We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,252)
Filter reviews
2,252 results
Traveler rating
954
683
328
171
116
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
954
683
328
171
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiestwo fat ladiesgolf coursesteam roomdeluxe roomspa treatmentsleisure cluban upgradesea viewafternoon teabar arearelaxing breakbirthday treatlovely hotelshort breakfirst classfantastic views
Filter
Updating list...
1,785 - 1,790 of 2,252 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We had a one night stay in Troon and stayed in the marine , and I must say the staff in the entire hotel from the reception to the spa were excellent , we paid for an upgraded room and were not disapointed , the food in the main restaurant was first class as was the service . We will return !!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmygf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineGM, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Thank you for your great review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed at the Barcelo Marine Hotel for a 3 night break and had a lovely time, the room was immaculate although would have loved a view over the beach and golf course but this didn't spoil it. The staff were lovely and the food was excellent. We took advantage of the spa and booked a back massage and hot stones which was very relaxing. Would definately go back but would love a room with a sea view next time. Great location for relaxing walks along the beach no matter what the weather with the local town within easy access. Will go back in the summer hopefully to make the most of the beach. Full cooked breakfast is a must with fresh hot food with plenty choice, the porridge is lovely. All staff very friendly and helpful who attended to all our needs. Thanks for a great stay, definately be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineGM, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Thank you for your great review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Perfect views, relaxing spa, superb food, excellent service, very courteous and helpful staff in September. Therefore returned to the same standard with an a superb upgrade and champagne on arrival in November. Couldn't ask for more, will be booking again in the New Year. Don't miss this jewel in Ayrshire. Thank You.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineGM, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Thank you for your great review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in 2012.
Kind Regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Booked a three night break 6th to 9th September, through Superbreak and got avery good rate however on arrival at the hotel we where told that they had no record of our booking even though I had confirmation from Superbreak both by post and email and to cap it all they where fully booked, as you can imagine we were rather shell shocked, however the hotel receptionist very quickly redeemed the situation by organising us a room at the nearby 5 star Lochgreen House and promising us a seaview room when we returned next day. On our return to the Marine Hotel we where met with another apology as we checked in and where told that dinner that evening would be compliments of the hotel, we where given our key and off we went to the room, when we got there we discovered we had been given the Mark Calcevecciah suite which overlooks the 18th green of the troon golf course and within minutes of getting to the room a bottle wine was delivered with a note from the hotel manager , all very impressive considering what we had paid for our break. The room had everything you would expect being a suite including plasma tv's in both the bedroom and sitting room, a large comfortable bed and fantastic views out across the golf course and across the sea towards the isle of Arran.

Their are excellent leisure facilities within the hotel including heated pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna all of which we made good use of. The hotel bar serves a good range of bar snacks in comfortable and relaxing surroundings and although not the cheapest, given the location good value for money. Dinner was very nice although not necessarily what we would choose if paying for it ourselves, breakfas howevert was excellent with the full scottish breakfast and selection of cereals etc. to choose from.

Over all we had an excellent stay and would happily return again, I have to say that the hotel is a credit to its management and staff and they went over and above all reasonable expectation to put right an error that was made.

Room Tip: A sea view is well worth requesting
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineGM, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that we did not have a record of your booking when you arrived at the hotel however I am delighted in the way in which the team handled the situation. I have used your experience as a great example of how to turn a potentially bad experience into a positive guest experience.
I hope we can welcome you again in the future and once again thank you for your understanding and feedback.
Kind Regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed in the Barcelo Troon Scotland for the w/end and we were not dissapointed it was first class, arrived Fri pm we were giveing room 202 suite and what a beautifull room and it was HUGE with its own lounge 3pc suite fridge biggest TV In the world,fantastic views over the golf course and out to sea.Bathroom was what I would have expected from this hotel.Dinner on Fri night was 1st class and the staff very friendly and the bar staff were also on the ball.But Sat night they could have done with extra staff in the bar.Take note if you want to use the spa facilties when you arrive its best to book in advance as we found it fully booked all weekend but still worth a visit even the pool and gym.Breakfast on both morning was super nice and HOT and fresh.Again worth the visit a 15 min walk in to Troon town with plenty of craft shops to browse or spend your money lots of coffee shops and a very quaint town to see.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Golf course and the sea have the best views
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineGM, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Thank you for your great review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews