We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere”
Review of The Torridon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Torridon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Torridon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Room was nice. Dinner was very good. The bar was good craic with excellent staff. If we are in the area again we will go back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bri49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    142
    48
    17
    4
See reviews for
60
209
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed one night during May 2011. Our room was clean and large, the bed was very comfy, and breakfast was fantastic. We also ate lunch and dinner at the Inn and the food was fresh and very well presented. We went for a walk around the beautiful grounds on one of the marked paths, and also went to visit the resident cows. The location can't be beaten for natural beauty. We hope to come back some time and hopefully stay at the main hotel, but failing that we would definitely stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bessietressie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
We thank you for your kind review of the Torridon Inn.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Almost reluctant to share this special hideaway which is located in one of the most beautiful areas of Scotland. A great place to escape the rigours of work and bland 5* business hotels! Very tasteful and well appointed room (loch view) and welcoming personal attention from friendly and helpful staff. Dinner and breakfast with local produce excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB100Bxlls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

What a fantastic hotel in a beautiful part of the world. We had a magnificent very large loft room with fantastic views. All modern conveniences and a fantastic atmosphere.
Dinner in the restaurant was delightful, although you would expect the salmon to have been better in this location. After a great nights sleep, breakfast was as good as it gets with a lot of local produce.

Would love to stay here when the sun shines.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thanks for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the room to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again at The Torridon,

Kind Regards,

Daniel & Rohaise Rose-Bristow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I just wanted to put on record my profound thanks to both the Torridon Inn staff and The Torridon Hotel management for their incredibly customer friendly attitude in the preparation for and the delivery of a great meal for 16 members of www.scottishhills.com on 1st October 2011.

It is well documented on the www.scottishhills.com website that customer service and food quality was not at all good at our previous meet in 2010 but I heard that action had been taken and there was now a new manager and chef at the Torridon Inn. I contacted the Torridon Inn and spoke with Robert Ince who is the general manager of The Torridon, explaining we were seeking reassurances that 2011 would see a vast improvement. Robert Ince assured me that hill walkers were a very important part of their business and he would do everything possible to regain our confidence.

I asked for bespoke menus to be prepared for a large group and this was followed by a number of e-mails where we agreed the menu and the number of members who would take advantage of this meal. Throughout, it was clear that The Torridon/Torridon Inn were very serious about ensuring every detail was to our liking.

On the evening of our meal, the Torridon Inn Manager (Donald) and his staff were very friendly and they had reserved the large conservatory for our meal. When the first course arrived everybody was wide eyed as the portions were definitely hill walker size, very well presented and extremely tasty. The main course was of equal stature and the sweets were so beautifully presented that they were photographed.

In the midst of all of this, two of our party were late off the hill and arrived about 1 1/2 hours late. This was no problem for the staff and they served up fresh food from our bespoke menu in no time at all.

In summary, the staff were very attentive, the food was excellent, beautifully presented, piping hot and served with a smile. And as if this wasn't enough the Torridon Inn has free (fast) wi-fi with no password required.

No wonder The Torridon won the Scottish hotel of the year award for 2011, with Robert Ince receiving a gold medal managers award.

Highland hospitality as it should be - many thanks to Robert, Donald and his team and I'm sure we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuillin999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
We are delighted that we were able to change your opinion of the Inn on this visit. We always aim for a high standard and as you have seen where we fall short we are always looking for ways to improve as well as prove that the rare bad experience is not our normal service.

Thank you for giving us a second chance and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us this year.

We hope to see you again next year.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

The Torridon Inn is in a fantastic location, particulary for walkers and climbers. Our room was a good size and very clean. Food and beer was good as were the local entertainers.
The only negative side to our two night stay was that the verbally agreed room rate was not honoured. Ultimately, this was our own fault as we did not receive a confirmation email and did not follow up, other than verbally confirmaing that the room was booked prior to arrival. Six of us put a significant amount of money over the bar through food and and drink over two nights but even taking this into account, it was not enough for the management to agree to the original rate. Some compromise was agreed but this in my view is not the level of service I would expect. My advice, do not arrive unless you have received email confirmation stating agreed room rate! I would however recommend the Torridon Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EW37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your kind review, and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, with respect to the issue with the room rate I believe that we did offer a compromise that did not prove acceptable to you. I am sorry that this was the case.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and I hope that you will receive your confirmation on this occasion.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The Torridon Inn is a wonderful place to return to after a day exploring the beauty of the Scottish highlands. The location is perfect, giving you access to an outstanding range of walks, drives and travelling to the isles. The bar is welcoming, run by really friendly staff and the same can also be said of the restaurant - absolutely top for food, atmosphere and service. This really is a beautiful spot by the loch, and the inn offers the perfect stay for families, couples, walkers and lazy bones alike! We also treated ourselves to dinner and a taste of the whisky bar just up the drive at the Torridon Hotel - highly recommended if you can afford to splash out. We will definitely return to explore (and eat/drink) more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your kind review of The Torridon Inn and Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
0.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
577 reviews
12.6 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
151 reviews
14.7 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
186 reviews
10.0 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
267 reviews
16.9 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon Inn

Property: The Torridon Inn
Address: By Achnasheen | Wester Ross, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Torridon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern convenience meets cosy surroundings at The Torridon Inn which is situated 100 metres from the hotel, on the shores of Loch Torridon. Whether you use it as a base to enjoy some of the many activities on offer at our activities centre, or simply as an informal place to unwind at, you can be guaranteed a most memorable stay at The Torridon Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Torridon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
The Torridon Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing