We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent stay at the Marine Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay at the Marine Hotel”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were treated well. We had our 89 year old mother with us and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Rooms allocated were terrific and restaurant food was fantastic and served on realy hot plates which makes such a difference. We visited this hotel last year and am pleased to say that the service is still great.

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _jgxalloafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    625
    274
    124
    87
See reviews for
279
1,099
36
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Came to spend new year's day at the hotel. In the afternoon we wanted afternoon tea. Only tea and coffee being served - no cakes or biscuits not even a packet of crisps!! We had invited friends to join us for an afternoon tea. This was extremely disappointing. There were children with us and hard to explain why NOTHING to eat. A very poor show for the standard of hotel especially on a holiday!! Won't be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egreen38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Another new year celebration at the Marine..Lovely food and great band at the black tie ball!

They could just have a few more things organised for during the day, when the weather is bad the lounge gets very busy!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a superior room, as the normal rooms are very small! Corner suites are large but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and myself arrived at this hotel for a two night stay DBB Package,on the 2nd Jan 2013.Our first impression when we entered the hotel was pleasant as we were greeted by two lovely concerige gentlemen they pointed us in the direction of the reception,we were early in arriving at the hotel as we stayed the previous night at another hotel 10 minutes away.Reception staff done everything efficently to get our room ready for us for which we really did appreciate.
When we where given the key to our allocated room i could not believe this was a 4 STAR Hotel,the bed was tiny the room was tiny,very very basic stuff and this was supposed to be the best allocated room for us.I contacted reception they gladly showed us another room,on third attempted we took the room which was an addditional charge a night.We had no other choose but to pay.Food was okay but had to pay a supplement if you wanted a very nce dish, side orders were also extra.In the arran lounge the bar staff were taking small lunch orders,and tea,coffee's and then forgot what table they were going even with drink orders,no relaxing atmosphere staff seemed to be harrassed and was not what guests need, overall will not be returning shame as i was really looking forward to this break away.

Room Tip: Suite rooms only,only chance of getting a decent size room and bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzie11007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in the Marine for 3 nights over New Year. It is an excellent hotel in every way. Staff were friendly and efficient- clearly trained and managed very well. They were an excellent team. Our room had everything you would wish including a great view over the golf course to the sea. The food was first class on every occasion including on Hogmanay. Along with the swimming pool, the spa, the piper and entertainment provided on two evenings, the hotel could not have done more to make this a New Year stay to remember- and to be repeated!

Room Tip: Rooms with the view of the golf course and sea are particularly pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here during my 50th B Day trip. Played the local course Darley and of Course Royal Troon and the Portland Course @ Royal Troon. The food was very good and the service was very friendly. They had a nice little pub with an excellent selection of scotch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huskerfan8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed over Christmas, 2012.
We were met at the door by Walter, the doorman. Resplendent in his tartan trews, Walter is a great asset to the hotel, as the first point of contact for new guests. He is cheerful, welcoming and helpful: a good foretaste of what is to come.

Staff at the hotel are can-do people.

Very friendly, professional staff at reception booked us in and directed us to our room on the third floor via the lift, to be followed by Walter, who brought us our luggage.

The room divided opinion between me and my wife. I liked the quirky, attic-roofed look of it. In the corridor, the doors all have one top corner cut off to accommodate the sloping roof. Likewise, in the room, the ceiling slopes near the window wall and the bathroom is irregularly shaped. There was not enough room in the bedroom for two suitcases, but the handy large alcove in the bathroom was perfect to set up the trestle for mine, leaving my wife's near the bed.

TV was a new, large HD LCD affair with lots of news channels and all the BBC3, ITV3-type offerings. No foreign-language channels, though (lo siento a los espanoles, pardon pour les francais, es tut mir leid fur die Deutschen, etc!)

Tea and coffee facilities and a trouser press (who uses these things? I tried once, many years ago, and it made absolutely no difference to my trousers at all. But I digress.) Perhaps a minibar and safe might be more useful?

Great sea view from both bedroom and bathroom windows.
Fantastic water pressure for both shower and bath, although the bath was too small for me to enjoy it properly (I'm 5'9"). Was a bit worried I might bang my head on the sloping part of the bathroom roof when I was in the shower, too, but in the event I emerged unscathed every time. Shower is a very modern unit.

A good test of hospitality is how well staff look after the details even when the hotel is completely full: top marks to the Marine Hotel, then, as the place was packed over Christmas and their standards never dropped. Always friendly, never forgot our names, always helpful.

We were on half-board. Breakfast was great. Buffet of cereals, fruit, cold meats, cheeses, pastries, muffins and croissants, plus a hot breakfast cooked to order and served at your table.
Dinner was equally good. This is seriously decent food. The house white, a Chilean Sauvignon Blanc is £18 a bottle or so, and is lovely. Service is very attentive but not intrusive. All the waiting staff are very good, and Emma Louise shines as a star among them. She is very young, and needs to be for all the energy she expends, zooming about, unfailingly cheerful. I hope they are feeding her well, as well as paying her wages!

Location: fantastic views out to sea and of the golfers bashing their balls with golf-sticks on the famous links. Bit of a hike into town for shopping: take the car.

Fire alarm at 5:00 am one night had us all huddled in the car park until fire engines arrived. Turned out to be a false alarm. I was a bit anxious when they said that the sensors in the rooms were very sensitive and that one must have tripped the alarm. I hoped that didn't mean it would happen every night, though thankfully it didn't.

My wife tried the leisure pool and only reported minor gripes. Firstly, the pool was very shallow indeed in the shallow end; so much so that it was difficult to swim lengths. She banged her knees off the bottom of the pool as she got near the end to turn around again! Good for children though.
Nice jacuzzi and steamroom and a small sauna. Showers are average and changing area is clean and spacious with hairdryers. However the spinner-dryer for swimwear, at least for ladies, is located in the toilet area and once you are dressed you have to walk past the showers again and to access this with outdoor shoes on you have to put on plastic covers over your shoes which is slightly inconvenient.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are "hobbit-esque" but the front ones offer amazing views, so balance up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Filosofo1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
13.5 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,431 reviews
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing