We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Indian EVER”
Review of Maharani

Maharani
Ranked #15 of 47 Restaurants in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
irvine scotland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The best Indian EVER”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We have been customers of the Maharani for over 20 years and have NEVER had a bad meal, The owners are lovely and always make you very welcome. We actually moved to Irvine nearly 5 years ago and still wouldn't go anywhere else for an Indian meal, sit in or take-away.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank moorieIrvineScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    47
    18
    6
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troon in Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven !!!!!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We have always gone to the maharani in the 20 years they have been open. The food is amazing as well as the staff. The staff always go out of their way to ensure that they can give the best possible service they can. As well as a restaurant, they also deliver and the food is always on time and of good quality. They even do outside catering which we have used in the past for a 40th party. Food to try is the chasnie, kasmirie korma and their pakora is divine. Make sure you do not leave without trying a sweet nan. The spiced onions that you get with the poppadoms are amazing. They are just right!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank soup25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant!!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We've lived in and around Troon for many years although I come from south east England & I honestly believe that this is among the best Indian restaurants you can find! Despite coming from an area that boasts many superb Indian restaurants I can't recommend the Maharani highly enough. The chicken mirch korma is amazing (amongst many other dishes but I just can't go past it!...), the staff are lovely and the smell when you walk in is divine! highly recommended and was refurbished very recently - enjoy :)

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jooles_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AWFUL!!”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Without doubt this was the worst "Indian" meal I have had for over 20 years. The sambols were limited to a few slices of onion coated in poor quality tomato ketchup, a sauce based on poor quality tomato ketchup and a pineapple ring! Only one of the four main courses was of reasonable presentation, but this was tasteless. The other three dishes tasted of, yes, you've guessed, poor quality tomato ketchup! One of these courses was inedible. We let the waiter know our thoughts and he offered alternatives, which we declined. The bill was not itemised, but scrawled on a scruffy piece of a paper. As one of the meals was not eaten at all, we requested that it was removed from the bill. Only at this point did the Manager become involved. He had no comprehension of customer service, and proudly proclaimed that he had not received a complaint in 21 years. Somehow I cannot believe this.
Awful food and service. Recommend only to people you dislike.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank devizesbluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

If you like indian food, don't go. Every dish flavoured with what could only be described as, tomato ketchup !!

When complained the manager was adamant that he had never had a bad review in 21 years.

He obviously hadn't looked at this site like we didn't before we went, oh how we wish we had!!

AVOID AVOID AVOID !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivehad2many
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharani also viewed

Prestwick, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
Troon, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing