We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Reviewed September 25, 2009

The hotel is right beside the golf course and the beach and ideally located for walking into the town which has lots of good gift shops and a couple of great restaurants. We didn't eat in the hotel as the menu didn't look very tempting (£23 for 2 courses e.g Cumberland sausages and £7.50 supplement for steak!). Instead we went to MacCallum's fish restaurant at the harbour and the meal was absolutely fabulous.
The hotel itself is comfortable enough and the staff are pleasant but the decor is getting a bit faded and a refurb will be called for soon. A few dusty corners in the room too and twice the maids attempted to enter the room at 9.30 as we were still packing up after breakfast. Having said that, we got a bargain rate for bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,043 - 2,049 of 2,138 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2009

Nothing terrible about this hotel just nothing great. Staff outside restaurent very nice and helpful. Probably too many coach tours with fixed prices.. Some rooms quite nice some rooms very small. No air conditioning and can be a little noisy with window open depending on whether you have a sea view or .."a rear view". Food at night ....nothing special ..breakfast fine but a little slow...why bother with powdered orange juice?
Sauaage and bacon fine. Leisure facilities ok. Pool nice.
Overall OK but only Ok.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCtravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Overall a nice hotel. Modern decor mixed with traditional style of building was very tasteful. I found the receptionist very helpful and had a comfortable stay. The only thing I would say I didn't like was the cleanliness. It was a bit grubby for a 4star hotel. Someone needs to have a good go at the grout in the bathroom with some bleach and a toothbrush as it was mouldy and apply new silicone around the bath as that was mouldy too. Also one of the glasses left in the bathroom was not clean. The shower curtain was also mouldy at the bottom and needed replacing. There were also stains on the chairs in the room, which made me disinclined to sit in them. Apart from that I had a nice big room, the bed was comforable, the sheets were clean and fresh and I had a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musicboxforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Comfortable room, with lovely sea view. Good hearty breakfast, dinner was disappointing, quality of food average, lots of supplement charges on menu. e.g small bowl of frozen chips £3.50. Good leisure facility very clean and friendly.
Room service was not up to standard lots shortcuts eg. a glass which we had used for milk had not been cleaned properly, was left for reuse. Room was also dusty, shower could have been cleaner. (black mould)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bydandboss20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

The room I shared with my husband and daughter was nice (although there was a big mouldy damp patch above the window only visible when the curtain was pulled back. There is obviously a problem with rain water seeping through) the windows were very draughty and the bathroom had no heating - not good in February!
At Dinner 1st night ( the only time left was at 9pm - a bit late especially when you have an 11 yr old in tow!) arrived at Restaurant for 9pm and had to wait for 20 minutes to be seated. After several attempts to attract the attention of staff including the Restaurant Manager, who assured us that we would be seen to asap, it was a further 20 min before anyone came with menus. Of course by that time we were all very hungry, but when we were making choices from the menu we were told that several of the dishes were now not available ( no steaks!) We had to ask a waitress if we could get some drinks which didn't arrive until we had almost finished our starter. The food was good but could have been hotter. At the end of the meal spoke to the Restaurant Manager and said we had been most disappointed, he was assured that things would improve for us the next day.
At Breakfast the following morning (although we had reserved a time) yet again we had to wait around 15 min in a queue to get our seat. The table had still not been set with the basics we would need and we had to ask for cutlery, marmalade and butter. Also by that time most of the fruit juices etc had run out as had most of the hot food, what was left looked like someone had cleared their leftovers into it - I was told that no more food could be prepared as the cook had finished breakfast for that morning. The service for tea, coffee and toast was non existent and we left feeling disappointed yet again. Yet again mentioned to the person in charge. Dinner that night was a bit better than the previous night and we had high hopes that breakfast in the morning would be better. It was - slightly.
All of the above was noted down and passed to the reception desk to be given to the Manager. So far have had no response so I can only assume that it was never passed on. Needless to say we will not be back

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bv56yyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineGM, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2009

Thank you for your comments. I apologise that I cannot comment in more detail regarding your review as your stay was six months ago. However since your stay we have appointed a new restaurant manager who has improved restaurant service at breakfast and dinner.
As we are a historic building dating back to the late 1800's we are unable to install modern double glazed windows. Our windows however are regularly maintained and do add to the character of the building. On extremely windy days, we do have a few on the West Coast of Scotland, some of the windows are more exposed than others. We can avoid this by allocating non sea view rooms if requested.

Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We came to Troon for a family party and we stayed at the hotel for two nights. This hotel has a golf course and that was the overall atmosphere of the place, the views were gorgeous and the area very quiet. The pool was lovely and the jacuzzi also. If I was a golfer I would have been in heaven but...there were 14 of us including 3 children. There was nothing for the children to do, the menu in the bar was a little expensive and the service in the bar was poor. However the overall service was good.. Martina, Louth, Ireland

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina-Irishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineGM, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2009

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. We are currently reviewing our offering for families with children and are considering installing a Barcy Club at the hotel. The UK's first Barcy Club has indeed just opened at the Barcelo Torquay Imperial Hotel. If we were to open one it would include indoor and outdoor play areas. Another plan for next year is to install an outdoor putting green.

Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Stayed for one night as a get away from the usual day to day grind. We had booked a standard room but were delighted to find we had been upgraded to one of the hotels suites. The room was on the 3rd floor with great views over Royal Troon Golf Course. The room was large with everything you would expect and was extremely clean. The bathroom too was very large and clean. We were shown to our room and were given a tour of the hotel and its leisure facilities. My husband used the pool and said it was fine, although there was children's swimming lessons being held which did reduce the area available.

We did not have dinner in the hotel but did have a couple of drinks in the bar where we found the service good and prices were what you would expect for a hotel. Breakfast in the morning was extremely busy (I think the hotel must have been fairly full), however the staff worked very hard to make sure everyone was seen to, that orders were taken and that buffet items were replenished quickly. The breakfast itself was well cooked and warm and we had no complaints at all.

The only problem we had was there was no water in the room, when we reported it we were informed that it was already being dealt with and it was back on in about an hour so it was not a major inconvenience to us. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful so we have no complaints about the service we received at all.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and we intend to return later this year

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDA1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineGM, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2009

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
916 reviews
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
519 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
0.6 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Price Range: $86 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing