We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-class chippy!”
Review of Pavilion Cafe

Pavilion Cafe
Ranked #13 of 47 Restaurants in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Larne, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First-class chippy!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Found The Pavillion Cafe by chance while our family were spending time in Troon while waiting on the ferry home to Larne. Good, old-fashioned, traditional food, not greasy, good sized portions and service with a smile! We will definately return here in the future!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    30
    10
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely little chippy”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Visited here many times before. Lovely chippy grub, friendly staff and decent prices. The place is always spotlessly clean. What more could you ask for in a chippy

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wullieboy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love Fritter Butties”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Very friendly and I love their fritter butties and their patter.. They also allowed us to put our poster up free of charge.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheLunans007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Must try harder”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very unimpressed, I've not been in visited here for the best part of a year and on this occasion it has put me off for atleast another.
It seems in Troon the more you pay in a chippy the worse the service and quality.

For some bizarre reason we placed our order twice last night, this should have been a sign of things to come. We waited for the best part of fifteen minute for our order to start being bagged up only to be told, it would be a minute for our haggis....or another ten as it turned out.

Instead of giving us fresh food it turned out our order had allegedly been kept under the heater, which in itself if a poor show, however it looked to us as if the bag had just been picked up off the floor.

By the time we got home the chips were cold and soggy and the rest of the order wasn't much better. Really disappointed and has put us off returning as there is plenty of choice in Troon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkoT1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Living in Troon, we visit here many times.
Orders are freshly cooked and are great value for money.
Nice , friendly staff who work hard to keep customers happy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DunTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavilion Cafe also viewed

Troon, South Ayrshire
Troon, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Pavilion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing