We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely romantic weekend stay”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic weekend stay”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My husband and I went here for a weekend getaway. The staff are the best i've encountered, very friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean, welcoming, the room was a good size with a lovely view of the golf course and sea. The lounge is comfortable with a panaramic view, the outside seating has the good view as well, however is a slight wind trap. The restaurant was delicious, breakfast had a large selection of hot and cold buffet.
The spa was clean, ok size, the sauna and steam room were small so only a few guests can sit at a time. The pool is an ok size, the jaquzzi however was never empty. The only down side to the spa is on Saturday afternoons it's "splash time" and local kids can come and play...not relaxing...at this point we headed to the beach.
The only complaint would be the double bed was 2 single beds pushed together with a large dip in the middle, the bed and pillows are hard.

Room Tip: The front you see the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexH249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for the great review, I am very pleased that your visit was so good. Thanks for the comments regarding the bed, I will have this looked at. I hope that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    630
    275
    126
    88
See reviews for
283
1,107
36
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Excellent place to stay. Really comfortable and clean. Great service. Feel like a VIP sat in the restaurant overlooking Royal Troon, but this isn't reflected in the price, as the price is fantastic. Food is also good. Will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_S_13956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thanks for the brilliant review! I am so pleased that your stay was so good and I am delighted that you enjoyed the restaurant. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Enjoyed weekend break at the Marine Hotel. Room was on third floor and a bit claustrophobic. If staying again would prefer room on second floor . Staff very friendly and helpful. Used leisure facilities and again staff friendly and helpful. Food in the Restaurant was tasty especially Sticky Toffee Pudding which I would recommend . Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you very much for the great review! Its great too read that you had such a lovely stay, I'm delighted that you enjoyed the sticky toffee pudding! I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just had an overnight at Marine Hotel. It was a celebration. Room and view perfect and birthday card in room. Also desert following first class meal in Two Fat Ladies had Happy Birthday piped on plate. Lovely touch. Breakfast also superb. Would go back again.

Room Tip: Room a little on the small side but no need to upgrade to premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oosterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for the review! I am very pleased that your break was so special and I'm very pleased that we delivered the extra touches for you! I hope its not too long until we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The welcome on check in was the first indication of the high quality staff , all showing a welcoming and polite manner throughout our stay. Our room was standard, the hotel was nicely decorated and the pool and gym clean and well maintained. Our meal in the 2 fat ladies was delicious , with very good service. The service at breakfast time was also first class with staff having a happy friendly approach to greet people in the morning. We had beautiful weather and the view from the bar and restaraunt was stunning. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for the great review, its very encouraging to read such excellent comments. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was a perfect venue to celebrate 3 special birthdays. It was in a super location, with good sized rooms, pleasant dining room and relaxed atmosphere.
The food was excellent and we were never rushed to finish. Staff were helpful and friendly. We were just beside the beach so enjoyed the views and the walks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. The views from the front of the hotel can indeed be spectacular! I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Both my Mum and myself had an overnight stay at the Marine Hotel troon using a Living Social deal I had spotted a few weeks before. Everything about our stay was great, all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the room was spotless and we had a lovely sea view which we weren't expecting due to the fact we were on a voucher deal! The best thing about the stay was the food - the food in the Two Fat Ladies restaurant was superb and the breakfast was the best breakfast I've had in a hotel, sometimes hot and cold buffets can be a bit hit or miss but this was fantastic.

I couldn't recommend this hotel more for an overnight stay and I hope to come back in the future!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TartanStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for the great review. I am vey pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and delighted that you enjoyed Two Fat Ladies! I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
13.5 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing