We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Experience (John & Lizzie from Harrogate)”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Exceptional Experience (John & Lizzie from Harrogate)”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights (23, 24, 25, 26 December 2012) and we can't praise the Marine Hotel and staff enough. (1) The food & restaurant were fantastic. There was a lot of variety for breakfast, cooked food which you ordered & a buffet with cereals, fruit and so on. Lunch and dinner were both 5 star quality with lots of choice. (2) The hotel and rooms were excellent. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was modern and very clean. The indoor heated pool was also a nice bonus. (3) What stood out the most though was the exceptional service we received and the friendliness of the staff. Each and every member of staff was wonderful. My partner was poorly while we were there and she was taken aback by the kindness and attentiveness she was shown. We will definitely visit the Marine Hotel again and highly recommend the full board Christmas break. We thank the staff for our memorable stay and give this hotel a five star rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    641
    285
    138
    96
See reviews for
290
1,130
37
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have been looking for a short weekend stay in a hotel with comfort.
First of all a big thanks to Heather at the reception, great help for ideas for sightseeing in the area. And many thanks for the room up grade in low season period.
We had a great stay and can recommend the hotel for location, service and friendliness.

The only little minus was the one mattress was about 10 cm lower than the other, after reporting to the reception, "it has been worked on the problem" but was not 100% solved.

Overall great stay, we would come back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank-Durstewitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Had an overnight spa break at the Marine hotel. The hotel is lovely & in a beautiful location. Our break included dinner & breakfast which were delicous...definetly value for money. The staff were very friendly & helpful especially when the fire alarm went off just as we were about to get our first spa treatment. Will definetly be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed for one night only but would definitely have liked to stay for longer. The staff make this hotel, attentive but not obtrusive, nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant serves great food. We had a lovely buffet lunch on our first day which was well prepared, fresh and scrumptious-vegetable lasagne was a hit with all our group. We also had dinner and the menu is first rate with plenty of choice, featuring great local produce. The rooms are clean with a very comfortable bed. Not being on a main road, this hotel is really quiet so perfect for a great nights sleep.
Definitely recommend this hotel and would love to return.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good but ask for one near reception if you don't want to walk too far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wunderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Gorgeous castle-style hotel right overlooking the coast and the Royal Troon golf course. Rooms are well sized and the bathrooms are spacious for the UK. I'm broad shouldered and had plenty of room in the shower. FANTASTIC gym for working out. I was a little upset to see that they didn't have Guinness in the bar, but you can get it most other places. Rooms are cheap in the off season, but bring a warm coat and rain jacket. Breakfast was ok, my "eggie in the basket" was hard boiled (should be soft boiled) so the bread "soldiers" didn't help much. Dinner in the bar was pretty good, I didn't get a chance to eat in the main restaurant (maybe closed in off season? - not sure). My allergies picked up a bit over the week, could have been local plants or could have been the age of the hotel rooms. Mattress seemed a bit old (a little lumpy in places) but worked well enough. I still had a wonderful stay either way.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor and while the elevator is quick, try to get a room on a lower floor to save...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gifford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had an overnight her with family and we all enjoyed the stay. Food was brilliant, great choice and superb quality. Rooms were clean and functional and the service was also excellent. The best power shower I have experienced in a hotel for a long time. Will definately return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKSAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

just returned from an overnight stay and wanted to say what a great time i had. super service, comfy room, great food. lovely hotel with stunning views. very professional staff.Juliet and Fiona were terrific.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1ScarletRibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
495 reviews
13.5 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
5.1 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing