We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short stay”
Review of The Torridon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Torridon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Torridon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great short stay”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at the Torridon Inn with some friends for a 50th get together. The rooms are very comfortable and well furnished with clean modern ensuite bathrooms with good showers (over bath). An area for drying clothes and boots would be welcome!

The Inn has a lively bar with live music at weekends. The food is very good and seems to benefit from its sister hotel, The Torridon, on the same site. The menu is adventurous and varied and everything our group ordered was very good. The service is friendly and efficient.

There is plenty to do nearby with big hills to climb within walking distance of the Inn. The sea loch, for fishing or kayaking, lies at at the end of the grounds which are home to a small herd of Highland cows.

If you want a change from the Inn you can always try the fine dining restaurant in the Hotel. All in all a great venue.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SummitBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us. Regards, Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    144
    50
    17
    4
See reviews for
62
215
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alexandria, va
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had a great stay in room #23. The room has a slanted roof line, but it was plenty of room for the two of us. We liked that it had three skylights that we could open to get a breeze. It was clean and spacious.

The area around the Inn was beautiful, with Hairy Coos in a field next door. There is a great walk down to the water and through a rhododendron tunnel. And I also walked through their huge garden. I would have liked to stay longer to spend some time walking around the Torridon area.

The dinner and breakfast at the Inn were fabulous.

Room Tip: Room #23 was large and has multiple skylights that open for a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boardereight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming back for longer next time. Regards, Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

A mixed stay. Mostly good - the rooms are large, comfortable and clean, the bar is really nice and the food is generally very good as well. However, there were a few issues encountered over our stay, namely a leaking radiator in the room (which was a shock when I put my foot onto a cold wet carpet in the morning) and continual errors with aspects of the food (missing cheese off a dish, not a disaster normally but this was the cheese and black pudding salad, not the only time I was missing a key ingredient). However I was pleased with the way these were handled, which means I'm happy to recommend, but it would be nice if they didnt seem to happen so often

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Everyone can get things wrong but how you deal with them is very important and I am pleased the staff reacted well and resolved the issues. I am sorry that they happened in the first place but hope you will give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations on a return visit. Regards, Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Staying for one night, the inn was perfectly located for me to get to the start line of a cycling event 12-15 miles away. And it also served the perfect purpose of providing a comfortable place to stay beforehand, with a decent hearty breakfast to send me on my way (and a good meal the night before, but I'll put a separate review in the restaurant section for that).

We were staying in Room 31, which was a decent size, with a small-ish double bed, and a single bed. Both were incredibly soft, which isn't my choice, but you're never going to cater for ever individual's personal bed-softness preference. One thing to bear in mind though, if you're over 6 feet tall you will hand over the end of the beds. I'm 6'3", but my ankles are used to staying places where they overhang... The room was clean, as was the bathroom, though again for tall people this particular room has the shower placed over the bath, which is under a sloping ceiling, so there was a bit of crouching going on to get freshened up in the morning. Oh, and the walls are quite thin...

But. It just felt really welcoming, and at breakfast the following morning the hot choice was wide (in the end the bike ride dictated a massive bowl of porridge), with a decent cold spread from which to help yourself. The jams weren't quite ready, but the waitress sorted me out with a little jar with no fuss, and even later on obtained a piece of cling film for me (long story).

If you're hillwalking in the area I'd be hard-pushed to suggest somewhere more convenient to stay, and the welcome, combined with the clean rooms and good breakfast, all add up to a good rating. And if you 'are' walking, then the bar attached to the reception has a sign up saying muddy boots are welcome, so you don't have to worry about getting de-grimed before a refreshing pint (and there are some cracking local ales on offer).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially the atmosphere and frienldy service. Regards Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed on 20 July with another couple, during a perfect spell of weather which enhanced the natural beauty of the area surrounding the Torridon Inn. The "excuse" for our trip was to see an old friend from Edinburgh who was performing along with his fellow band members that night, and we certainly had a great time. Arriving late after an afternoon at Inverewe Gardens we were given a very friendly welcome and enjoyed a couple of drinks outside before an excellent dinner. The menu was interesting, our choices were varied but each one was much appreciated - well cooked, well presented and served with a smile - what more could you want? Then followed a great night in the bar, with the music suitably accompanied by the draught beers and malt whiskies. Eventually we retired for the night to our very comfortable and clean rooms, and followed up in the morning with a leisurely breakfast - the full works - brilliant.
The Torridon Inn isn’t a first class hotel, although there is one around 100 yards away if that’s what you want - and are prepared to pay for. But what it does, it does well. So much so that next time we’ll spend at least two nights there and take the sting out of a 9 hour round trip from home!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortugalForGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for longer next time. Regards, Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a large room on the second floor. Leading up to the second floor was a very dirty hallway. Our room had bug guts smeared in the corners and had not been updated in a decade. The walls are very thin and I heard the staff "enjoying each others company" each night which kept us up. I absolutely loved the Torridon area but I would not stay at this Inn again. For the price, you could get a clean B&B with proper sound proofing between the rooms. The dinner at the hotel was good but did not merit the price. The cuisine in Scotland is absolutely fabulous and for half the price, you could get a better meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Otto-Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We were obviously not for you and for that I am sorry. We do try and meet the expectations of all our guests and we failed with yourself. Sound proofing is an issue in an old building and we are taking measures to rectify this where we can. Regards, Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed recently in very well appointed bedrooms in our case on the ground floor, with our car parked just outside. Very comfortable with everything we needed I would definitely recommend and go back. We also took advantage of the excellent dinner in the hotel one night and also had a very good dinner in the inn and enjoyed the cask ales.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
0.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
586 reviews
12.6 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
154 reviews
10.0 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
308 reviews
10.3 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
197 reviews
14.0 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon Inn

Property: The Torridon Inn
Address: By Achnasheen | Wester Ross, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Torridon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern convenience meets cosy surroundings at The Torridon Inn which is situated 100 metres from the hotel, on the shores of Loch Torridon. Whether you use it as a base to enjoy some of the many activities on offer at our activities centre, or simply as an informal place to unwind at, you can be guaranteed a most memorable stay at The Torridon Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Torridon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
The Torridon Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing