We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new years eve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hillswick
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went up for Johanna. A group of ten. Had rooms in the newly refurbished wing. Lovely atmosphere straight away. Had the best steak I've had in a long time. Starters looked great but I ordered a 12oz steak so didn't have one ! Homemade chips too. Back to bar to take new year in. Great music and then we were given mutton soup and bannocks. Brilliant night. Brunch served at 12 on new years day with some bubbly. This hotel is gradually being refurbished so a bit tired in places. All added to the charm. Andrea the owners hospitality was second to none. Can't wait till next year

Room Tip: Try to get annex
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jennifernjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for St. Magnus Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 83 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

We didn't stay in the hotel but went for a drinks on several occasions as we were camping nearby. The hotel looks a little tired from the outside and is very "oldy worldy" inside, we loved it!! Staff very friendly and so is the dog, the kids spent ages playing with him in the beer garden!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank pauladoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I, dripping, wind-whipped, hungry and exhausted, walked in here when there was no vacancy on my birthday. The owners, sweetly, took pity on us and let us stay in the "under renovation" wing. It was a gorgeous room with a stunning view at a reasonable price. For dinner, large veggie samosas, amazing chips and steamed vegetables set us right. We had the best rest on out entire 2-week trip and ended up staying another night because we loved it so much. I really hope to get back there one day. Thank you to the owners!

Room Tip: Get one upstairs with a view of the bay and big writing desk!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goblinmerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The approach was a bit nervewracking - damaged timbers and a window missing, but comfortable rooms and good breakfast sets you up for the day ahead. Bar was taken over by loud oil workers but the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Not above the bar which can be noisy
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Don't be fooled by the outside or the tried decor once inside. OK the table cloth could have done with a clean and the holes it he toilet doors and walls are somewhat an acquired taste. I would love to say the place is undergoing a facelift but there has been no change in the last two years. OK why give it 4, the food you cannot fault the food. Big portions, plenty of flavour and good selection.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at St Magnus in Hillside in July 2013. The initial impression is one of a run down hotel. But the rooms are large and comfortable, the food excellent with lots of choice, large generous portions, and ever willing staff. They also made up sandwiches for our group and I have never known better or more generous fillings. Delightful owner and her team of staff. Also interesting walks in Hillside, in the old habour, on the beach and on the cliffs. Many thanks to the excellent staff and wishing you all the best for progress with the renovations.
Worth the 5 stars for attitude, food and service.

Room Tip: A special place if you enjoy character rather than a modern box
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 365Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

To be honest we only stopped here because it was late and we needed food. It didn't look very promising. Service was good and quick, the food was good.

The steaks smelled fantastic and looked good. As mouth watering as I have smelled, unfortunately I had already ordered something else, but that was good anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillswick
0.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Magnus Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Magnus Bay Hotel

Address: Hillswick ZE2 9RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Hillswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hillswick
Price Range: $108 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Magnus Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of beauty, the St Magnus Bay Hotel captures the character of the Hillswick shoreline. This wooden building, originally manufactured in Norway over 100 years ago is thought to be the only one of its type in Britain. Sample our much spoken about hospitality and service,take time to soak up the local atmosphere and relax into the beauty that surrounds you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your St. Magnus Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Magnus Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing