We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Swan

The Swan
Ranked #3 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Troon
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

£4.75 menu - so not expecting much. Just cooked and tasty.
What did I get - tasteless mash (queried with staff - well ask if you want us to put butter in it - people have problems if we just make it in any other way!) Waiter did not ask me if I would like anything in it = a tasteless mash. Sprouts, carrots boiled to death. Peas - you can guess. Tomato undercooked with tough skin. Pineapple burned to death - hardly edible.
A good note - the fried egg was lovely - probably the only thing cooked to meet the order.
I left most of it on the plate. When I suggested that the mash was tasteless the waiter said you should ask us to add salt and butter to the mash; if that's what you want.
As I won't be going back it seems worthless advice to me.
IMHO

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    47
    21
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“My Favourite Restaurant in Troon”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Love this restaurant, best place to eat. Food always brilliant, good potions, freshley made, staff very nice 5 star!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glasgowmarymartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went here for lunch. We had a long walk and decided to eat before heading back. We have never been before. The staff were excellent and the lunch deal was £4.95. Food was fresh and tasty. Excellent will visit again.

Helpful?
Thank steph27Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb food and excellent value”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The ill-advised take away menu boards at the entrance do The Swan a great injustice. Don't be put off by them for inside you'll find a great menu, friendly staff and high quality freshly cooked food. Really can't fault this place: as a family of four we ordered a variety of mains and puddings all of which were wonderfully presented and tasted superb. Finally, don't be put off by the low prices...Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DLS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

On a visit to Troon and not wanting to eat in the hotel, my mother and her friend took myself and my daughter here for a meal. Where do I start,staff friendly and like to mix with its patrons without being intrusive, the food was excellent and value for money is an understatement, my mum n friend took the pensioners option, good deal, where as I had the evening special deal that was two course for the price of one main. My daughter had the kids meal that when it arrived some adults might have struggled. Decor suits the area, plenty of golf pics. If your ever in Troon give this place a look in

Helpful?
Thank Gotham68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan also viewed

Troon, South Ayrshire
 
Troon, South Ayrshire
 
Troon, South Ayrshire
Troon, South Ayrshire
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing