We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true iconic experience of fish ni chips.”
Review of Pavilion Cafe

Pavilion Cafe
Ranked #11 of 47 Restaurants in Troon
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A true iconic experience of fish ni chips.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Really great typical British experience. Was there last night with the wife and two kids. We all had a great meal i had the Special fish tea was given tons of bread, tea and biscuits as well. The kids got ice cream to all for under a score!!. Instead of going to Ayr for a day out come to Troon instead!!. Very friendly staff to a bit like going to your favourite Aunts or Uncles. you can also use the pun of 'my fish was this size' too.

Any Americans rolling into town for golf this is the place for you guys!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Euan1976Mcinnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    30
    10
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always fresh”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Everything is fresh and good portions....staff are efficient and friendly......prices are very reasonable....the eating area is always spotless...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Almost a blast from the past”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

After recently finding out that in February this year the pavilion cafe suffered a loss-the owners son Lui pioli passed away. The cafe is regaining the friendly atmosphere as it once had, still the same lovely staff but with a few new comers. But always welcome old and new customers ! I have been a regular to this shop for many years and know the family well so I can understand the once gloom faces. The cafe is almost back to its good old self, the meals are still as fab as they were and the fish is cooked to perfection ! So I feel that it's unfair to judge such a great cafe when going through such a tragic time ! I will continue my custom to them and recommend to ANYONE ! 10/10

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Troonsfinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best in Troon by far”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This cafe has the best fish & chips in Troon. We go here regularly for a fish tea & its always delicious, fresh & cooked to perfection. Only problem is that there isn't enough seating but it is well worth waiting. Tried others in Troon & they can be good but they are all hit or miss unlike The Pavilion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne311247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon
2 reviews
“Traditional”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Good old traditional fish and chip shop. Friendly, good service, lovely fish and chips! It was the first place we went before we moved to Troon in April and have been back several times since. Not just to sit in but for the take away service too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheLunans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavilion Cafe also viewed

Troon, South Ayrshire
Troon, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Pavilion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing