We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice break! But no wine list in Arran lounge....unbelievable!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice break! But no wine list in Arran lounge....unbelievable!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay at the Marine. Overall we had a lovely time, check in was very efficient, our room was on the small side but perfectly adequate and modern. Our meal in Two Fat Ladies was very nice, wine well chilled. I too noticed that the side plates did not match but sensed it was deliberate and gave added charm. They were old fashioned china side plates that you would have got when you went to your Granny's for tea, very quaint! Why no 5 star rating you ask?
WELL..... When we adjourned to the Arran Lounge after dinner, we requested a wine list to view the selection of wine on offer prior to ordering whatever took our fancy. The barman responded that they did not have a wine list, what kind of wine would we like!!!!! I find it incredible and unacceptable that a hotel of this stature could not provide a wine list in their lounge bar. They serve bar meals here too but no wine list to choose a bottle of wine with your meal! We were so astounded that we left without having a drink, their loss on the price of a bottle of wine.
I would ask that management explain why this is not on offer and also that this policy is reviewed, otherwise we would be unlikely to return, which would be a shame as up to this point we could not fault anything at all.
Oh and breakfast next day was enjoyable, a short wait for a table as they were very busy, but this was well managed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Issy499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you very much for the great review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am extremely sorry for the incident with the wine list, this has been addressed with the individual team member as we certainly do have a wine list available in the bar. I am very sorry for any confusion.
Thank you again for the review and thank you for choosing to stay with us, I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    626
    274
    124
    87
See reviews for
280
1,100
36
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The staff here cannot be faulted, the location and views are exquisite,
however many of the rooms are in urgent need of considerable refurb ................double glazing for example is really essential (and the norm elsewhere!)

Come on Puma Group, support your staff
spend some money, get it sorted

Your heating bill must be enormous!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ete3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you found the team at the hotel to be so welcoming, we work very hard to ensure that we are always the best version of ourselves!
I am sorry that our rooms were not more to your liking but thank you for your feedback.
Thanks for staying with us and I hope that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

I returned to the Marine with friends for a girly spa day after staying here in November. It was such a relaxing day and can recommend it. The staff in every area of the hotel were excellent, especially Perri at the Spa who couldn't do enough to make our day so enjoyable. The lunch is great in The Fat Ladies restaurant and will definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AyrshirePinkLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for another lovely review, I am delighted that you are continually impressed! Thank you for choosing us again and I hope we see you lots over the coming months
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful overnight . Our room was exceptional with wonderful views over Royal Troon Golf course and the Firth of Clyde to Arran . All of the staff we met could not have been more helpful . The facilities at the hotel ,including the pool , sauna , steam room and jacuzzi were first class . At dinner the choice and quality were exceptional . We will definitely be returning .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank moiraandgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you very much for a great review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to look after you and I do hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millport18
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I spent a Friday evening here and had dinner. We stayed in a suite which was very nice. The hotel is a 4 star, but the feeling you get is that it is struggling to be just that. For example, the side plates at dinner were not from the same crockery set. The rose wine we ordered was not chilled. At breakfast the next morning at least two table close to us were complaining that there food had been forgotten and that they had had to wait excessively to be served after their order had been take - staff were apologising profusely. A table lamp in our room did not work and the room was very dull. I asked, on my way to dinner, if someone could replace the bulb and was told it would be sorted. It wasn't. The towels in the bathroom were very thin and worn.
Our welcome however was lovely, and the hotel looks pretty good to be honest, but just let's itself down on little things, which overall detract significantly from the feel good factor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millport18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thanks for your review. I am sorry that you were not happier with your stay. I appreciate you mentioning the lamp and the wine, these are mistakes that we should not be making.
The mismatched crockery you mention is deliberate and a feature of Two Fat Ladies restaurant rather than any error or lack of consistent purchasing. (We also have similar tea and coffee cups and saucers - they are lovely!). I am not aware of any issues with our towels but will look into it. I appreciate your comments regarding breakfast.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at the Marine for a two night stay in a deluxe room which was very spacious and had great views.
Overall the hotel is very charming and has been brought up to date with the addition of a nice pool, gym and spa facilities. I have been assured by my good lady that the spa treatments were the best that she has had.
Food at the hotel can be had either in the bar which offers a reasonable all day menu (if a bit pricy) or you can have dinner at the Two Fat Ladies restaurant (which seems to have a bit of work to do to be as good as the other TFL restaurants in Glasgow). Breakfast is also served in the TFL restaurant. My only real gripe was about the breakfast which was overcooked and served on plates that were too hot to handle without a napkin - so the food continued cooking :(
Weather for February was what you would expect really however the hotel and surrounding areas did have enough to offer.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel to let them know what type of room/ facilities you would like so that you are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelpiefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thanks for the review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Spa and I think you enjoyed the restaurant!
I hope that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Visited the Marine Hotel yesterday for a Spa Day and "Lunch" purchased through Itison. The day started very well with a massage for myself and manicure for my wife - faultless - the staff were superb. Unfortunately after this great start the day went downhill. We went for a swim prior to our lunch and discovered 3 members of staff cleaning the sides of the pool, with scrubbing brushes and scouring pads, while customers were swimming - only in Scotland!!! After this "lovely" experience we went for our "lunch" which was purchased for the "Two Fat Ladies Restaurant". We were informed our lunch would be held in the Arran Room with what can only be described as an extremely limited "light lunch" menu. The Arran Room was adequate but disappointing as was the light lunch (Soup and Caesar Salad). I have purchased a few of these Spa Days in various hotels and have to say the Marine Hotel was by far the worst - the management appear intent on saving pennies when they could be pocketing pounds. My wife and I expect to, and do not mind, paying additional supplements for items/choices in Restaurants where we have purchased deals, however on this occasion none were offered, even wine appeared to be beyond us. I will certainly not be rushing back after this disappointing day, which started so well. It was perhaps, only just, worth the £89.00 voucher price we paid (the full price was allegedly £185.00, which was either a printing error or a joke). On the plus side after leaving the Hotel, starving, we visited the Wee Hurrie Chippy at Troon Harbour, which was as ever Superb!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJDeighan, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thanks for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your treatments, the therapists work very hard and I know that they are hugely encouraged by the great feedback that they receive.
I am sorry if the cleaning was in any way off putting, we spend a great deal of time cleaning each and every day to ensure a pleasant environment for our guests.
With regards to lunch I thank you for your comments and will follow these up with the relevant departments.
We can only maintain a high standard by listening to our guests so your feedback and comments are very valuable to us, thanks for visiting and I do hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
13.5 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing