We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wee Hurrie

Wee Hurrie
Ranked #3 of 47 Restaurants in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Fish was fantastic. Everything was fresh and delicious. Staff are friendly. Perfect location. Will definitely be back and would recommend to anyone

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sxottish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    107
    39
    22
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We Will Hurrie Back.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

No axe to grind, took the Mrs who is so hard to please, this is our 6th/7th time at this wee chippy
Last Wednesday day after the wife's birthday. Nice walk along the beach then around 16.00. Fresh fish lovely chips doon on the quayside.
I am NOT a Fish fan....but I have to say,,,,,it was the best FISH & CHIPS I have had .
The Mrs was Happy so I was Happy.
Next time in Troon,,,,,which is regular as we nip over to Ireland on the P&O and always stop NOW on the return journey before heading back up the road ...
So to George 530 you must be unlucky or have bad karma.
If some thing is rubbish I am the first to voice it,,,so far so excellent

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dhb47tak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“simply the best”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The best fish & chips we've ever had, the Monkfish, especially. Been numerous times & the standard has always been extremely high.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Possibly the worst chip shop i have been in. The chips were so hard ,i broke my plastic fork i was using. The seabass in beer batter was far too greasy. I actually had to put it in the bin. I was so disappointed as i had heard it was really good. I will not be back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chips”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We've searched long and hard for good fish and chips since returning to SW Scotland to live.
My hair dresser recommended The Wee Hurrie and I'm so glad that she did.
Everything is totally fresh. In fact the shop is at the end of the dock area, adjacent to where the trawlers unload their cargo - hard to get fresher than that.
The nice thing is the choice of fish... cod, haddock, sole, salmon, monkfish and more. The monkfish is my favourite but everything is excellent. Not oily at all and nice crispy chips.
It's all cooked to order so expect to wait for a short while, longer when it's busy.
We go either a weekday lunch time or early weekday evening 4.30 is when it's not to busy.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craig p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wee Hurrie also viewed

 
Troon, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Wee Hurrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing