We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and Friendly”
Review of The Torridon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Torridon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Torridon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Staying for one night, the inn was perfectly located for me to get to the start line of a cycling event 12-15 miles away. And it also served the perfect purpose of providing a comfortable place to stay beforehand, with a decent hearty breakfast to send me on my way (and a good meal the night before, but I'll put a separate review in the restaurant section for that).

We were staying in Room 31, which was a decent size, with a small-ish double bed, and a single bed. Both were incredibly soft, which isn't my choice, but you're never going to cater for ever individual's personal bed-softness preference. One thing to bear in mind though, if you're over 6 feet tall you will hand over the end of the beds. I'm 6'3", but my ankles are used to staying places where they overhang... The room was clean, as was the bathroom, though again for tall people this particular room has the shower placed over the bath, which is under a sloping ceiling, so there was a bit of crouching going on to get freshened up in the morning. Oh, and the walls are quite thin...

But. It just felt really welcoming, and at breakfast the following morning the hot choice was wide (in the end the bike ride dictated a massive bowl of porridge), with a decent cold spread from which to help yourself. The jams weren't quite ready, but the waitress sorted me out with a little jar with no fuss, and even later on obtained a piece of cling film for me (long story).

If you're hillwalking in the area I'd be hard-pushed to suggest somewhere more convenient to stay, and the welcome, combined with the clean rooms and good breakfast, all add up to a good rating. And if you 'are' walking, then the bar attached to the reception has a sign up saying muddy boots are welcome, so you don't have to worry about getting de-grimed before a refreshing pint (and there are some cracking local ales on offer).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially the atmosphere and frienldy service. Regards Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for The Torridon Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 380 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed on 20 July with another couple, during a perfect spell of weather which enhanced the natural beauty of the area surrounding the Torridon Inn. The "excuse" for our trip was to see an old friend from Edinburgh who was performing along with his fellow band members that night, and we certainly had a great time. Arriving late after an afternoon at Inverewe Gardens we were given a very friendly welcome and enjoyed a couple of drinks outside before an excellent dinner. The menu was interesting, our choices were varied but each one was much appreciated - well cooked, well presented and served with a smile - what more could you want? Then followed a great night in the bar, with the music suitably accompanied by the draught beers and malt whiskies. Eventually we retired for the night to our very comfortable and clean rooms, and followed up in the morning with a leisurely breakfast - the full works - brilliant.
The Torridon Inn isn’t a first class hotel, although there is one around 100 yards away if that’s what you want - and are prepared to pay for. But what it does, it does well. So much so that next time we’ll spend at least two nights there and take the sting out of a 9 hour round trip from home!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortugalForGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for longer next time. Regards, Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a large room on the second floor. Leading up to the second floor was a very dirty hallway. Our room had bug guts smeared in the corners and had not been updated in a decade. The walls are very thin and I heard the staff "enjoying each others company" each night which kept us up. I absolutely loved the Torridon area but I would not stay at this Inn again. For the price, you could get a clean B&B with proper sound proofing between the rooms. The dinner at the hotel was good but did not merit the price. The cuisine in Scotland is absolutely fabulous and for half the price, you could get a better meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Otto-Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

We were obviously not for you and for that I am sorry. We do try and meet the expectations of all our guests and we failed with yourself. Sound proofing is an issue in an old building and we are taking measures to rectify this where we can. Regards, Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed recently in very well appointed bedrooms in our case on the ground floor, with our car parked just outside. Very comfortable with everything we needed I would definitely recommend and go back. We also took advantage of the excellent dinner in the hotel one night and also had a very good dinner in the inn and enjoyed the cask ales.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A small B&B located in beautiful Scottish highlands. We stayed in the “Triple Room” which was clean and spacious. Shower/bath was roomy. Be aware the hotel uses “peat” for filtering water which colors the water a light orange color. It is still safe to drink.
The included breakfast was very good quality, but the service was just OK. They seemed to be understaffed.
There are lots of things to do in the area, including hiking, mountain biking, shooting, sailing…etc (see hotel website). If you stay at the main hotel, which is more expensive, many of the activities are included in the room rate.
Book in advance for dinner as restaurant space is limited and there aren’t many other places immediately close by. Food quality was good but pricey.

One night we had dinner at the main hotel. It was a set 5 course menu. The service was very old British like. Food quality was good but gourmet style dishes, so eat lots of bread to fill up!! Wine selection was better and the whiskey bar was outrageous. At 55 pounds per person, too pricey.

Love the area, like the Inn but did not enjoy the slow service at the Inn nor the “trying too hard to please” service at the Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bariatricrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your review.It would appear generally that you enjoyed your stay (4/5) and we appreciate the constructive comments.

The water is not 'peat' filtered but comes directly off the hill. The water that drains off the mountains comes through the peat and is collected in a reservoir. This is then filtered and uv treated and as you say is perfectly safe to drink. It can look a little disconcerting when running a bath but I can assure you it is perfectly safe.

I have responded separately to the hotel restaurant review that you made.

We will try and get the balance of service correct as at the hotel it was too much and at the Inn not enough for you; it can be a very subjective experience.

Regards, Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed one night at the Inn. Good clean rooms if not totally modern but ensuite was massive.
Exclt food with really friendly service and a great selection I'd beers.
Would def return and also recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teearr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Manager at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for the review. All our bedrooms and bathrooms have recently been refurbished and we continue to make improvements. Great to see you enjoyed the food, service and beers! Thanks for recommending, Regards, Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Inn is friendly and welcoming, with posh pub food in good quantity. The bar is well stocked and staff more than willing to help. Top tip, if you have booked a table in the neighbouring hotel for dinner, don't bother, stay and at the inn. Far less pretentious with far friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleLreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn. I have responded to your review of the Torridon Restaurant separately. It was a shame you did not enjoy that experience but good that the Torridon Inn exceeded your expectations. Regards, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
0.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
601 reviews
12.6 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
166 reviews
10.0 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
337 reviews
10.2 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
205 reviews
16.8 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon Inn

Address: By Achnasheen | Wester Ross, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Torridon
Price Range: $70 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern convenience meets cosy surroundings at The Torridon Inn which is situated 100 metres from the hotel, on the shores of Loch Torridon. Whether you use it as a base to enjoy some of the many activities on offer at our activities centre, or simply as an informal place to unwind at, you can be guaranteed a most memorable stay at The Torridon Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Torridon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
The Torridon Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing