We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Loans Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Marine Hotel(Troon)(Great Value!)
$168
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$138
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkstone(Prestwick)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveler rating
320
139
51
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
139
51
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracejacuzzi bathsmall hotelgailes hotelsister hotelbeer gardenstayed here for one nightan overnight stayon arrivalhigh standardfirst classitison dealspacious roomstaff were attentivehotel is situatedsalmonfood was lovely
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 533 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Having just arrived home from an overnight stay in Hotel, I felt I had to write and say what an excellent place the Hotel is.I have to confess to not knowing about the area known as Loans, nor the Hotel, but I will certainly be singing the praises of the stafff and Hotel to all my friends.
From arriving at Hotel till leaving today, I was meet with professional, polite, helpful, and very approachable staff. Staff who knew their jobs so well, anticipated what was needed without customer having to ask, and throughout all the time making customer feel so welcome.Food in Restaurant was superb, ( from mushrooms stuffed with haggis , to lovely big jug of water with ice and lemon, to delighful Sticky toffee pudding!!)
Room was very spacious , with lovely colour scheme, and nice wee touches,-fresh fruit etc.So nothing but praise and would recommned place to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDISTRUTHERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for the first time and will be back again. I found the staff at the Inn extremely polite, friendly and approachable. From the moment we entered the Inn we received a warm welcome. The food at the restaurant was of high quality with a wide range to suit all tastes. The rooms were very spacious and clean and I had a great night's sleep. The breakfast in the morning was also perfect. I can't praise this Inn enough.The House-keeping staff must work very hard at keeping this place spotless. If management are reading this then please thank your hard working staff, they are a credit to your business.

Room Tip: We were in Room 215, if your tall then you might want to be careful of the sloping roof in this room. None of us that were on this trip were tall so we were fine :)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank you-did-ask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

we have stayed here since it opned nearly 3 years ago. as always it is fantastic. the staff are so friendly and good at their jobs. they have alwyas made us feel so welcome. be back soon. xxx rooms are lovely, beds comfy, modern, bathrooms are perfect. best hotel, and so homely and modern.

Room Tip: there is no fitness or pool. but that is not a prob. we would not want that. its a great time away only 55 mins from gourock. suits us any weekend,,,,,, try it . you'll b impressed. xx
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theboss360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our 4th stay at Old Loans Inn and delighted to say it was still great.

We arrived on a wet and wild day and were quickly checked in, bags dropped in our lovely room and then down to the bar area and plonked ourselves in front of the lovely open fire with hot coffee and home made pastries. Lovely.

The food in the restaurant was superb and great value as we chose from the "light bites" menu, which is allegedly smaller portions for a cheaper price. The portions were plenty big enough for us.

This trip for us was simply an overnight stay for pure relaxation, with no intention of leaving the Inn; and that's exactly what we had. We enjoyed a couple of drinks in the bar and read our books and the papers then retired to our room to freshen up before enjoying dinner in the restaurant. We then headed to our room to watch a movie with a glass of wine. Sheer bliss.

Staff very attentive, prompt and professional yet again. We will go back (soon).

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and slightly larger.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Booked a 2 night away stay for Xmas. Reviews looked great. Room was good value and staff were brilliant!

Food - Monday evening complained about 'steak' left most of it as it was tough. Nothing done. Rest of food excellent.

Xmas Dinner. Main course of beef - dry, tasteless and 50% fat. Complained - no action taken.

Breakfast - really good.

Probably didn't see hotel at its best - Xmas. Disappointed at lack of interest regarding my complaint. Bill was £350.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomdenovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill_campbell, Manager at Old Loans Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Further to your review I am sorry that you were disappointed with the quality of the food that you received on your recent visit to the Old Loans Inn. From previous reviews I am sure you will see that this is certainly not the norm for our food quality. As a privately owned business we do welcome feedback and I am sorry that the issues that you raised once highlighted to our team were not resolved whilst you were at the hotel. Please be assured that we will raise your comments with our team. I would be obliged if you could contact me, Gill Gallagher at our head office, The Gailes Hotel on 01294 204040 as I would like to restore your faith in our product and resolve the issues you have highlighted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews