We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay if planning a spot of Golf, or when on route to the Isle of Arran.”
Review of Old Loans Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Loans Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Cragg Vale
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A great place to stay if planning a spot of Golf, or when on route to the Isle of Arran.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Old Loans Inn on several occasions & will stay there again in the future. The standard of the accommodation & facilities are very good. The staff are friendly & courteous . It's an ideal place to stay if wanting to play the Golf courses ,or when on route to stay on the Isle of Arran, as it's only a short drive to the Ferry terminal.
We would highly recommend the Old Loans Inn, as being a good quality & value hotel.

Room Tip: Good location for Golf. Good location for the Ardrossan Ferry Terminal .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crooky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    130
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
62
293
11
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Husband and I had a lovely lunch - staff pleasant - we arrived during a lull and the young waitress was very busy but still managed to smile. Impressed we booked an evening meal for a couple of days later towards the end of our holiday stay.

The young male waiter was charming and the staff were a very friendly crew. Our meal was excellent and so was the wine. We got a taxi back to our holiday home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selina436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lovely 3 nights stay, probably the cleanest place ive ever stayed. Food was pretty good to. Cant wait to go back. Beware if you book BBD you have a limited choice on the menu. The sister hotel The Gailes was lovely to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our one night stay at The Old Loans Inn was very pleasant indeed. Meeting relatives who were flying from Prestwick airport dictated the location and we were not optimistic about the standard of accommodation we would find. The Old Loans Inn was a delight: modern, comfortable, lovely selection of food for breakfast, day time and evening meals and all at a very reasonable price. We left feeling we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 102 was very comfortable but husband noticed the noise of the lift!!! But then he would!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Very pleasant and clean rooms, staff very good nice roof sitting area. The only small downside was the selection of breakfast cereals could have been wider, would have liked more fresh fruit and nuts/yoghurts etc too.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night as stopover going to get ferry to Ireland. Picked because of good Tripadvisor reviews and not dissapointed. Arrived late afternoon and received a very warm welcome and assistance with luggage. Room (105 I think) overlooking main road. Thought that might be a problem but not disturbed at all by traffic noise although kept window open overnight. Room v large with huge comfortable bed and well appointed bathroom. Good lighting, plenty hanging space, big bath and magnifying mirror.
Menu on a big plastic card looked a bit 'pubby' as did a lot of the food choices but we decided to give the restaurant a go. My starter of haggis needs and tatties with a whiskey sauce was dissapointing. Very little haggis and swimming in a pretty tasteless glupy sauce. However for mains we both had one of the specials, poached plaice in a mushroom and cider sauce with parsley mash and an orange and watercress salad. Unusual and absolutely delicious. My husband had a dessert which was excellent as well. Good sized portions and excellent service.
The same was true at breakfast.. I asked for oatcakes and cappuccino with my breakfast, neither on the menu but no problems and no extra charge. The breakfast was delicious with fish options which we prefer as well as full cooked. A great start to the day.
My husband had to wait for a business file to come through on email so we asked if he could stay in the room a little beyond 11 till it arrived. Again reception agreed immediately and informed housekeeping.
All the staff were so helpful and friendly which made the stay most enjoyable.
I would have liked flannels and a showere cap in bathroom but that's just a tiny thing and I could have asked if they were available.
All in all a great start to our holiday and we will return and highly recommend.
Didn't use it but there's also a lovely courtyard seating area at the back which looks like a real sun trap.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishtraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

room 105 was comfortable with everything provided to make our time there special.all the staff were friendly and went out of their way to give us personal attention and made sure we had everything we needed,the food was delicious and plenty of variety.we felt we had 6 star treatment in a 4 star hotel.we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to relax and feel at peace in their surroundings.

Room Tip: ask at reception they are always helpful to provide your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
1.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,041 reviews
1.5 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Lochgreen House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
1.5 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
238 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Loans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Loans Inn

Property: Old Loans Inn
Address: 31-33 Main Street | Loans, Troon KA10 7EX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Loans Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Old Loans Inn was named 'Small Hotel of the Year 2014' at the Scottish Golf Tourism Awards and continues to be one of the popular choices when staying in Ayrshire. Situated in the quaint village of Loans on the outskirts of Troon, this former Coaching Inn is the ideal base from which to explore everything Ayrshire has to offer. Owners SimpsInns transformed the Old Loans Inn by introducing 20 stunning new bedrooms, complete with full mod cons and some of the finest bedrooms in Ayrshire. At the same time, the owners were careful to retain the charm of the traditional Coaching Inn as the the Old Loans Inn remains a popular country pub and restaurant where customers return time and time again for the great menu choice. Relax by the real fire in the lounge area or take advantage of the sunken beer garden in the summer months. Guests enjoy complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel and in all bedrooms, where tea and coffee making facilities are available. Championship golf such as Open venue Royal Troon, Western Gailes, Glasgow Gailes, Dundonald Links and many other great courses are all close by. The busy towns of Troon and Ayr are nearby, Prestwick Airport is five minutes by car and Glasgow International Airport is 40 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Old Loans Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Loans Hotel Troon
Old Loans Inn Troon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing