We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B & B at the Torridon Inn”
Review of The Torridon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Torridon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Torridon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“B & B at the Torridon Inn”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The worst part of the experience was waiting to book in. I waited politely at first. After some time I rang the bell, waited, rang again, waited, rang again, waited, called,waited, called again, eventually recieved a comment that I would receive attention soon, eventually served. Not good enough!
I was send to a room next to a large fan of some sort, (Machine room?) Too noisy. Was allocated another room which I accepted, but there was an intermiitent backgroumnd hum/buzz. Annoying.
The room and facilities were spacious, clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was served promptly but was ordinary.
I only stay because of access to the excellent restaurant in the main hotel, which is a great experience.

Room Tip: Away from fans and intermittant noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Manager at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal at the hotel during your stay. However it appears that there were parts of your stay with us that didn’t meet the high expectations we set ourselves. Unfortunately, sometimes we don’t get it right and in your instance, a fault in the reception bell and a buzzing sound in the room have tainted the enjoyment of your stay.
I can only apologise and thank you for your feedback. Both issues have since been dealt with and we hope it has not put you off staying with us in the future. Regards, Donald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    139
    48
    16
    4
See reviews for
59
204
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Warm welcome on arrival and a nicely appointed room and ensuite but the heating was poor and the room was very cold. Staff were helpful and provided a portable electric heater but it wasn't up to the job of heating all the space. The Inn is reminiscent of a motel in that the rooms are located in a series of small cottage type buildings with ample parking adjacent.

On entering our room there was a small wardrobe area but with no radiator so it was freezing and would be no use if you had wet coats etc. I would have preferred a wardrobe in the main room which the room seemed big enough to accommodate.

Good food in the bar in the evening with friendly and attentive staff and the breakfast was great with amazing views. A walk around the grounds is rewarded with spectacular scenery.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. Everyone was friendly, welcoming but not intrusive. We have 5 year old twin and a wee doggy. The children were welcomed in, there were games, a warm fire and fine food. We asked for just cheese and crackers one evening - it was not a problem. The children had archery lessons, which was very well run by a great chap who managed to stay positive for the whole hour! The room was clean, neat, well furnished - and warm. Wonderful places to walk both around the hotel / inn and in the local community. Cant wait to return. A great break - thank you.

Room Tip: Call the inn and speak to them - they advised us well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invergordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

we had a lovely weekend at the Torridon Inn. We were made to feel very welcome and the Inn had a cosy atmosphere with open fire in the bar. The food was well cooked and very reasonable priced. Bedrooms were large, very clean and quiet. With the stunning scenery we will certainly be paying another visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hi Readers.....

Firstly Torridon and the area is absolutely amazing. If you want a reasonably priced dinner and are struggling for options in the area, I would suggest the Torridon inn.

Great Fish & Chips. Traditional menu of safe crowd pleasing dishes.

Only fault was Tracy Chapman on a loop for 2 hours.......hmmm....lucky I'm a fan.

Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drluvpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have stayed at the Torridon Hotel and have also eaten at the Inn next door a few times, which is also run by the Hotel. This is the more basic premises for walkers and those having undertaken activities etc. We always enjoy the food but the atmosphere is very cold (as was the temperature on a cold October day...no fire and no radiators on) and a terribly flat feel to the place. This time we are driven to write a review. On arrival the staff were difficult to attract at the bar (it wasn't busy with just one couple and a group of 4 eating). No one came to offer a menu and I eventually asked someone who turned out to be an off duty member of staff (looking at her laptop on the bar counter!) whether the menu by her was current. We eventually placed an order and then searched for a place to sit to eat. Diners naturally take the 2 tables with sofas and another table that has dining chairs but these seat just two parties and the rest of the seating is at tiny tables with low tub chairs. Other seating is in a grim unpopulated area adjacent to the bar. We ended up eating crouched over our plates on a low table which is far too small, not comfortable. Service was generally awful. The staff were chatting to each other and to off duty staff members who strolled in to open their laptops on the bar and to chat together. The chef and staff were more interested in making sure each other had what they needed. No one came to ask whether our meal was ok or if we needed anything else. This felt like the off duty staff common room and also felt to be unmanaged. I and another diner who was trying to pay stood at the bar for a long time before someone eventually emerged to take my order for a second drink and then later on to pay. Really really disappointing considering that the Torridon purports to be a litlte better than the rest. Even as a walkers casual bar experience this fell short. Cold and miserable with the sport TV on and a very flat atmosphere. Food very good so please Torridon, get to grips with this place! We will not be back unless it improves.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanandBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed a night here during a long hillwalking trip. The food was good but not amazing and the inn was pleasant and clean but I felt there was something slightly lacking in the decor or atmosphere. To be fair it was a Tuesday evening and not that busy.

Our room was very nice, comfortable and clean.

The Torridon Hotel, 100 or so meters away, is part of the same business and appears to cater for the higher end of the market - had I not been in dirty hiking gear I would probably have elected to stay there instead.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerlinDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
0.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
567 reviews
12.6 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
142 reviews
15.1 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
255 reviews
16.8 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
185 reviews
10.3 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon Inn

Property: The Torridon Inn
Address: By Achnasheen | Wester Ross, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Torridon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern convenience meets cosy surroundings at The Torridon Inn which is situated 100 metres from the hotel, on the shores of Loch Torridon. Whether you use it as a base to enjoy some of the many activities on offer at our activities centre, or simply as an informal place to unwind at, you can be guaranteed a most memorable stay at The Torridon Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
The Torridon Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing