We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marine Hotel great - central reservations poor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
“Marine Hotel great - central reservations poor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Marine hotel is in a wonderful location, overlooking Ayr bay and the 18th hole of Royal Troon golf course. We have stayed in both the deluxe and standard double rooms and been pleased on both occasions. If you can stretch to the deluxe they do offer great views and quite a bit more space.

Service is relaxed and efficient, a nice large bar area and dining room with huge vistas of the bay.

However, do shop around for the deals on the website, as central reservations will not always offer the best deal available. It is best to be put straight through to the Marine staff, as they are more helpful and may be able to sort you out with a room even if central reservations say there is no availability.

Room Tip: The corner deluxe rooms have turrets that give you 180 degree views over the sea and the golf course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blurpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    622
    268
    121
    86
See reviews for
278
1,084
36
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went here for a spa day with my husband. Did not stay at the hotel. Used all the facilities, (steam room, jacuzzi, sauna and swimming pool). All were excellent and really enjoyed myself. Had a lovely lunch - soup, salmon salad and prosecco. Bar room was lovely. Really nice decor. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Also had a facial and a massage that was amazing. Left feeling refreshed, relaxed and happy. Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights with living social vouchers, what a fantastic deal, the hotel is beautiful, the views are stunning and the staff are out of this world, have never been to a hotel where all the staff are so friendly and helpful, the management should be very proud of the staff, they go out of their way to help and are so chatty. The rooms are all so clean and tidy, the cleaning staff work hard at making the place feel like home again all very friendly always smiling. Bar staff couldn't do enough for you such a fantastic all round experience, only thing that would maybe be a negative is that the menu in the dinning room didn't change so if your there for a week you could get stuck for something different to eat!! and we were disappointed with the fish dishes that we had on our third night, not much flavour in either, but all the other meals we had there were superb. Afternoon tea is a must!!!. The leisure facilities were great and the beauty staff were so helpful. All in all this was a fantastic wee break and will be back again thats for sure, I'd recommend a visit to the Marine Hotel by some other hotels I've been to, so they can see just how its done properly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breny85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We took a one night deal, which started as a cheap deal, but adding upgrade to a suite and taking the dog (our choice) turned it into a fairly expensive night! however the place has a good quality about it and the staff were all excellent and friendly. Troon is just a great place with a great vibe, and if you are a golfer, then heaven awaits... If you love the sea and a walk on the beach, then also a great locale.
The place was packed when we went as it was a Sat night ( further supplement ) and there were three functions on, which did elongate our wait slightly for dinner serving. However our overall experience was good, and even though the staff were worked off their feet, they kept going all evening - I say 'they' as we seemed to have one girl covering our and many more tables, so a suggestion may be a extra staff on busy nights to avoid grumbles!
The food and beverages were all good quality and the breakfast served to the room was lovely.
This was a treat of an evening and one which we will probably choose again. This is definitely the quality of establishment that makes Scottish hospitality famous.

Room Tip: Cant comment on the standard room but the suite overlooking the sea was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight dinner, bed and breakfast spa break. We paid full price as there weren't any deals on for the date we required yet this was still fantastic value for money. A warm and welcome reception, great spa treatments, lovely clean room with a sea view and outstanding quality food, both dinner and breakfast. My only negative comment would be that we found the drinks were a bit pricey but given the top class surroundings and fab food I could live with that. A well deserved four star rating. Will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missmarple7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliet P, Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at The Marine Hotel. We are very pleased you had an excellent stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards

Juliet Parry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were attending a wedding in the hotel opposite at the piersland house hotel but staying at the marine hotel. The difference in the service and staff was considerable. The staff at the marine hotel could not have been more helpful or accommodating. Would definitely recommend and return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RustyCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliet P, Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thankyou very much for taking the time to write on our trip advisor page. We are very pleased you had a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Juliet Parry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Fantastic weekend break at Troon marine hotel lovely room and the food is excellent dinner was definitely fantastic,breakfast lovely and afternoon tea very civilised.booked this for an anniversary weekend had a lovely time, pity can't foresee the weather, but spent time in the gym and pool area which was very nice.

Room Tip: Room 204 great views pity though it was a twin !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boothsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliet P, Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thankyou very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are delighted you had a great time with us at The Marine Hotel. Hopefully the next time you visit us the weather will be brighter and you will be able to walk into Troon and see it in all its glory.

Kind Regards

Juliet Parry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
13.5 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing