convenient to tour western Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishkill12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We are just back from highgrove after Christmas dinner.we sat down and had to wait twenty minutes before we could order our drinks,in the most unseasonable area of the whole restaurant.(2guests facing wall),order taken for food,slowest service ever food I have to say was excellent could have done with a few potatoes with lamb dish?Another moan was the crackers no hat,no joke,novelty was utter rubbish very poor.Second drink another marathon, surely £250.00. (For 4people) warrants a little more attention to detail.paid in full 4months previous.A table close to us complained and got drinks bill removed.Cannot say well done,but food was very nice.million dollar question would you go back.!!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The menu was quite extensive and included lots of fish dishes, helpfully listed in its own section on the menu. There was a good selection of meat dishes too. Between us we had chicken dishes, fish dishes and a curry dish. The sauces in each dish were really good and the meat and fish cooked beautifully. I can thoroughly recommend the mixed seafood grill. The curry dish, although cooked well, was not quite so special. There is a good selection of desserts and we were all pleased with our choices; Costley's homemade ice cream is delicious.

The weather closed in, so, unfortunately, we were not able to enjoy the view, but, the atmosphere in the restaurant helped make up for that. It was quite busy, but, very relaxed and everyone seemed to be enjoying the experience. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and friendly. No rush; it made for a very relaxing Sunday lunch.

It is a long time since we last visited the Highgrove restaurant, but, after this experience, it won't be too long before we return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wandrin'Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
1.4 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
1.5 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.5 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
5.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgrove House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgrove House Hotel

Property: Highgrove House Hotel
Address: 7 Old Loans Road, Troon KA10 7JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Troon
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Highgrove House Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing