We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tasty meal in the highlands”
Review of The Torridon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Torridon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Torridon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the torridon inn on a recommendation from friends who had stayed there previously and overall we were not disappointed. Our room was clean simple and quiet, just what we were after! I can not say enough about the location of this inn and you do not suffer for the remoteness! There are local ales to choose from, warm and cozy inside, and after a day of walking I was glad of this! We ate at the inn twice for dinner and our food was looked and tasted delicious, my wife does not eat gluten and the waitress was not bothered at all, she marked a menu with all the things my wife could eat and even recommended choices which turned out to be spot on! The only thing I could say could be improved was the service in the restaurant, it was full but there was only one waitress working and while I must say she coped admirably with a smile after dinner we were in the bar and there were two staff there and the bar was empty, could have been better use in the resturant per haps?

Also they have an internet terminal here which is great because the reception for phones is shoddy and I couldn't get a signal anywhere! Overall, would recommend to stay here for the scenery and food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that your friends recommended us and that you enjoyed your stay. We do always accommodate dietary requirements so it’s good to hear your wife’s were looked after so well. We will certainly have a word about the staffing issue to ensure a bit more flexibility. Regards, Dan and Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for The Torridon Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 380 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel in an excellent choice people wanting a little quality in the remote area surrounding Loch Torridon. The greeting on arrival was sufficiently informative and were were directed to our lovely en-suite room. Parking was ample and close to the largely individual external access to each room. The quality of our room has high, with all needs catered for and a good quality shower. The water in this area has a peaty tint to it, this is perfectly normal.

The quality of the food was excellent, good value for money and attractively served. Unfortunately we had to eat practically from our laps as the restaurant was fully booked. The quality of the experience would have been enhanced for us if the booking procedure had made it more clear that this was a risk, or if guests were given priority booking for restaurant seats. The atmosphere in the pub was pleasant, bit did hinder our enjoyment of the food. The breakfast was well above average.

The Torridon Inn is an ideal base for people aiming to explore the outstanding scenery of this area. Munro-baggers are spoilt for choice. The peaks are more attractive than the passes and valleys as this area due to the midge situation in peak season. In addition to walking there are many other activities that can be facilitated through the hotel. Lastly, make sure you have sufficient fuel in the tank, your choice of fuel pumps are Kinlochewe or Lochcarron (neither of which are open outside working hours) or a pay-by-card pump at Applecross (very expensive).

Room Tip: There are no poor quality rooms here
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussexslanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you found the food and rooms excellent. We do have plans to expand the dining options in the bar so people don’t have to sit at low tables so hopefully if you return you won’t have the same experience. Regards, Dan and Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here very recently! For 2 nights although the weather during our stay wasnt that great the hotel certainly made up for it.

We were given a family room for the price of a double! It was nice and very clean with modern furniture and indeed comfortable.

The meals there was also good and very good value for the money! The staff were friendly and helpful I would have no hesitation in going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

We are so please you enjoyed your stay and found it comfortable and good value. We hope to see you again and hope for better weather! Regards, Dan and Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I consider we were given poor advice by Pride of Britain Hotels on suitability for our needs when they recommended The Torridon Inn. We were two male "Seniors", 85 and 82 former business friends on a reunion week's tour of Scotland. Our budget was £150 plus for Dinner Bed and Breakfast
but we needed two single rooms. The Torridon Hotel (as opposed to the Inn) wanted £250 per room Bed and Breakfast, no dinner, which we found too expensive. The next doorTorridon Inn was recommended at £99 per room/person including breakfast.
It being alongside The Hotel (4/5 stars) with the same telephone number we assumed it was previously an old "Inn". The website described it as "cosy". It was not. It is really intended for walkers, adventure trail enthusiasts and families on budgets for whom it is well suited.
There were about 20 to 30 rooms in units (probably stables or outhouses originally) but well equipped with two double beds.For a family of four at about £160 a room is resonable.
There was no public lounge or sitting room just a very basic gathering area which was understandable when we realised the true nature of the place.
The dining area was again suited for it's purpose and food was good. The service was a bit overstretched but friendly.
There are many chain budget accommodations with the title "Inn" but these are mostly in towns or nearby urban areas. Hence one would expect an Inn in a remote country area to be have a small BandB or country hotel atmosphere.
The Torridon Inn should separate itself more from the decidedly up market next door Torridon Hotel to avoid confusion for unsuspecting travellers looking for a fair degree of comfort and cosy atmosphere. Booking through a central Agency miles away from the chosen place can cause problems unless booking staff are well informed of the product they are selling.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. The Torridon Inn says what it is on the tin. At £99 per room it is not a luxury hotel but a traditional Inn. The Hotel and Inn do compliment each other as people have a choice of restaurants and accommodation to choose from. You yourself sum up exactly who the Inn is suited to ie. adventurers and families interested in the great outdoors. I have mentioned to POB the issue and they are fully aware to offer the Inn as an alternative to the Hotel and to point out to customers the differences. At the end of the day by looking at our website the differences are very apparent. Regards, Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The sign in reception welcoming muddy boots and wellies is great for walkers who have will have had distinctly cool welcomes. We had room 5 which was a generous size with two double beds and a large ensuite bathroom. It looked like they had be re-furbished recently so they were smart and very clean. Our friends had room 11 and did suffer some of the lack of water pressure others have mentioned.

We enjoyed the friendly bar with its guest beers and wide selection of reasonably priced whisky. The food, however, was average the dinner menu showed signs of ambition that the cooking did not deliver, over cooked seafood, oatcakes not quite fresh scallops not quite right. Packed lunch sandwiches at £3.50 on bread a least a couple days old. On the second day we waited around 25 minutes for breakfast which was average to say the least, we had the impression it was cooked to order but the scrambled egg had a solidity usually created by standing around.

A good place to stay if you go out to eat.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank united33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your review and pleased to hear the accommodation was to your liking. The food is often complimented on so it is disappointing to hear that this was not your experience. 25 mins wait for breakfast is not acceptable and I can assure that breakfast is cooked to order, however as commented on previously the breakfast service has been looked at improvements to the service highlighted to the team. Regards Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Wanted to visit Torridon area again to walk a particular mountain, so we booked a weekend where as the rest of the UK enjoyed great weather the NW of Scotland was windy, wet and grim.
However, our stay at the Torridon Inn helped the situation enormously with super rooms that were clean, comfy beds, staff were great and attentive, food excellent and the beer was well kept.
Would recommend for whatever size your party is as they have rooms for couples, families and groups.
As I still need to climb that 'mountain' then will have an execellent excuse to return but maybe I will just visit the Torridon Inn regardless!
Thanks again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scholly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

It so great when someone appreciates what we do and understands what we are all about. We look forward to having you back whether you plan to climb that mountain or not. Regards, Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights during our Scotland holiday. We had to change room after first night, due to previous reservations of other customers, so we "check" 2 rooms in the same period. Both rooms were clean and spacious. Although close to the restaurant and pub of the inn (both excellent), rooms were very quiet. Excellent was level extra in room. Staf has been very friendly and courteous with us. The breakfast however was below average: yogurt ended immediately, there were no enough cereals, few types of fruits, ... It wasn't adequate for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RenatoPZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you found so many positives but we accept that breakfast was an issue during your stay. We have since looked at the service and highlighted a number of points to the team that need to be actionned. Regards, Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
0.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
601 reviews
12.6 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
166 reviews
10.0 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
337 reviews
10.2 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
205 reviews
16.8 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon Inn

Address: By Achnasheen | Wester Ross, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Torridon
Price Range: $70 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern convenience meets cosy surroundings at The Torridon Inn which is situated 100 metres from the hotel, on the shores of Loch Torridon. Whether you use it as a base to enjoy some of the many activities on offer at our activities centre, or simply as an informal place to unwind at, you can be guaranteed a most memorable stay at The Torridon Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Torridon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
The Torridon Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing