We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hogmanay”
Review of Old Loans Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Loans Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic hogmanay”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

What can I say this hotel should have 5 stars I loved it from the min we walked through the door the customer service was very good a young girl with short dark hair was so friendly at the bar area and was on the next day for the breakfast shift would do anything for you.The hotel and rooms are very modern and cosy the gift bags in the rooms were a very nice touch the sound system in the rooms were funky food was amazing such a good atmosphere at the bells.The second night we got transported over to the Gailes Hotel I wasnt that fussed about staying it was not the same atmosphere as the loans so we left after our dinner and went back and had a laugh with other guests sitting at the fire and a lovely man George served us at the bar poor man was prob glad when we finally went to bed. I will certainly be returning to this hotel its a wee hidden gem.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mcgoldrickscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    129
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
61
293
11
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Took advantage of an isiton discount deal and spent a wonderful overnight stay in this Hotel.
Service at reception was good.The room was up to expectation-clean & tidy. Dinner even from the reduced deal menu was good & well served. Breakfast was promptly served & of good quality. All in all a good pre-Christmas break.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMBEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We've stayed at the Old Loans Inn several times & always find it a great little hotel. The staff are always friendly & helpful, the rooms very clean & comfortable and the food tasty, plentiful & freshly cooked. We were a bit disappointed to be given a room at the front of the hotel this trip despite requesting a rear room where there's no road noise at night....of course we realise that Christmas is a really busy time & the hotel probably full, but we had booked almost 3 months previously...despite this we still enjoyed our stay and would gladly recommend the hotel to all!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilzandDavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My husband and I have just had a break at this hotel.Our room and dinner were very nice but on coming down for breakfast in the morning we were approached by a gentleman(who we now know was the night porter)who explained that there was a staffing problem but that everything was in hand and that he the young lady who was on duty would try their best to provide us with whatever we wished for breakfast.My husband and I duly ordered and I have to say that it did not disappoint.Everything was perfect and the gentleman remained efficient and courteous throughout.They were both a credit to the hotel.I look forward to returning to The Old Loans and sampling the full cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Although the room we had was adequate we would have preferred one which didnt look out to the car pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weemarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
86 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Booked through Itison and wasn't quite sure what to expect, well can I say what a lovely surprise it was. A lot of time and money has been spent on this place to make it a lovely place to stay. Staff very helpful, rooms great very spacious. Nice bar downstairs and a lovely restaurant food excellent though £8 supplement for fillet a little steep. Breakfast freshly cooked will definitely return to this this little gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisrhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Booked through Itison and had a really enjoyable stay.Staff were very welcoming and helpful particularly when we arrived late on our first night.Breakfast and dinner portions were excellent and the Inn has a great atmosphere that guarantees we will return.

Room Tip: Avoid the bedroom first through the door as it is noisy as people pass to access their rooms further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willow123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed one night with a deal from "Itison". Lovely hotel, fab bedroom and bathroom. Had really nice dinner and very good breakfast the following morning. Staff extremely friendly. Would certainly return!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
1.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,039 reviews
1.5 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
1.5 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
238 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Loans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Loans Inn

Property: Old Loans Inn
Address: 31-33 Main Street | Loans, Troon KA10 7EX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Loans Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Old Loans Inn was named 'Small Hotel of the Year 2014' at the Scottish Golf Tourism Awards and continues to be one of the popular choices when staying in Ayrshire. Situated in the quaint village of Loans on the outskirts of Troon, this former Coaching Inn is the ideal base from which to explore everything Ayrshire has to offer. Owners SimpsInns transformed the Old Loans Inn by introducing 20 stunning new bedrooms, complete with full mod cons and some of the finest bedrooms in Ayrshire. At the same time, the owners were careful to retain the charm of the traditional Coaching Inn as the the Old Loans Inn remains a popular country pub and restaurant where customers return time and time again for the great menu choice. Relax by the real fire in the lounge area or take advantage of the sunken beer garden in the summer months. Guests enjoy complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel and in all bedrooms, where tea and coffee making facilities are available. Championship golf such as Open venue Royal Troon, Western Gailes, Glasgow Gailes, Dundonald Links and many other great courses are all close by. The busy towns of Troon and Ayr are nearby, Prestwick Airport is five minutes by car and Glasgow International Airport is 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Old Loans Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Loans Hotel Troon
Old Loans Inn Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing