We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, nice rooms, good deal.”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a Groupon deal - 1 nights stay with three course dinner plus wine, and breakfast for two people £99.
Myself and 5 other friends stayed here. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Rooms were nice but perhaps in need of a bit of a refurb - much like other 'country-style hotels'. Unfortunately the guests in the room next to us seemed to be up for a party so we didn't get a great sleep but this was no fault of the hotels'.

Dinner was delicious with around 8-10 options each on the set menu for starters and main courses. For the main courses there were options of every type of meat you could ask for, plus a couple of seafood options, pasta options, and veg options.
Staff in the dining room were extremely pleasant and helpful.

We used the swimming pool in the morning which was very warm. It was lovely for relaxing but I wouldn't want to do any strenuous swimming in the pool!.

Breakfast again was delicious however service was a little slow at breakfast. We were in no rush though so it didn't bother us.

Overall, it was a fantastic deal we got. Hotel was lovely, if perhaps a little tired. Staff were great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,173 - 1,179 of 2,122 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Second visit to this lovely hotel and just like the first time we were not disappointed. the staff on the reception desk and the gentleman on the front door are very friendly and welcoming giving guests a great first impression. Our allocated room, although not a sea view, was large comfortable and spotlessly clean with everything provided to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Swimming pool and spa facilities first class and we took full advantage and this definately added a plus to our stay. The Arran bar is very relaxing and laid back and the view out to sea and hills of Arran is amazing. Service at breakfast again efficient and friendly and the breakfast itself we enjoyed greatly. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, loved our stay there and look forward to an early return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I recently went with a friend for a spa day. After booking in we were taken to a room to fill out a form. We were asked what treatments we wanted then the girl left and never came back. 2 ladies who were already there told us what to do. We found our robes then went on hunt for changing room. After getting changed we went back to orig room where we were asked what we wanted fir lunch. Would rather have waited until I was in restaurant to decide. Anyway we met our therapists, mine was Laura and we were taken for massages. Was totally disappointed as I don't know if Laura really knew what she was doing, but hey oh it was over in 25 mins. We were then taken for our manicures. My friend got the full deal and I got 'touched' by a nail file and a coat of polish then Laura got up and left. My friend was still getting hers as I sat for 15 mins and waited on her finishing. We then found our own way to pool and sauna rooms. After half hour it was lunch time. I got 4 slices of tomato, 2 bits of mozzarella and some grass. We ordered Caesar salad and that had 4 lettuce leaves, 5 croutons and had to ask for more sauce. We also ordered chips as were hungry. We were not asked again if we wanted more drinks or a dessert. We left very unhappy. I really think the staff didn't want to be working on a Saturday and our whole day was disappointing. Will never be back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weedebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

After holidaying in the Highlands my husband and I spent just the one nigh in this hotel on Friday 13th September. After a week of rich food we chose to eat in the bar. There was a varied menu,the food was excellent -just what we wanted. The club sandwiches highly recommended!
A large comfortable room overlooking the golf course and a good breakfast completed our stay before we caught our ferry to Larne.
All the staff we encountered were efficient,friendly and very helpful and if staying in Troon again The Marine Hotel would be our first choice

Room Tip: If staying again We would have a room overlooking the golf course. Bright and cheery lovely outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I booked this hotel as a spa overnight treat for myself, my daughter, my friend and her daughter.
The reception staff were pleasant.
We booked our treatments and went for lunch.
The service was awful. Staff uninterested and slow. We had to put our treatments in the spa back an hour as we waited so long for our lunch.
The treatments were ok but the girls wanted facials and were told that they were too young. 15!
This was not explained to us when we booked our treatments.
Dinner was nice but again the service was slow. We asked for our bill which did not arrive so we went to the bar and it eventually arrived. We ordered drinks and waited. One waitress who was serving a large party of golfers made faces behind their backs. Very unprofessional.
Our room was ok but definitely not 4 star.
Breakfast was fabulous.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lankerjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on a b&b basis. Views from this hotel are amazing over looking the old course, or golf course across the road. Check in smooth as always. Room was in. Turret, a bit on the small side, but did the job. Bathroom was spot on. Breakfast was outstanding, and the haggis was exceptional. Had dinner 1 night. And having ate here many times in the past it never let's down. The sticky toffee pudding is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocktamson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Afternoon tea in the Arran Bar for my husband's birthday. Bar completely lacking in ambience with tired decor, unsuitable tiny worn tables, no menu, no choices of either food or tea, boring sandwiches and dry stale scones. Staff polite but no-one bothered to check if we wanted refills, nor could I find anyone to pay at the end. A big disappointment.

Room Tip: Don't bother having afternoon tea here. Go to Turnberry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
511 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
257 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
Price Range: $74 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing