We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, view, food and location”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night - room was very nice, bed comfy and clean and bathroom as
Nice aswell. We had dinner in the restaurant as I had heard
Good things from family - lovely sea view and the food was excellent. Pool facilities were good, showers weren't great though. We booked a deal,
Room and dinner was aBout 120 pounds - would gladly return in those circumstances.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank LePonke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased you your enjoyed your time with us. It is always very encouraging to read such great comments. I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

888 - 894 of 2,130 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

The hotel is nice and the staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast offers a good choice and all was very fresh. It was a perfect place for a weekend break with friends and the leisure centre provided a relax.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for the great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I very much hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I was staying here on a Monday, on the Sunday evening I received a call to ask if I would like to reserve dinner as the following evening was very busy, I thought that was a very good service and reserved dinner for 6:00 pm. On arrival the reception staff were very welcoming. But things started to go a wee bit wrong in the Two Fat Ladies restaurant, I was left standing at the door for what seemed an eternity until I was spotted, at that time there were only a few people in. The menu is very heavily influenced by Italian cuisine, I would have liked a more Scottish feel, but the quality of the food was very good and very tasty, good value for money evening dinner. A waiter wrongly informed an American guest that the sea view was that of the North Sea, despite us being firmly planted on the South West of Scotland. Breakfast was the same problem, this time I was really standing for a long time before being attended to, despite many people seeing me. Crockery was dirty, the couple next to me also complained about the cups. I dint as I was in a hurry and service was slow, not enough staff maybe. But again the food was good. Once again reception staff were very friendly on checkout. Rooms were very clean and well presented.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Donnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thanks for your review. I am sorry that you were not immediately seated when entering the restaurant. I would challenge the Italian theme comment as we have a grand total of two pasta dishes on our menu but we review our menus frequently so will look at this as soon as we can.
I am also trying to establish who on the team mixed up the east and west coast, very basic and embarrassing error and one that will not be repeated. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for my 30th. It was a surprise for me and it was gorgeous. A few bad things but nothing too major. No champagne on arrival which he asked for and lack of storage in our bedroom. Otherwise we could not fault the hotel. Staff were friendly and so helpful. Thanks for a fab weekend

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burlinsonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thanks for the review. I am very please that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a fabulous weekend to celebrate our husbands birthdays. The staff were wonderful and even decorated the rooms for our arrival. The sea view rooms were spacious and elegant. Everything was perfect and we would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Booked this through online spa travel agency as we wanted this experience alongside a good location for a special golf treat for one member of party. Hotel location is fabulous with gorgeous views over golf course and Arran. Bar, rooms and part of restaurant are charming. Spa treatments & treatment rooms were good, but waiting/ relaxation room was beside noisy ladies' changing room and no atmosphere or comfort. Pool was disappointing with very shallow end, so lengths very short! Pool area not very clean or well-maintained and what should have been stunning coloured windows looking out at views, were nasty& dirty.
Restaurant was billed as outpost of well-known seafood one in Glasgow, but it was misleading.Not a seafood restaurant in our opinion. Service was dreadful with drinks/bread not being offered, then if they were, didn't arrive even after several reminders. Massive supplements for some mains and desserts eg. £10.50 for the steak on top of the DBB rate. The corner part of restaurant should be the perfect setting for a meal,but was cold and without same level of decor as other part. Wouldn't stay here for spa or restaurant again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HighlandLass186543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for the review. Whilst I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel I am sorry that you did not like the restaurant. We can only hope to maintain a high standard by listening to our guests so I appreciate your comments. I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Six of us stayed at the Hotel as a base to get to Glasgow for the first Friday and Saturday of the Commonwealth Games. We were blown away by the location, welcome, obvious quality and general attitude of the staff.
The one issue that was not ideal was the quality of the breakfast. Over cooked meat, eggs not great etc. That said I hope one day to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thanks for the great review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that you did not like breakfast so much but appreciate the feedback. I hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
258 reviews
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
515 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Price Range: $75 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing