We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class in the most notherly part of the UK”
Review of Baltasound Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baltasound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baltasound Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baltasound
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had one night at this hotel and were pleased with our choice. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. Our room was comfortable and recently decorated, the bed comfortable. Decor was modern with nice bedding and a large bathroom.We ate here that evening and I must say that the Scalops were the best I have ever had. The meal was freshly cooked and the choice was good. No room for puds, too full! Breakfast was excellent. Would definatly stay here again, the location is spectacular.

Room Tip: Room no. 5 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltasound, Owner at Baltasound Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. It is most appeciated. And we are very happy you were not dissapointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 246 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

I admit my heart sank on first sight of the hotel. The pictures on the website are before the "makeover". You can see it for miles and I feel sorry for the neighbours.

This first impression was not improved on check in when we discovered that there was no broadband available and wouldn't be for the duration of our stay.

We were in one of the chalets. Lovely view across the sound apparently. However the chalets are all orientated to look at each other rather than the view. I guess we could have opened the frosted bathroom window to see it.

The room was freezing. We had to switch the heating on ourselves and we sat there in outdoor coats for half an hour. There was no heating at all in the bathroom - I rooted about in a cupboard under the sink and found a switch to turn the heated towel rail on which helped a bit.

The plumbing is plain odd. One tap controls the temperature of the water, the other turns the water on or off. We were unable to get anything more than tepid water out of the shower but as the white curtain was edged with black mould I didn't much fancy using it to be honest.

Although there were signs pointing out the cost of telephone calls, the phone itself was conspicuously absent and the hospitality tray didn't have any biscuits!

On the plus side the bed was comfortable, the bedding attractive and the room clean.

We were intending to eat in the retaurant. We were informed on check in that we would have to pre -order our meal and that the residents lounge would open at 6 and close after dinner had been served. This was no great loss, the room is very 1970s in decor and feel. The dining area is better though, some lovely views across the island.

Our pre-ordered food arrived promptly. I'd ordered a vegetable lasagne. It was bubbling on the surface but cold in the middle. My partner's meal of fish and chips was more successful.

To their credit I was offered a replacement dish and we were not charged for it.

Breakfast was OK. A range of basic anonymous cereals in dispensers, a bowl of fruit and a small selection of yoghurts. The cooked breakfast contained the usual basics and porridge available on request. but none of the extras like haggis and black pudding that we were offered at both the other places we stayed in Shetland. Strangely no oatcakes on the menu either.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltasound, Owner at Baltasound Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Thank you for taikng the time to give feedback on your stay. And can only apologise that you were not happy.
I will answer your points in the order you have made them.
The pictures on our website are current and up to date taken only a few months ago. I am sorry that the decor was not to your liking. Some like, some dont but that is personal preference.
Whilst broadband was not available in the chalets due to our external transmitter being inoperational, it was still available in the hotel public areas.
Yes all the chalets do point in towards one another. However you could see that on our website when you checked our pictures and obviously did not find it a big enough problem at the time to stop you making the booking. They were built long before the current ownership and whilst we are in agreement with you and would prefer them to point outwards also it is not something that we can change.
You say the room was freezing and had to switch your own heating on. Every room has its own individual heating which you are in total control over with no interference. It cannot be altered from any other place but the room.
"The plumbing is plain odd. One tap controls the temperature of the water, the other turns the water on or off." ?????? Sorry I do not know how to respond to problems with a simple mixer tap.
I totally accept your point on the shower curtain. You were the first occupants of that particular room since oct of last year and housekeeping obviously failed in their job when it was reopened. All shower curtains were due to replaced when you spoke to us about it upon checkout. This has now been completed in all rooms. Please accept our apologies that it was not done before your arrival.
When you stayed early may despite it possibly being late in other places, our season had not yet started and we were still running a restricted service which everyone who had reserved rooms
during that time were informed of. Hence the restricted times of the residents lounge and pre ordering of meals.
We are a small family hotel that cannot compete with the big chain hotels with armies of staff. What we can do is provide excellent customer service and food. The pre ordering of meals helped us do this by ensuring that all meals you were offered were cooked fresh and not pulled out of a freezer. That is why when you found a problem with the cooking of your meal it was immediately replaced with no fuss and not charged for.
Our residents lounge now (in season) is fully open. Nor is pre ordering required.
Cereals were not basic and anonymous. All (four) cereals are Kellogs products well labled for all to see and Alpen Muesli. They are in dispensers so that once again you can control how much you want rather being given a small cardboard box portion. The haggis and black pudding for breakfast is something that we are now looking to add on. It is something we have in stock and would happily have served you with if you had mentioned the lack of it at the time.
Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed in one of the cabins during our visit. The room was very quaint. The bed was comfortable and the staff very friendly. There were issues with the WIFI when we arrived, but after my husband talked with Steve (the manager/owner) things got sorted out. The lambs seen from the dining room and from our bathroom window put on quite a preformance frolicking in the field. My apologies to the chef for complaining about getting garden peas instead of mushy peas with my dinner (never had mushy peas before and thought would like to try them) turns out I am not fond of them anyhow. After dinner took a short stroll to the pier looking for the otters, got to see some seals instead. A local stopped to chat with us a while which was educational. After our stroll went to the bar for a drink which was relaxing. Driving the one track roads and taking the ferries to get here is well worth the effort.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed at the Baltasound hotel for 3 nights over Easter on what was originally meant to be a one night visit to Unst but upon arriving into the area and being completely taken in by the breathtaking scenery and remote,relaxing feel as well as an abudance of hikes to avid outdoor enthusiasts like ourselves and the amount of wildlife on our doorstep we just had to extend our stay.

We stayed in one of the cabins at the back of the hotel which we found to be superb,they are fully equipped with everything you could need i.e tea/hot drink making facilities,shaver point,a tv for unwinding in the evening as well as having a clean & modern bathroom/shower,comfortable beds and a heater that was really effective at keeping the room nice and toasty especially when the temperature dropped as low as it did during our stay.

I totally disagree with one of the previous reviews that states the cabins to be cramped and too small as we found them to be more than spacious for our needs with enough room to store all of our belongings which being trekkers is quite a lot of gear as well as being able to air all our wet clothes out and still have enough room to relax at the end of the day.

From the moment of arrival we found the staff to be very helpful,friendly,always keen to have a laugh and a chat with us and generally just very customer orientated and you could tell that they really want to make your stay as good as it can be and it was nice to have been able to unwind in the ajoining pub in the evening and meet some of the locals as well which I should add is also the most Northerly pub in the British Isles and coming from London I can tell you that it also has very very reasonable prices on Magners!.

We dined in the hotel resturant on two of the nights and the food was excellent,I really can't describe just how relaxing it was to sit in the dining room alongside the floor to ceiling windows having dinner as the sun went down over the Unst hills watching the bunnies skipping around,this was by far one of the hightlight of my stay,I should add also that the dinner menu is very reasonably priced and you get a generous portion as well which always left me stuffed!.

The breakfast each morning was delicious and set us up for our long days of trekking around and as with the dinners the portions were very generous and filling.

Conclusion:

Overall the Baltasound hotel was one of the best establishments that we have stayed at in Scotland and I don't say that lightly as we have been to the far reaches of Scotland as it had a number of simple but key factors nailed down which included a professional and customer orientated attitude amongst all of the staff who from arrival to departure were friendly,helpful and always up for a chat and actually took time to talk to you as people rather than some hotels which just see you as a number in a book,take this and the fact that it offered a menu of simple,local yet delicious food and all the comforts of home in one of the most remote places in Europe for very reasonable prices this makes it a winner for us and we will definitely be back when we take our next trip to Unst.

A few points:

1)To the person who was moaning about the shortage of milk in the cabin have you considered the possibility that if instead of moaning about not having a dairy farm by your bedside if you actually asked for more you would have received it? as when I ran short on milk and tea bags I just asked at the reception and was given the neccessary supplies without hesitation.

2)Take a walk down the lane to the Baltasound Pier as this is where we managed to see Common seals swimming around and playing quite a lot of the time on our trip and if you walk further along towards Baltasound itself there is a small pier with rocks leading into the water where we managed to film the seals out of the water on a few occasions.

3)Check out the hotel bar if you get the chance as its a cracking atmosphere and the drinks and reasonably priced!.

4)And finally if you get the chance take a walk up to the top of the hill at Keen of Hamar just along from the hotel as the views you'll get of the cliffs and also back over Baltasound (providing it's clear even for a few minutes) are like no other.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The most northerly hotel in Britain doesn't disappoint. I stayed in one of the cabins out of season. The room was clean and warm with everything you need. If you did find yourself missing something, you only need to ask the staff. Food in the restaurant was filling, tasty and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and worked hard to make my stay enjoyable. The owners are developing the hotel all the time to improve the visitor experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had a lovely weekend staying in one of the cosy chalets. Basic but all you need facilities. Back bar v good and the Unst folk make you really welcome

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Very comfortable and very well located; we felt warmly welcomed by the owner and his wife during our 3 nights there, they were humourous and kind. Dinner in the restaurant was filling, tasty and not too expensive. The most northern bar in the UK is attached to the hotel (Springers Bar) and if you feel like copious amounts of pizza and beer for dinner instead then that was the place to get it. We'll be back next time we're in Unst.

The Keen of Hamar Nature Reserve is a very short walk away and one of the highlights if you get there on a nice day!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JeStB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baltasound Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltasound Hotel

Address: Springpark Road, Baltasound ZE2 9DS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Unst > Baltasound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baltasound
Price Range: $63 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baltasound Hotel is a small family run hotel only a few hundred yards from Baltasound Pier and Marina. Its central location makes the hotel an ideal base for exploring Unst. The hotel offers accommodation in the modern inside rooms and Scandinavian style pine log cabins. Breakfast, afternoon tea & coffee as well as the evening meals are served in the hotel Restaurant and lounge. Every year we do everything to provide our guests with an outstanding service to make them feel welcomed like at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baltasound Hotel Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing