We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent with a plus”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Mirfield
2 reviews
“excellent with a plus”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Having just spent our third visit to the Marine Hotel we think that speaks for itself. From the reception team to the cleaning team they are all 1st class. The food in the `Two Fat Ladies` restaurant is exquisite, served beautifully and tastes divine. Breakfast was brought to the table which is really much better than self service, it just makes you feel that you are being looked after bliss. Will we be going again ? you bet we will .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TERRIIERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thanks for the great review, its fantastic to read that you had such a great time, I am delighted that you liked the restaurant! I very much hope that we will see you sooner rather than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    633
    281
    132
    93
See reviews for
285
1,120
37
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Absolutely everything was spot on. Room was lovely and clean. Food in the restaurant was exceptional, especially the dinner menu. All staff were friendly and helpful and all public areas beautiful as well. As our stay was a gift from family I couldn't comment on value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarionJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thanks for the review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Was given the night in this hotel by work mates as treat for the wife and myself the service was good and the room / siuite lovely with smashing views over the golf course to the beach .the fat ladies restaraunt was ok but a little rich for my taste. the staff were friendly and helpfull the other guests were a wee bit snooty. we had 1 drink at the hotel and got a shock at 50p change from £10 for a pint and a bacardi and coke so we went into troon for the rest of the night there the pubs were ok and open till 2am .the sleep we had was good as it is very quiet at night were the hotel is situated the breakfast was also good so i would recomend this hotel to anyone with a bit of money but for working class lad like myself a wee bit too posh thanks for looking hope this helps

Room Tip: ask for rooms with sea view and let the sound of the waves send you to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papapaulhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thanks for the review, whilst I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay I am concerned that you felt the hotel was snooty. I would strongly disagree that we are in any way snooty, its the very first time we have ever been described as that and I am sorry if you did not feel comfortable.
Thanks for choosing us and I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

From the moment that we arrived to the moment that we checked out, the Staff were wonderful.
The facilities were great and the leisure Club, really well equipped.
The hotel overlooks the famous golf course and the sea.
Prestwick airport is nearby and although Ryanair and Easyjet flew in every couple of minutes, they were almost inaudible.
WE WENT ON A 'SPECIAL DEAL' BUT THE STAY WOULD HAVE BEEN WORTH FULL PRICE!!
Just one thing, if you are told that Troon town centre is a 'five minute walk' - IT ISN'T!!! More like a 15 minute walk.
For a really cheap coffee and a cake, go to Scott's Restaurant in the Marina and enjoy a scone, jam and cream and a coffee for £2:50 each AND you have a view over the Marina.
The Marine Hotel is there to be enjoyed and WE DID!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thanks for the great review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalmellingon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just back from a fantastic Spa Day here. Bought the spa off Bespoke offers and took my mum for Mother's Day. From start to finish it was a fantastic experience. Reception staff were polite and showed us about. The facilities were good too. Sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, and swimming pool. I even managed to do an aquarobics class. Laura the therapist who did our massage and facial was fantastic. Very friendly and talked us through everything. One of the best facials I have had. We had high tea which was simply delicious and more than plentiful. Big shout out to the young lady who was constantly cleaning. Very friendly and happy and always had a smile on her face. Can only recommend this highly as no faults at all. I am returning in April with a friend and hope I receive the same standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara-Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thanks for the review, I am delighted that you had such a great time, the team in our Leisure Club work very hard to deliver excellent service and a great experience so it is very encouraging so see such great feedback. I hope that we see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Although we were given room 116, the suite the golfer used when he won the Open in 1950, which was lovely, spacious and cracking views across the water, there was something lacking at this hotel.

Perhaps it was because of the non functioning jacuzzi, or the breakfast buffet, where you had to help yourself or the strange decor in some places...

However, we did have a nice stay, although a bit overpriced for 220 quid, thankfully for the two fat ladies, which is an excellent restaurant we were happy enough to pay for it.

Staff are all excellent and friendly, the hotel very clean and food portions of satisfactory sizes.

Do recommend it although will not return

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thanks for your review, I am sorry that you were disappointed. Although I am pleased that there seemed to be many positives. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here with my mum for a mother's day getaway. We found all the staff very friendly and extremely helpful. The food is amazing in the restaurant however during our stay the lunch & evening meal menus were the same and this meant we lacked choice due to personal preference of foods.
The room was lovely, abit cold but once we turned up the radiators was lovely and warm! Very clean and good housekeeping services. We slept like logs! Very comfortable and we were on an exterior wall and the wind did not prevent us sleeping at all! Beautiful View!! I would recommend this hotel however i would put forward the recommendation that the hotel mix up their menu's as this would make the whole experience amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicola344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for the review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for the comment regarding menus, we have a new menu coming soon and I hope that will address your concerns. Thanks for choosing us and I hope that we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.5 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
238 reviews
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing