We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marine Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$138
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$101
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkstone(Prestwick)
$108
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$88
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,194)
Filter reviews
2,194 results
Traveler rating
938
669
315
160
112
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
938
669
315
160
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiestwo fat ladiesgolf coursesteam roomspa breakdeluxe roomleisure cluban upgradesea viewafternoon teabar areabirthday treatlovely hotelfirst classshort breakevening mealroyal troon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,263 - 1,268 of 2,194 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Well maintained with friendly and helpful staff ideal if you are a golfer. The rooms however are nearly all small and simply equipped, closer to a 3 than a 4 star rating. We asked for something bigger and paid extra for suite 222 which was superb. Location is great on the beach and a nice walk to the town.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked this hotel for a night away, the room was very nice and larger than expected. The bathroom was a let down but did not bother us much. I fixed the bathroom door handle but the staircase to the bathroom was wobbly and I did not have my tool kit with me! Breakfast was very good, the staff helpful and the choice is to be commended. The reception were helpful from check in to check out. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Phillip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a wonderful overnight stay at the Marine Hotel on a special deal rate. Excellent service and facilities. Lovely 3 course dinner and cooked breakfast was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Madaboutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a lovely night's stay here but a few niggles which could have made our stay even better. Our room was ready on arrival but housekeeping could be better. Discovered a dirty hand towel laying in the wardrobe and a half drunk bottle of still water by the bedside which should have been removed and replaced by a fresh one.

Bathroom was in need of an upgrade - broken handle on door and cracked floor tiles.

Meal in the evening was very good but marred by waiting thirty minutes for our starters to arrive and another twenty minute wait for our mains. Not enough staff in the kitchen to cope with a busy restaurant.

Breakfast was better with a good selection of cereals, pastries, juice and good choice of hot food which was ordered and brought promptly to our table by a smiling waitress.

Would stay here again but hopefully would not encounter these problems again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nocera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The coastal setting is impressive although it is a good mile from Troon. The old building is imposing but the rooms were a bit small. The spa area was inviting albeit the pool was little too shallow at one end (85cm). The breakfast was ample & adequate but we did have to wait a few minutes for a table.

Everything was fine, but unfortunately always seemed to have a downside to it. The staff were the exception who were friendly, polite and efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swedishtomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulietP806, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Swedishtomcat

Thanks for your comments and delighted to hear that you found our staff exceptional. Our property is unique, all the different sizes and shapes of rooms, we feel add to the genuine authenticity to the cultural heritage of the property that dates back to 1896, sorry to hear that you felt your room was on the small size. Please do feel encouraged to return, remember to let us know which room you stayed in previously and we will gladly offer an alternative.

Kind regards
M.Lawrence
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews