We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“recharge your batteries” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Loans Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Loans Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“recharge your batteries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is an ideal place to stay and eat, whether you pop in for lunch or stay over and have an evening meal we spent the 30th December here and had a great time fantastic choice of food on the menu and equally good choice on the wine list. The staff were very attentive the room clean and tidy with fresh fruit and bottled water in the room on arrival the breakfast in the morning was excellent and plenty of choice yet again would not hesitate to return keep up the good wok

Room Tip: we were on second floor next to the outside patio and seating area room overlooked front of inn but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    123
    40
    11
    8
See reviews for
58
275
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

what a great w/end we had 1st the food was tremendous .and plentyful.great choice on offer.a great big thankyou to all the staff.they are all great.2nd the rooms are big and very clean .housekeeping are doing a great job.3rd the drinks great choice on offer .so keep up the good works ,and hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roblibbyfaescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonny Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed in the Old Loans for two nights to attend the new year base at their sister hotel the Gales, lovely and clean with friendly helpful staff and big warm rooms, our room was on the ground floor facing the road so we had a bit of traffic noise also the windows should have some sort of net curtain on them because if you are in the room with the light on anyone passing on the street can see in as my wife discovered when she opened the blind and there were two drunk men waving at her. When the mini-bus arrived to collect us the driver first could not get the door open then when he got it open he could not get it to shut, not his finest hour but he had never driven it before and no one had shown him how to work it, That apart we had a very nice couple of days thanks to all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as front ones face a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pettuddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

this was booked as a christmas night out for four couples we got the deal on itison. the staff were all great, food was excellent, restaurant was a bit warm at breakfast time.on the whole very nice and great value , will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 635gordonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

What can I say this hotel should have 5 stars I loved it from the min we walked through the door the customer service was very good a young girl with short dark hair was so friendly at the bar area and was on the next day for the breakfast shift would do anything for you.The hotel and rooms are very modern and cosy the gift bags in the rooms were a very nice touch the sound system in the rooms were funky food was amazing such a good atmosphere at the bells.The second night we got transported over to the Gailes Hotel I wasnt that fussed about staying it was not the same atmosphere as the loans so we left after our dinner and went back and had a laugh with other guests sitting at the fire and a lovely man George served us at the bar poor man was prob glad when we finally went to bed. I will certainly be returning to this hotel its a wee hidden gem.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mcgoldrickscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Took advantage of an isiton discount deal and spent a wonderful overnight stay in this Hotel.
Service at reception was good.The room was up to expectation-clean & tidy. Dinner even from the reduced deal menu was good & well served. Breakfast was promptly served & of good quality. All in all a good pre-Christmas break.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMBEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We've stayed at the Old Loans Inn several times & always find it a great little hotel. The staff are always friendly & helpful, the rooms very clean & comfortable and the food tasty, plentiful & freshly cooked. We were a bit disappointed to be given a room at the front of the hotel this trip despite requesting a rear room where there's no road noise at night....of course we realise that Christmas is a really busy time & the hotel probably full, but we had booked almost 3 months previously...despite this we still enjoyed our stay and would gladly recommend the hotel to all!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilzandDavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
1.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.5 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
1.5 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
5.9 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Loans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Loans Inn

Property: Old Loans Inn
Address: 31-33 Main Street | Loans, Troon KA10 7EX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Loans Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Old Loans Inn was named 'Small Hotel of the Year 2014' at the Scottish Golf Tourism Awards and continues to be one of the popular choices when staying in Ayrshire. Situated in the quaint village of Loans on the outskirts of Troon, this former Coaching Inn is the ideal base from which to explore everything Ayrshire has to offer. Owners SimpsInns transformed the Old Loans Inn by introducing 20 stunning new bedrooms, complete with full mod cons and some of the finest bedrooms in Ayrshire. At the same time, the owners were careful to retain the charm of the traditional Coaching Inn as the the Old Loans Inn remains a popular country pub and restaurant where customers return time and time again for the great menu choice. Relax by the real fire in the lounge area or take advantage of the sunken beer garden in the summer months. Guests enjoy complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel and in all bedrooms, where tea and coffee making facilities are available. Championship golf such as Open venue Royal Troon, Western Gailes, Glasgow Gailes, Dundonald Links and many other great courses are all close by. The busy towns of Troon and Ayr are nearby, Prestwick Airport is five minutes by car and Glasgow International Airport is 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Old Loans Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Loans Hotel Troon
Old Loans Inn Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing