We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break at the Marine,very impressed by everything and would highly recommend it. The initial greeting at reception was friendly and efficient, the room was large enough , comfy bed, clean well equipped bathroom and good wardrobe/ storage space. Pleasant view overlooking the Royal Troon Golf course and out to sea. The bedroom window was an old fashioned "sash" type and rattled in the gale force winds we had over the weekend ( being a sash window was also a bit draughty--but for me added to the charm of teh old place !) .
The hotel is a nice blend of the old and the new , and as Im not a lover of modern sterile places--I found it charming. Bar and restauarant staff were equally pleasant and the overall service level was high. Was a great place to relax and feel "at home"---had a real "scottish" feel about it, warm and friendly--and no nonsense!! The leisure area was adequate, nice pool ( if a bit small ) sauna ,steam room and jacuzzi--with clean changing areas. (the sauna and steam room were both below temp on Sunday?? --but the leisure facilities seems a common problem at Puma hotels??--see Redworth Hall review ??)
Not enough to spoil a really nice enjoyable stay--even the lousy weather coudnt spoil it! Troon itself is nice, clean and again very friendly with lots of good cafes and restaurants. Wasnt teh weather for golf (not for me anyway?) but didnt deter everyone and is great to be able to wander along next to the great course as a spectator!!
All in all a very pleasant stay and the hotel is up there with the best .

Room Tip: Check on window type !! (Sash?) if a gale blowing !! Great views anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willowfield8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,399 - 1,405 of 2,120 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Having visited 50 countries and stayed in hotels in every continent I can honestly say this is the best hotel experience I have ever had.
Our party of 6 from 6 months to 60 enjoyed a cycling / leisure break 3 days 2 nights.
Very difficult to find fault from the moment Heather made us welcome to the friendly porter who helped us away.
Food great room lovely leisure facilities good with an added bonus of a squash court.
The best part hhhmmm the staff.

Room Tip: Some rooms are warmer than others I like a cool bedroom which we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidFairholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Was given a present of a 1 night break for Christmas in a standard room with dinner bed & breakfast. At check in we were offered an upgrade - I wish we had taken it as the standard rooms are a bit dull and in need of an upgrade - we did have a sea view, but very noisy with the sea winds blowing all night - but you can expect this we were in Scotland in January, but the rooms were immaculately clean and the bedding was lovely and we had a good nights sleep.

The food was excellent, both the 3 course dinner and the cooked Scottish breakfast - included haggis, black pudding and potato scones all really good.

Lots of lovely hotels for the same price or cheaper in Scotland so do not think I will be back.

Room Tip: I would upgrade to a deluxe room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelholicDuntocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had an excellent dinner, bed & breakfast deal at this Hotel (a Christmas present from family). From being met on the steps by Tom the Concierge with a very warm welcome to all the lovely staff in the reception, Bar/lounge and Restaurant through to the time when we went home, we couldn't fault the service. It was extremely cold in Troon but we were very warm and cozy in the hotel. A really relaxing break for us. Food at dinner was really good and we so enjoyed our breakfast in the conservatory looking out across the golf course to the sea.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillibet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights during late November and had a fantastic stay. Reception greeting was excellent and the food for both breakfast and evening meals was freshly prepared and of a high standard. We were allocated a very comfortable sea facing suite with excellent views over Royal Troon golf course. Plenty of on site car parking and a warm ambience throughout the hotel made for a memorable stay despite the wet and wild Scottish weather that week. We will definitely use this excellent hotel again and well done to the management and staff for their wonderful service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunsearcher55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a couple of nights here. Pre arrival was a bit shambolic, difficult to get through by phone to the spa for a booking and no reply to an email service they offer for spa bookings. Got called by the hotel to say that the pool was out of action for our stay so did we want to cancel? we phoned back to say no we still needed to come, and they had gone ahead and cancelled our booking! The hotel was badly smelling of resin from the pool repairs, I was glad that we were not eating in the restaurant that evening.
We had a deluxe room with a nice view. I would not want to stay in a lower standard room with no view. The room was shabby and in need of an update to furniture, furnishings and bathroom, thats why it doesn't seem like a 4 star hotel. The bar area and restaurant area were nice.
The leisure centre needs updating, and the spa area needs to be reconfigured for more privacy and access to changing facilities.
On the positive side the staff were very welcoming and friendly, the hotel and our room were clean and the breakfast was one of the best I have had, freshly cooked Scottish breakfast to order. The location right on the golf course and next to the sea is very good. So I would stay here again but only in conjunction with an offer and in a deluxe room.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Frequenttraveller046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My son in law treat me and my daughter to an overnight stay - Bed Breakfast and evening meal and 2 treatments.

It was wonderful. Cheryl did my treatments and she was really lovely.....despite the age gap she made me feel really comfortablle and chatted away.

The eveing meal was beautiful - i had 3 course and was so full!

Gorgeous huge place with amazing views of the sea and The Isle of Annan i think the guy said......we had our breakfast looking out to sea :)

Would recommend this for a couple/or girl friends or mothers and daughter definitely.

Room Tip: Our room was on first floor - huge. Sea view. Was lovely - no complaints so cant help here sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou_7NorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
257 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
Price Range: $73 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing