We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel: Restaurant and Rooms First Class. Shame about the Afternoon Tea”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have just returned today from a most enjoyable stay at the Marine Hotel in Troon. When we arrived a bit early at about 12 noon, the Fiona the most polite receptionist checked to find out if our room was ready and it was. It was an excellent sea view room, so we must have been upgraded. We had come early as we were there using an Itison voucher which included a hot stone massage for both of us, which we had booked for 1.30. The massage was relaxing and efficient but we have had better. We then went for afternoon tea which was "entertaining"! We went into the bar where we were told afternoon tea was available. We sat for some time, before we managed to attract the attention of one of the three members of staff who were on duty in the fairly quiet bar. We asked her if we could have afternoon tea. She said yes, and then left us, we presumed perhaps to get a menu.She came back shortly afterwards with two dishes of jam and some butter. About 5 minutes later a waiter appeared carrying two triple deckers plate racks, with sandwiches on the bottom, cakes on the middle and scones and cream on the top. He put one on our table without comment and then took the other to a table at the other end of the bar. After more than 5 minutes when no tea had appeared, we called the girl back over and asked about our tea, She almost seemed surprised by our request, and asked if we wanted tea! We said yes, and she returned first with two very large cappuccino cups and saucers. She apologised that she had nothing smaller, but did offer to go and look if we thought they were a bit big! As we had waited a fair bit, we just said they were fine. She then came with the milk, suger and a very small pot of tea. We said we did not think that was enough tea, as it would barely have filled even one of the cups. She agreed and said "she was just not with it today", and immediately brought another pot, which did not match the first, and looked more like a water and not a tea pot, although it did have a tea bag in it. The tea we had barely filled the huge cups, so we asked for a pot of hot water which came very quickly in a pot that matched the tea pot! The sandwiches, were OK, the cakes bought in and the scones with "skooshy" cream OK. We had not been given any indication of cost up to this point, but were not particularly bothered, as we just wanted a nice break in a good hotel. The cost was £12.50 each, and this was not good value for money. When I approached the bar for our bill, I was just told by the waiter-£25.When I paid I was also concerned that I had to ask for a receipt. I did not doubt for a second that it had been properly rung up, I just wanted to have proof that I had paid, in case it was charged to our room.Very disappointing. Now for the pluses, and there were many. The dinner in the evening was excellent in every way, both in respect of the quality of the food and the standard of service. Both our starters, main courses and cheeseboard were as good as we have had, and we have been to very many good four and five star hotels. We also had an excellent table at the window of the restaurant overlooking the 18th. fairway of the Royal Troon Golf Club, only a few yards away, and then out to the sea and the Isle of Arran in the distance. Breakfast in the morning was similar, with both the full Scottish breakfast and service being first class. Interestingly, after our dinner we asked if we could have our coffee in the bar and were told that would not be a problem. We ordered two cappuccinos, expecting them to come in the cups we had in the afternoon. But no, they came in large tea cups! I would have to say though, that throughout our stay all the staff were very pleasant, and the only disappointment was the afternoon tea, which was really down to staff training or a lack thereof. I always feel the acid test of any hotel is, would we stay again? And the answer is a resounding yes, Excellent restaurant in respect of both food and service, lovely room, clean, tidy, fresh bathroom, polite and helpful reception and door staff. If they could just sort out the afternoon tea shambles they would be 5 star!

Room Tip: A sea view is definitely a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,294 - 1,300 of 2,105 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Visited the marine for afternoon tea using a voucher must say ive had better afternoon teas at a garden centre , are chipped plates the norm at this hotel ? as two plates from the cake stands were badly chipped , I wouldnt expect that from a back street cafe never mind a hotel of this calabur.i definately wouldn't recommend afternoon tea at this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay and thought the hotel was great, service was superb from check in till check out. Got upgraded to a deluxe suite ( room 218, the Greg Norman room) and the views were stunning, very relaxing watching the golfers out on the links!! Very comfortable bed, furniture a wee bit dated but very clean and tidy. Spa facilities just average though, jacuzzi was very small but steam room ok. Breakfast in the hotel was very nice and service excellent. Would definitley return if we could get a sea view room!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabelle2O11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Wonderful stay in a great hotel. Location amazing and staff very helpful. Rooms very comfortable with superb views, restaurant truly amazing with lovely menus and beautiful food. Beauty treatments great and very reasonable prices. A hotel not to be missed if in the area. Troon has some lovely quirky shops with some superb small ones with beautiful bags and jewellery. The staff are really an asset to the hotel and hopefully we will return some day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAGLASGOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a voucher deal and so did not pay full price. It was very busy.

We ventured into Troon for drinks before returning to the hotel for dinner.

We were seated right next to the door and waited a while to be attended to.
The staff were pleasant and helpful but were rushed off their feet, I suspect too few staff for the amount of guests.
There was no bread rolls and I asked for some three times. They never appeared despite every other table having them.

The meal itself was outstanding. Both of us agreed it was the best we'd had in a while.

Breakfast was very busy. Waited about five mins to get seated and another ten to order. After another thirty mins (45 total) I left without breakfast.

Highlight was dinner, but that was all. Staff were very friendly but not enough of them. Not their fault.

Would I go back? Not sure

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Visited with a friend for Spa deal with dinner and breakfast.
The hotel is in a beautiful location. The rooms were immaculate and quite spacious.
The Pool area was ok. The pool is very clean, though quite small, however it is quite shallow and good for kids. There are a few loungers and some chairs at the poolside. The jacuzzi is tiny. Didn't try anything else.
I enjoyed my hot stone massage, however my friend who has her own business doing the same wasn't impressed with her therapist. (Was too light with the movements). The beauty room was very clean and comfortable, and we had our treatment in the same room at the same time.
The food was absolutely amazing for both dinner and breakfast. All the hotel staff were very nice and make you feel very special.
Really enjoyed and plan to return in future with hubby and son.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACS033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Marine Hotel. On arrival at reception we were greeted by a lovely friendly receptionist and directed to our room. The bedroom looked out to the back of the hotel but we were on a 5pm deal so we couldn't really complain. The bedroom had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. They even supplied dressing gowns and slippers. I was very impressed with the food. Dinner was served in the Fairways restaurant that overlooked the golf course and sea, it was lovely having dinner and looking out at the views. The meal was superb and piping hot just as it should be. Breakfast was plentiful and again lovely and the staff in the restaurant were very helpful and friendly. We look forward to returning to the Marine in the near future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the golf course and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhona2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,543 reviews
5.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
895 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
Price Range: $75 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing