We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little cafe”
Review of Velvet Apple - CLOSED

Velvet Apple
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Velvet Apple is our cafe/restaurant serving fantastic, locally sourced food that passes our high standards, delivered with a smile by our team of dedicated staff. We are open every day for coffee and totally scrumptious homemade cakes, also freshly prepared delicious lunches. We also open every Friday for our West End nights and every second Saturday for a themed night!
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Popped into this cafe for a late lunch on a rainy day and really liked it.
Though we were the only customers sitting in, the friendly staff and the quirky atmosphere brightened the place up. My fiancé and I shared their fish board for two which was delicious and plentiful. The Velvet Apple is worth popping into for lunch or dinner when visiting Troon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodaholic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
velap4, Owner at Velvet Apple, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your excellent feedback. We strive to produce quality, fresh produce and it is always a huge compliment to us when our customers enjoy our food. We hope to see you back again soon, please check our Facebook page for upcoming themed nights.

Kindest regards

Gill Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    31
    13
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious meal and lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had lunch here recently and thoroughly enjoyed the food and cosy atmosphere. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Meringues delicious! Definitely be back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou1696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Visited Troon with friends and had been told about Velvet Apple by a family member. Well I wasn't disappointed had a fantastic meal loved the menu. Food was exceptional and the staff very experienced couldn't have done enough for us. Enjoyed our evening so much that we called in again the next day for coffee and freshly baked cup cakes.... So lovely. Would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
velap4, Owner at Velvet Apple, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your great comments. We are always delighted to welcome visitors to our town especially when you have enjoyed your experience. We hope to see you back in Troon very soon,.

Regards

Gill Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious food and quirky little place”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great food and good service. A warm welcome as we entered and were seated promptly. The hot chocolate is very rich and was just the thing I needed to warm me up on the cold day that i visited. I will be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPBSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
velap4, Owner at Velvet Apple, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your very positive feedback. We try to offer quality food and great service, so when we receive great comments it really gives us all a boost. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Gill Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A good word for a change”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch here today , we heard someone in the restaurant talking about this web page and I have to say I don't agree with the reviews under £9 for two , what can you buy these days for that .
Good food and service they could not have do enough.
We will be back .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank john12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Velvet Apple also viewed

Troon, South Ayrshire
 
Troon, South Ayrshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing