We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”
Review of The Torridon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Torridon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Torridon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed 3 nights as part of short tour round the Western Highlands and Islands. Unfortunately we had terrible weather so were very grateful for our cosy and comfortable room. Well stocked hospitality tray, clean and pleasantly furnished. Loved the way the rooms were situated around a courtyard, each with its own entrance.
Friendly staff. Good food in the Torridon Inn bar.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for The Torridon Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 382 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

My partner and I have been here a couple of times and always found the staff to be very welcoming and friendly, we always got the same room which was a good size, clean and neat and the food has always been good. Great place too stay if you are a keen hill walker all though this least trip we made too the inn I couldn't go hill walking as I am 7 months pregnant, but walking around the grounds of the inn and hotel was just as beautiful and there are other activities too do....

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We stay here yearly and know the ropes. This is the first week of the 2014 season. The great catering engine is cranking up to speed but it takes a few days. So:
Our early dinner, day 1.
Starters took 42 mins in coming from the time of ordering. Good grief, I was weak with hunger and we were the only couple in the bar apart from a gaggle of off-duty waitresses. I really thought it was our starters coming...yes....yes...oh no! The staff won.
Asked for bread and butter to stop ingestion of table knapkins and got it in 11minutes...£2.90!
Final fainting fits brought the starters. I will begin with my wife's " Fish cake with capers and parsley dressing + salad"
But no. There was no such dressing and the fishcakes were bone dry and made of boiled poatoes. Now don't get me wrong...I never blame waitresses. She was told of the lack, went to chef, came back. Explanation? The parsley and capers are in the salad dressing. Then where are they? In spite of intensive searching with police dogs and local volunteers not a caper could be found...though we did find a bit of pinkness in the fishcake, marbled through the cracks in the lumps of potato which was later identified, possibly, as fish...but the sample was too small to be certain.
I had a miserably miniscule starter of three paracetamol sized queen scallops on mashed peas with what was described as slow cooked pig's cheek...a teaspoonful of pork rillettes...lingua in maxillam. Just not good enough. I spread the stuff on my bread (£2.90) which was valuable and not to be wasted.
Wife ducked main course as too risky. I had a cute "char-grilled" poussin: small, tasty, nicely cooked but with little of the advertised char-grilling and lacking a glaze of any kind. Strangely the thing was cut cheffily in half (which may have been a safety check that all was cooked through. No other advantage that I could see.) The fowl morsel was served with minimum potatoes and a good enough rocket salad. Overall, too little and much, much too late. One hour and ten minutes seated, eating for 9 minutes! Service slow as treacle. The kitchen, not a serving staff, problem. But stay with me...the great catering machine flywheel is building up speed!
Next evening we thought the hell with the poncy over-ambitious stuff. Fish and chips for me and truly suberb burger for my wife. 13 minutes, service perfect. No complaints. Dessert a little too cold. Rock-hard choccy, nutty granache sort of thing.
The machine was up to speed by breakfast. All running smoothly. Boy, I love this place. Well done all. Watch the prices. Bread (£2.90). That's £2.90 for a bit of bread. £2.90. Sheesh.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tectak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

stayed in a twin room. room was faultless other than kettle faulty. very clean and neat. was warm inside too most of the time. bathroom a bit remiss, too small, tiled floor that was lethal as water leaked out of the "shower over the bath" set up. shower screen inadequate and insufficiently moveable for the pressure of the water flow. no window. staff all unfailingly helpful and very agreeable. would go back. the few faults i have listed are easily fixed.

had two nights, both nights dinner in the bar. was pretty much off season, food choices a little limited but so be it. girls in bar all very helpful. was a bit cold in there though, this could also be addressed easily enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewsels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have been here before and it was well worth returning. The rooms are excellent - spacious and very stylish. Food is excellent and staff are very friendly and helpful. I've no idea where the negative reviews came from as I couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Two different rooms both of equal quality so couldn't suggest anything
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very friendly welcoming staff, excellent room, evening meal was good as was breakfast.
The best bit is its location its absolutely gorgeous you have to go there just to soak up the surroundings. many activities near to hand we tried the archery great fun.

Room Tip: I was in a ground floor room, cottage style terrace
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex19560202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed the room, food and activities on offer. Regards, Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Good family atmosphere, with welcoming, friendly and attentive staff. Good selection of food including children's options. Decent choice of real ales on tap. It was nice to sit and relax with a drink in front of the log-burning stove after a day on the hills.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for your positive review and we hope you will return one day. Regards, Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
0.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
605 reviews
12.6 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
166 reviews
10.0 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
338 reviews
10.2 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
206 reviews
21.6 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon Inn

Address: By Achnasheen | Wester Ross, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Torridon
Price Range: $70 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern convenience meets cosy surroundings at The Torridon Inn which is situated 100 metres from the hotel, on the shores of Loch Torridon. Whether you use it as a base to enjoy some of the many activities on offer at our activities centre, or simply as an informal place to unwind at, you can be guaranteed a most memorable stay at The Torridon Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Torridon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
The Torridon Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing