We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception”
Review of The Torridon Inn

The Torridon Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Torridon
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Friendly Scottish Inn with pub restaurant. All dishes prepared using fresh ingredients and plenty of local produce.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Excellent atmosphere, service and food, particularly the bacon rolls and homemade cakes, which were superb!

Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Regards, Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 211 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in October and felt welcomed and relaxed during our stay. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated and we could park our car right at the door. Our dog was able to stay too and could come into the bar area and there were great Walks from the door in the morning. A hearty breakfast was served and we enjoyed our evening meals, having one over in the Hotel to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. This is a good base to explore the area from. Don't miss the spectacular view of the Milky Way on a clear night. Only negative points were the lack of wi-fi in the bedrooms and the limited choice of ales on tap while we stayed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Madogfechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We have just installed wi-fi in the bedrooms and we do always try to have 3 ales on tap depending on suppliers. Regards, Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Great lunch in family pub atmosphere. Food was terrific. Large wet dogs allowed in area where we were eating which was our only complaint as wet dogs do smell a bit and one of our group is highly allergic to dogs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NicNess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I am sorry that the dog situation upset you and wish that you had made the team aware and we could have moved wither yourself or the other guests with the dog to an alternative table. Regards, Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were staying in the Torridon Hotel next door, and popped into the Inn for a swift pint. The general ambience was nice, as was the beer. Good selection of Ales.

Thank ian_lane802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

You can tell that the Torridon Inn caters for the outdoors type - they're very keen indeed to fatten you up in anticipation of your exploits, or help replace all of that lost energy from during the day. Probably worth noting (since a lot of reviews seem to make the mistake) this is a separate establishment from the restaurant at the Torridon Hotel, a more 'upmarket' affair, but if you want what amounts to something a little cut above good pub food then this is the place for you.

The starter portions could almost be main courses on their own, and there's a specials board which extends the already respectable menu. I had a beautiful pork belly dish, with risotto, which ticked pretty much every box, right down to the crispy skin. Back to basics for the main, a burger loaded with everything, together with a bucket of chips. Not fries. Chips. Big chips. Oh man I was fit to burst, though somehow managed to fit in some cheesecake to finish.

The staff were excellent, quick with the courses, and with replenished drinks. There was a BIG table of people turned up as we were deciding on the menu, and you could tell the staff were making sure to get the smaller table orders in first, which was a nice touch, and made you feel they were thinking about things. Not that there was any worry, both the small tables, and the big group, were getting their food in plenty time.

I can imagine that if you make the mistake of thinking this is the Hotel restaurant that you'll wonder what was 'haute' about the cuisine, but if you know you're in the right place, and you've got some energy to rebuild or burn, then fill up here and be satisfied.

Thank anthbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It is so good when someone completely 'gets us' and appreciate what is on offer. The Torridon does offer 2 types of accommodation and 2 restaurants, with activities for all. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Dan & Rohaise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Torridon Inn also viewed

Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
 
Shieldaig, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to The Torridon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing