We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed bag”
Review of Old Loans Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Loans Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Myself & my wife were given a voucher for an overnight stay evening meal & breakfast.

On arrival we were greeted at tne reception desk, checking in was very straight forward.

Entering the room, it was spotlessly clean and well laid out. A bottle of water and 2 apples were laid out for us, a nice touch. The only thing in the room that bemused me, was when my wife went to hang here coat in the wardrobe. Inside the wardrobe was a chest of drawers with the tea & coffe facilities on it.
Then i came across the reason for this, the ceiling at the window had water marks on the paint & an upright heater standing near by.

On retiring after the evening meal. I was woken early in the morning with back pain. This was due to the bed being a tad uncomfortable. My wife was of the same opinion. The bed was the only fault we had with the room.

Evening meal: We couldn't fault the Service, the staff were very poliet. The food was of an average standard, i suppose what you would expect from an overnight deal.
The breakfast was much the same as the evening meal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 511 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to the Loans which we purchased via a groupon deal

Pros
* great value deal
* Food is fantastic
* Hotel very clean and rooms decorated to a good standard
* Great shower

Cons
* I can't underestimate how uncomfortable the beds are!!! The mattress is so hard and i had the worse sleep I’ve had in a long time!
* After being awake from 630 am we went for breakfast just after 7. We were literally the only people there. I asked for a latte, and the reply i received was "We don't do lattes in the morning". Even if that were the case it's not as if the waiter "George" was rushed off his feet. Poor customer service if you ask me. Think he was more interested in reading his paper.
* Checked out before 9am, no "how was your stay" or anything remotely pleasant. Lacked a personal touch.

Disappointingly i won't be staying at the hotel again but i cannot fault the food, so would return for dinner.

If you change the beds then let me know.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruprecht83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Well after a busy Christmas and New Year with the family and friends it was just what we needed a nice quite night away.
Booked through itison.
Lovely room and lovely bar area with a relaxed feel to it so we just had to sit and a have a few wee drinks.
We then had dinner in the restaurant where there was a mix up with our order so we were given a complimentary drink for the delay.
Food was lovely but felt a bit cheated by the £8 supplement for the fillet steak.
Would I recommend it to my friends and family a big YES.
Only complaint was the bedroom was very warm and yes I turned the heating down. but still warm.

Room Tip: 106 really warm room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhkwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We found this hotel using a voucher deal and WOW. When we arrived we shown to a newly furbished room and the decor was outstanding. We booked our dinner time and relaxed for a while. We headed down for dinner, had a drink in the bar before being shown to our table. There was a great atmoshpere in the restaurant and the staff although busy were fantastic.

The meal was lovely and we headed back to the bar for a few more libations after dinner before turning in.

The following morning, breakfast was fantastic and again the staff were polite and helpful.

We loved our stay at Old loans so much we have booked to stay at one of the sister hotels "The Gailes" at the end of March.

I hope its as good as the Old Loans and we will be very happy

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisandandrea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is an ideal place to stay and eat, whether you pop in for lunch or stay over and have an evening meal we spent the 30th December here and had a great time fantastic choice of food on the menu and equally good choice on the wine list. The staff were very attentive the room clean and tidy with fresh fruit and bottled water in the room on arrival the breakfast in the morning was excellent and plenty of choice yet again would not hesitate to return keep up the good wok

Room Tip: we were on second floor next to the outside patio and seating area room overlooked front of inn but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

what a great w/end we had 1st the food was tremendous .and plentyful.great choice on offer.a great big thankyou to all the staff.they are all great.2nd the rooms are big and very clean .housekeeping are doing a great job.3rd the drinks great choice on offer .so keep up the good works ,and hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roblibbyfaescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed in the Old Loans for two nights to attend the new year base at their sister hotel the Gales, lovely and clean with friendly helpful staff and big warm rooms, our room was on the ground floor facing the road so we had a bit of traffic noise also the windows should have some sort of net curtain on them because if you are in the room with the light on anyone passing on the street can see in as my wife discovered when she opened the blind and there were two drunk men waving at her. When the mini-bus arrived to collect us the driver first could not get the door open then when he got it open he could not get it to shut, not his finest hour but he had never driven it before and no one had shown him how to work it, That apart we had a very nice couple of days thanks to all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as front ones face a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pettuddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
1.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,122 reviews
1.5 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.5 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Loans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Loans Inn

Address: 31-33 Main Street | Loans, Troon KA10 7EX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Troon
Price Range: $90 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Loans Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Old Loans Inn was named 'Small Hotel of the Year 2014' at the Scottish Golf Tourism Awards and continues to be one of the popular choices when staying in Ayrshire. Situated in the quaint village of Loans on the outskirts of Troon, this former Coaching Inn is the ideal base from which to explore everything Ayrshire has to offer. Owners SimpsInns transformed the Old Loans Inn by introducing 20 stunning new bedrooms, complete with full mod cons and some of the finest bedrooms in Ayrshire. At the same time, the owners were careful to retain the charm of the traditional Coaching Inn as the the Old Loans Inn remains a popular country pub and restaurant where customers return time and time again for the great menu choice. Relax by the real fire in the lounge area or take advantage of the sunken beer garden in the summer months. Guests enjoy complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel and in all bedrooms, where tea and coffee making facilities are available. Championship golf such as Open venue Royal Troon, Western Gailes, Glasgow Gailes, Dundonald Links and many other great courses are all close by. The busy towns of Troon and Ayr are nearby, Prestwick Airport is five minutes by car and Glasgow International Airport is 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Loans Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Loans Hotel Troon
Old Loans Inn Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing