We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless food”
Review of The Torridon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Torridon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Torridon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stopped by chance on the way home to East Ross-shire following a day trip to the West. First visit - and we'll be back! Food was of the highest quality at the Inn with an interesting menu and good service. Thanks for completing a great day for us!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musicboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Hi there,

Thank you for your kind review of The Torridon Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed our head chef Jason 'Bruno' Birkbeck's menu and we would love to have you back either to eat again, or to stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 390 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2011

Arrived at the Inn Friday 22nd of April- To a warm and friendly welcome, all the staff in the Torridon Inn are so genuine, after check Inn we were shown to our room, the room and bathroom, spotless, couldnt believe that we had a full size bath, let me tell you it was a great suprise for a keen walker like myself. We ate In the restaurant that night I had the mussels for the starter, followed by the sirloin steak, the starter was amazing but the steak was to die for, I have never had such a good steak in all my life it was cooked to perfection and just melted in the mouth. The next morning after such a great nights sleep we had breakfast, the choice was just right, the full scottish was mouth watering and I cleaned my plate.
Spent the afternoon with chris, having a go at clay pigeon shooting, fantastic experience, lovely guy who had a lovely warm personality, would recommend this activity to everyone.
Me and my boyfriend got engaged on the saturday night in sheildagh, we returned to the inn and had a few drinks, we recieved another warm welcome from all the staff,,
Sunday, booked an early breakfast, again faultless, after another gruelling Munroe, returned to the inn Ryan gave us fantatsic advice about the Munroes he is an amazing guy who has fantastic people skills...we ate again in the restaurant that night once again fantastic food, the freedom the inn gave you made it feel like home and that you belonged there,,,on the monday we just didnt want to leave,,All the staff in the Inn are doing so a good job, I cant say one negative thing. Everything about the Inn, the Staff, the Location is magical and leaves you with a feeling that you must go back,,its a long way for us 500 mile but its so worth it..we ve fallen in love with this place just like we fall in love with each other every time we go...we will return most deffinate...Thank you all...Sarah & Kev

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlyyorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Hi There,

Firstly congratulations on your engagement this week, and all the best for your future together. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Torridon and especially pleased that our staff shone brightly to make your experience a great one. We are delighted also that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere at The Inn.

We would truly love to see you back at The Torridon, and hope you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our night at the Torridon Inn. Our room was spacious, warm and well equipped. The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly Donald who was able to advise us on the malts available in the bar. The menu had a selection of good pub food, beautifully presented and delicious (I had the fish pie - lovely). The price for the room included an excellent full Scottish breakfast. There was a reduced room rate for guests staying during March and we felt our stay was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highlander011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind review,

we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the food such a highlight.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Torridon in the future

Kind Regards,

Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Summary
Good food, good beer, cosy fire and a comfortable bed after a day in glorious wilderness!
Detail
We have stayed at the Inn many times and at different times of the year. We travel with our dog and the Torridon Inn, with a dedicated "dog room", is one of the few places to accommodate dogs in the area. We have always found staff, both local and seasonal, to be friendly, attentive and professional. Donald, the new manager, was extremely welcoming on our arrival and, being local, is a mine of information on the area. He leads a team of enthusiastic, engaging and helpful people. We stayed 3 nights and ate there on all 3. Fish pie one evening was one of the best I've eaten, and plentiful. A bowl of mussels, turned into moules frites with the addition of freshly cooked chips, was delightful. Torridon's own Highland beef was my husband's favourite steak and chips in a long time. Breakfast was cooked to order, not sitting under hot lights. The Saturday evening was busy with both locals and visitors yet the kitchen still had time to cook a special dish for a local's young son. We spoke at length with a couple from Paris who remarked at how the Inn had a "good feel"; we agree. The Inn has a good range (about 50?) of whiskies and, with Donald's guidance, you'll find your perfect dram.

Although the Inn welcomes "muddy boots and paws", the attention to housekeeping is admirable. The Torridon area is outstanding and, whether you're walking the high peaks of the Torridon "hills", the fabulous walks along the loch or stalking or fishing it's lovely to come in to sit in front of the log burner late on a cold day and enjoy a glass of wine (or a pint of real ale in my husband's case).

We've rated value as 5 as we paid winter rates which made the Inn one of the cheapest in the area! Other B&Bs have 2011 rates set at £32-£42pppn.

We are also regulars at the Torridon Hotel which has to be one of the finest Highland houses - relaxation, fine dining in quite wonderful surroundings. The Inn complements the hard work and dedication of the team there too.

The Inn rooms, although with basic facilities, are spacious, clean and the beds comfortable.

All-in-all we feel that the Inn works very hard to accommodate both visitors and locals, very important in an area so remote. It's hard to please all of the people all of the time but
we're always pleased!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadanMhugaidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I've been to the Torridon Inn a couple of times now while hillwalking in the area and it's a nice enough hotel in an outstanding location if a wee bit too expensive. The rooms are a good size and the bed linen was spotless and abundant. The toilets were a bit less sparkly but not dirty either.

There is a comfortable bar with live music, a pool table and a good selection of beer and whisky. There is also a restaurant with some pretty average food. *Never* make the mistake of ordering the porridge. Breakfast is continental only unless you want to pay a fairly hefty additional fee - this is signposted on the menu and when you book so it didn't take us by surprise at all but at the same time represents poor value for money in my book.

Also - no drying area/room which I thought odd for somewhere used by walkers/climbers. This meant a lot of clothes had not tried out properly by the next day.

All in all not bad but not great - I'd use it again if I was in the area but I wouldn't go specifically for it either.

Staff were ok but not particularly friendly either.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liathach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2011

Thank you for your review of The Torridon Inn, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the room to be comfortable. However I would like to address some of the other points in your review.

We have appointed a new bar manager and sous chef to ensure the food is of a high standard. The Kitchen will be managed by head chef Jason ‘Bruno’ Birckbeck who is also responsible for our 3 rosette hotel kitchen and we will aim to deliver high quality ‘pub grub’ cooked to a high standard.

On a second point, the new 2011 rates are inclusive of a full Scottish breakfast as customer feedback indicated that this would be preferable for our customers. The £99 rate for a double room represents a £12 increase on last years rate and includes a full breakfast.

Finally whilst we do not have a dedicated drying room we always endeavour to dry items which customers request, if this was not the case during your visit I am sorry. We are looking into the possibility of building a drying room in the future.

With this in mind we hope to see you again at The Torridon Inn in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dan & Rohaise Rose-Bristow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We stayed at the Torridon Hotel (next to the inn) for 2 nights at the end of a 5 night tour of the highlands this November.

The hotel was truly faultless and on our first night we enjoyed a lovely meal in the hotel's restaurant. On our second night, after a holiday of cooked breakfasts and large meals, we decided to not eat in the hotel again (5 course table d hote menu) and the hotel staff suggested a lighter meal could be had at the Torridon Inn.

Of course we were not expecting the same fine dining and had an informal Scottish gastropub menu in mind. Unfortunately the menu was quite limited and a little disjointed, we felt that main courses really did not reflect true Scottish fare and the quality of ingredients the area is famous for.

An example was when we ordered a cheese board for dessert, it was 3 pieces of cheese served with dry slightly stale bread which fell to pieces on contact and a bizarre pile of stale chewy pistachio, peanuts, dried apricots, raisins and star fruit. Unfortunatley there was no butter, chutney or similar, altogether rather dry.

This was the general theme throughout and we felt it was a real shame as the Inn has the perfect opportunity to cash in on simple, quality, local ingredients. It was evident that the kitchen's of the Hotel and the Inn did not communicate as they should really complement each other.

In hindsight we did not discuss this with the staff at the time, the waitress was very friendly and attentive, but we wanted to relax and enjoy our night, not feel awkward (unfortunatley a true British mentality). We hope the Torridon Inn can work to bring more direction and quality to their menu, to reach the high standards the rest of the area achieves.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Urcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Don't confuse this with the Torridon Hotel. It's part of the same site, owned and run by the same family, but the hotel is a very expensive and high-quality hotel. The Inn is a more down-to-earth establishment, with a lively bar, a small restaurant and a games room with a pool table and free table football.

You cannot praise the staff highly enough. They were attentive, friendly, and welcoming and I wish I came across people like this everywhere I went.

The rooms were spacious, warm and clean, but the shower grout was starting to go a bit mouldy in places. One room had a hair dryer, the another didn't. Unfortunately the floor above squeaked with the slightest movement from upstairs, and kept waking me up, despite the very comfortable bed.

The food in the evening was excellent, and the continental breakfast plentiful and very good, but I was disappointed on the day I had a cooked breakfast. The pub was very busy, and coming off the hills was very welcoming, whether you're were in for a pot of tea or something stronger.

If you visit, make sure you pay a trip to the kitchen garden next to the hotel, and look out the gardener. A fantastic guy, with many a story to tell, and press you with fresh from the tree, sweet and crispy apples if you're there at the right time of year.

Free wi-fi and a walk-up computer for you to keep in touch from an area where many mobile phone networks are nowhere to be found.

The surrounding scenery makes this a place worth going back to time and time again, whether you're climbing the mountains or walking alongside the sea loch.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fruitmachine2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2010

Thank you very much for your review, We are very happy that you enjoyed the overall experince of The Torridon Inn. I have passed your review on to the Inn staff as well as Les the gardener who obviously captivated you with his tales.

In terms of the room, I want to let you know that it is our aim to refurbish the Inn in the near future to eliminate the issues you have described.

We would love to see you back in the near furture, and perhaps you can enjoy these changes.

Kind regards,

Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torridon
0.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
632 reviews
12.6 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
181 reviews
14.7 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
299 reviews
13.8 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
160 reviews
10.2 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Torridon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon Inn

Address: By Achnasheen | Wester Ross, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Torridon
Price Range: $70 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern convenience meets cosy surroundings at The Torridon Inn which is situated 100 metres from the hotel, on the shores of Loch Torridon. Whether you use it as a base to enjoy some of the many activities on offer at our activities centre, or simply as an informal place to unwind at, you can be guaranteed a most memorable stay at The Torridon Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Torridon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
The Torridon Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing