We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We enjoyed our two night DB&B stay - the hotel was very comfortable and the staff friendly. The dinner and breakfast were tasty. The hotel room was very comfortable. The view from the hotel room was excellent - the Golf Course and Arran!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,093)
There are newer reviews for The Marine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,446 - 1,452 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We recently stayed at the Marine Hotel in Troon as part of our trip around Scotland. The hotel and its surrounds are excellent. The service at the hotel from check in to check out was superb. All the staff were professional, friendly and attentive to our every need. They went out of their way to make our stay exceptional. The quality and comfort of our guest room as well as all of the lounge and bare areas were excellent. The leisure facilities were top class and gave our stay that little bit extra. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the selection and range of food was very high. The wine list although small provide some very satisfying choices to match our food. We had a wonderful and I would recommend the Marine Hotel highly.

Room Tip: Try to book a room that overlooks Royal Troon Golf Course.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A great location on the beach and golf course. It's a short hike to beach as the golf course runs b/t hotel and beach so you have to walk down a few blocks to public beach access or drive and park in the parking area there. Short trips to tourist areas near Troon, Glasgow, Ayr. Check in was smooth. Signed us up for a table for dinner right away. Room was small but big enough for 2. Bed was very uncomfortable but hotel was booked so we couldn't switch rooms. Bathroom was nice and clean, removable shower head, closeup mirror attached to wall a nice extra. They only give you one bath towel so ask for extras. Plenty of hot water too! Was very chilly so we used the radiator heat, however the floor curtains draped over it when we closed them at night. Had to pile them on window so heat wasn't trapped behind curtain! They need to be shortened permanently. Loved the tea service with hot pot built into desk. Cookies, tea, sugar, creamer restocked daily ... a plus for a tea-drinker like me :) Room had a pants press on wall as well as iron. Big TV, but no clock radio. No outlets next to the bed, so have to charge cell phones at the desk. Internet was fast but have to sign in again every two hours or so. Cell phone signal was fair but can carry text messages easily. Restaurant was overpriced for the amount of food served, but the food was very, very good. Short drive into Troon for fish n chips and other restaurants and pubs. Lounge area very comfortable and spacious. Didn't use the pool, but looked nice. Look for conceirge Walter. He's fabulous and oh so friendly and knowledgable. Property looks like a castle with winding hall ways to the rooms. Chance are good you'll NOT have a view b/c of this, so specifically ask for a room with golf course or beach view if that's important to you. Long deck with plenty of seating at front of property overlooking beach. Great for sunsets as faces directly west.

Room Tip: If a view is important, ASK for a room with one because most have views of roof or alleys due to the...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wongs1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Having received a voucher for champagne afternoon tea we decided to book for an overnight to have more time to enjoy the spa/leisure facilities available.

We requested that our tea be put back half an hour which they did without any problems. They catered well for our dietary needs and staff were also helpful when asked for a box/bag to take away the cakes we couldn't quite finish at the time.

The staff in the beauty/spa facilities were very accommodating. We enquired about the early bird offer which was available from 9.00am - 1.00pm. The staff advised that they had no appointments left during these times but were happy to offer us treatments for the early bird rate later in the day.

The only area which perhaps let them down slightly was the service in the lounge/bar area but this was only a minor issue and did not detract from the overall experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were staying for the weekend and we had a meal booked for Friday and Saturday evening,the service on the Friday was terrible,despite complaints the poor service continued. We were in a party of twenty seven and there seemed to be a problem with not having the wines available that we chose from the wine list which was also dissapointing. I could not underfstand why this hotel had not ensured that they had the staff available or the wine available as they knew such a large party was coming to stay well in advance.

On the Sunday morning I was told another member of our group that they had to wait over 1 hour 30 minutes for a cooked breakfast,eventually they got up and walked out,what is going on here?

We ordered breakfast in our room on Saturday morning,this was also very late arriving,this is not acceptable when you have plans to go out at a specific time. The fried eggs were all dried up.

My husband and I were not looking forward to a second night of dining at the hotel but as our hosts had made sure the hotel knew they had let us down the night before there appeared to be a massive improvement in the level of service. This change in service made all the difference to the Saturday night meal.

The standard in the room was not all it could have been,there were cracks in the floor tiles(room 27) and they were coming loose. There were lots of dirty hand prints on the back of the bathroom door which was a little off putting. No pen or paper or shoe cleaning kit (as mentioned in the information in the room. These may be only small things but when you add it to the whole experience it left me with a feeling of a lack of care.

The weekend as a whole was a great success but this was mainly due to our kind hosts and our day at Ayr races etc. This hotle needs to buck its ideas up.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a view,we got the view of a small yard and bins etc. Another member of ou...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

As part of a special birthday celebration, we were given a voucher for Champagne afternoon tea at the Marine Hotel, Troon. Having previously stayed there we were looking forward to good service. After checking they had a gluten free option, we booked in advance for 2.00pm on a Sunday.

We arrived about 10 mins early so were prepared to wait. By 2.30 we were still waiting, and had witnessed 2 women with young children complaining that they had waited 30 mins for soup, which arrived 10 minutes later and was returned as it was cold. A manager was called, who I subsequently overheard saying that they were rather busy and it wasn't the front of house staff fault for the delay - not quite the apology I would have expected. During that time, people from another 3 tables also approached the staff to ask if they could place an order, all being told to take a seat and someone would be with them shortly, which didn't happen.

The table behind us ordered sandwiches, but when they arrived it was the wrong order. Another 3 ladies (one heavily pregnant) entered around 2.30 and also produced a voucher for afternoon tea. They were served within 10 minutes but again the sandwich order was wrong - they had requested some without butter but all arrived with butter.

At around 2.35 after clearing other tables around us, a waitress came and took our order. Plates arrived, followed by cups, then a pause until the sandwiches and cakes arrived. It was not obvious which were gluten free and about 10 minutes later I had to ask if she could find out for me. By 3.05pm we finally got our pots of tea.

The sandwiches were a good mix and plenty of gluten free ones available. My other half was able to select from fruit scones and the 4 other cakes and I was left with 3 small shortbread rounds - quite a disappointing selection.

So after waiting an hour and watching the rest of the customers walk back and forth trying to get attention, we left and called in to the local Morrisons supermarket about 5 minutes away. There I found at least 6 gluten free cake items including Rocky Road, Millionaire's shortbread and Macaroons.

So not the best afternoon tea and I couldn't honestly recommend it on the service we and other guests received.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellietheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hi, just a note about my short stay in the Marine Hotel. I was booked into another hotel for my daughters wedding the next day but there was no vacancies for the night before so We booked into the Marine for a night and had a nice comfortable stay.Firstly when I came to book in, I was told there was no room booked in my name, which I know was because there was three rooms booked at the same time, and the other two couples got their rooms ok, but another room was found for me and all was ok,(but I wonder what would have happened if they had been fully booked?)When we got to our room I really liked the view over the golf coarse, even if you never played the game you would still like the views.Room was clean, and bed was comfy, no problems. Breakfast was the usual buffet style,cereal, croissants, egg, sausage, mushrooms etc etc, really nice and no complaints. Did'nt get a chance to use the Spa, but my wife did on a previous stay, and said it was great. So all in all had a nice comfortable stay and would return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking golf coarse.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spikeyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.2 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,536 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
5.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Troon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Troon
#4 Family Hotel in Troon
Price Range: $74 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing