We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome and great accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Torridon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Torridon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Torridon B&B and Inns
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and great accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have been here before and it was well worth returning. The rooms are excellent - spacious and very stylish. Food is excellent and staff are very friendly and helpful. I've no idea where the negative reviews came from as I couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Two different rooms both of equal quality so couldn't suggest anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    127
    44
    16
    4
See reviews for
54
187
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very friendly welcoming staff, excellent room, evening meal was good as was breakfast.
The best bit is its location its absolutely gorgeous you have to go there just to soak up the surroundings. many activities near to hand we tried the archery great fun.

Room Tip: I was in a ground floor room, cottage style terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex19560202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed the room, food and activities on offer. Regards, Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Good family atmosphere, with welcoming, friendly and attentive staff. Good selection of food including children's options. Decent choice of real ales on tap. It was nice to sit and relax with a drink in front of the log-burning stove after a day on the hills.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and we hope you will return one day. Regards, Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at the Torridon Inn with some friends for a 50th get together. The rooms are very comfortable and well furnished with clean modern ensuite bathrooms with good showers (over bath). An area for drying clothes and boots would be welcome!

The Inn has a lively bar with live music at weekends. The food is very good and seems to benefit from its sister hotel, The Torridon, on the same site. The menu is adventurous and varied and everything our group ordered was very good. The service is friendly and efficient.

There is plenty to do nearby with big hills to climb within walking distance of the Inn. The sea loch, for fishing or kayaking, lies at at the end of the grounds which are home to a small herd of Highland cows.

If you want a change from the Inn you can always try the fine dining restaurant in the Hotel. All in all a great venue.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SummitBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us. Regards, Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, va
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had a great stay in room #23. The room has a slanted roof line, but it was plenty of room for the two of us. We liked that it had three skylights that we could open to get a breeze. It was clean and spacious.

The area around the Inn was beautiful, with Hairy Coos in a field next door. There is a great walk down to the water and through a rhododendron tunnel. And I also walked through their huge garden. I would have liked to stay longer to spend some time walking around the Torridon area.

The dinner and breakfast at the Inn were fabulous.

Room Tip: Room #23 was large and has multiple skylights that open for a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boardereight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming back for longer next time. Regards, Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

A mixed stay. Mostly good - the rooms are large, comfortable and clean, the bar is really nice and the food is generally very good as well. However, there were a few issues encountered over our stay, namely a leaking radiator in the room (which was a shock when I put my foot onto a cold wet carpet in the morning) and continual errors with aspects of the food (missing cheese off a dish, not a disaster normally but this was the cheese and black pudding salad, not the only time I was missing a key ingredient). However I was pleased with the way these were handled, which means I'm happy to recommend, but it would be nice if they didnt seem to happen so often

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brucemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Everyone can get things wrong but how you deal with them is very important and I am pleased the staff reacted well and resolved the issues. I am sorry that they happened in the first place but hope you will give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations on a return visit. Regards, Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
135 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Staying for one night, the inn was perfectly located for me to get to the start line of a cycling event 12-15 miles away. And it also served the perfect purpose of providing a comfortable place to stay beforehand, with a decent hearty breakfast to send me on my way (and a good meal the night before, but I'll put a separate review in the restaurant section for that).

We were staying in Room 31, which was a decent size, with a small-ish double bed, and a single bed. Both were incredibly soft, which isn't my choice, but you're never going to cater for ever individual's personal bed-softness preference. One thing to bear in mind though, if you're over 6 feet tall you will hand over the end of the beds. I'm 6'3", but my ankles are used to staying places where they overhang... The room was clean, as was the bathroom, though again for tall people this particular room has the shower placed over the bath, which is under a sloping ceiling, so there was a bit of crouching going on to get freshened up in the morning. Oh, and the walls are quite thin...

But. It just felt really welcoming, and at breakfast the following morning the hot choice was wide (in the end the bike ride dictated a massive bowl of porridge), with a decent cold spread from which to help yourself. The jams weren't quite ready, but the waitress sorted me out with a little jar with no fuss, and even later on obtained a piece of cling film for me (long story).

If you're hillwalking in the area I'd be hard-pushed to suggest somewhere more convenient to stay, and the welcome, combined with the clean rooms and good breakfast, all add up to a good rating. And if you 'are' walking, then the bar attached to the reception has a sign up saying muddy boots are welcome, so you don't have to worry about getting de-grimed before a refreshing pint (and there are some cracking local ales on offer).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially the atmosphere and frienldy service. Regards Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
0.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
12.6 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
10.0 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
16.8 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
13.7 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon Inn

Property: The Torridon Inn
Address: By Achnasheen | Wester Ross, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Torridon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern convenience meets cosy surroundings at The Torridon Inn which is situated 100 metres from the hotel, on the shores of Loch Torridon. Whether you use it as a base to enjoy some of the many activities on offer at our activities centre, or simply as an informal place to unwind at, you can be guaranteed a most memorable stay at The Torridon Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Torridon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
The Torridon Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing